We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful start to safari!”
Review of Ol Tukai Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ol Tukai Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had two (adjoining) rooms here on first night of Kenyan safari. No complaint whatsoever, staff, facilities, rooms, food, all good.
I wasn't really sure what to expect in terms of accommodation whilst out on safari away from Nairobi, but was very pleasantly surprised. Would definitely stay here again.
Oh, make sure you keep your windows shut and LOCKED! A sneaky baboon broke in whilst we were out and pinched my daughters chocolate stash!!! Makes for a good story now of course....
Amboseli NP is a must as part of any itinerary, I will definitely get back there again some day.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
There are newer reviews for Ol Tukai Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 788 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

Recently returned from a Best of Kenya Safari booked through REAL AFRICA in the UK (a company we would highly recommend).

We stayed two nights at the Ol Tukai Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The accommodation comprised of lodges (four suites to each) dotted through lovely grounds overlooking the plains. Amboseli in general is a game watchers paradise – especially if you are fascinated by Elephants. Aside from the actual game drives, it was wonderful to open the door of your lodge and see Elephants, Zebras and a host of other wildlife meandering across the view. (On the subject of the lodge door – this is something to be kept closed in order to avoid unwanted visitors in the form of monkeys and baboons exploring your belongings. They are quite brazen and very cheeky).

As with lots of holiday accommodation all over the world, power points for the charging of cameras, I-pads, mobile phones and your electric toothbrush etc. are always at a premium. It is therefore useful to pack a 3 or 4 way extension block (mains system the same as the UK).

The staff were great, the food was varied and of good quality and there is a nice swimming pool area to relax (and enjoy a glass of Tusker) in between the early morning and late afternoon game drives.

We really enjoyed our experience at Ol Tukai and our rating of 4 stars only reflects that during the 2 weeks in Kenya we stayed at a couple of other lodges that were even better!

Room Tip: All lodge locations looked good
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This lodge offers a wonderful setting with the elephants and zebra grazing in front of the cabin and Mt Kilimanjaro off in the distance. The room was good and the shower that was glassed in to the outside was interesting when the monkeys came to watch you! It was very dark when the power went out for the night - but that just made for an excellent sleep. The buffet meals had lots of variety and are fine for a couple days. The game viewing in the area is very good and was a great place to start our safari. The drive in from Nairobi was a lot longer than we expected.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed only one night at this lodge but were very impressed with the quality of the room, the service and the food. It was a wonderful experience. The park was spectacular with the backdrop of Mt Kilimanjaro, lots of elephants and water buffalo, zebras, antelope, giraffe and cheetahs to name a few.

Room Tip: Request a front row Mountain view room. There is nothing like waking up and seeing the sun come up...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The sight of elephants crossing the grasslands at Amboseli with Mount Kilimanjaro in the back ground is breathtaking. Sitting on the veranda, at sunrise and sunset, in this tranquil environment is one of the most enjoyable experiences ever. The staff at the lodge are very friendly and went out of their way to ensure our stay was perfect. Our room was very clean and well presented. The selection of food is very varied and fresh. The waiting and catering staff are keen to make sure they cater for your every need. Although there is not the same variety of animals to be seen as at the Mara our patience was rewarded by sighting two leopards on our final game drive!!

Room Tip: Ask for a lodge with uninterrupted views of Mount Kilimanjaro..........it's worth it!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCCT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Amboseli is different from the Mara in its ambience, and benefits greatly from the sight of the majestic Mt. Kilimanjaro dominating the skyline! It has far fewer animals but more elephants than the Mara has - at least that was our impression from the 4 safari drives that we went on while there.
The food is adequate but not great, and though the staff is good, the Serena Lodge at the Mara was definitely better

Room Tip: Choose the Mountain View wing
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dillivala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The lodge is located right in the middle of Amboseli. The rooms all have great views of grazing elephants, zebra and wildebeast.

The staff at the lodge was unbelievably friendly and catered extremely well to our wishes and those of our little baby boy.

All meals are buffet style and of good variety and great quality.

Room Tip: You also the option to opt for a room with a (possible) view of Amboseli. For the rest all rooms are...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulArts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboseli National Park
8.3 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
372 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
745 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
#2 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
338 reviews
9.9 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
117 reviews
18.3 mi away
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
#7 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ol Tukai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol Tukai Lodge

Address: Amboseli National Park 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system > Amboseli National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Amboseli National Park
Price Range: $376 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ol Tukai Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of Africa Ol Tukai Lodge is one of the best spots in the world to watch elephant with the backdrop of Africa’s highest mountain, Mount Kilimanjaro. Writers have described Ol Tukai and the surrounding Amboseli National Park as a 'home for the Gods.’ Ol Tukai is an eco-rated lodge having excellent outdoor and indoor facilities with its unique collection of African art. The property receives overwhelming response from the international and local tourism market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ol Tukai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ol Tukai Hotel Amboseli National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing