We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Impressive views of Kilimanjaro"”
Review of Ol Tukai Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ol Tukai Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“"Impressive views of Kilimanjaro"”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The sight of elephants crossing the grasslands at Amboseli with Mount Kilimanjaro in the back ground is breathtaking. Sitting on the veranda, at sunrise and sunset, in this tranquil environment is one of the most enjoyable experiences ever. The staff at the lodge are very friendly and went out of their way to ensure our stay was perfect. Our room was very clean and well presented. The selection of food is very varied and fresh. The waiting and catering staff are keen to make sure they cater for your every need. Although there is not the same variety of animals to be seen as at the Mara our patience was rewarded by sighting two leopards on our final game drive!!

Room Tip: Ask for a lodge with uninterrupted views of Mount Kilimanjaro..........it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCCT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    185
    39
    12
    4
See reviews for
187
305
34
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Amboseli is different from the Mara in its ambience, and benefits greatly from the sight of the majestic Mt. Kilimanjaro dominating the skyline! It has far fewer animals but more elephants than the Mara has - at least that was our impression from the 4 safari drives that we went on while there.
The food is adequate but not great, and though the staff is good, the Serena Lodge at the Mara was definitely better

Room Tip: Choose the Mountain View wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dillivala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
474 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The lodge is located right in the middle of Amboseli. The rooms all have great views of grazing elephants, zebra and wildebeast.

The staff at the lodge was unbelievably friendly and catered extremely well to our wishes and those of our little baby boy.

All meals are buffet style and of good variety and great quality.

Room Tip: You also the option to opt for a room with a (possible) view of Amboseli. For the rest all rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulArts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee Usa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We only spent one night here but this is a superb lodge. Many other lodges in this area have closed down, but Ol Tukai is going strong. Very comfortable and relaxing. We stayed in a cabin that had two rooms (typical). Great bathroom, in-room safe, mosquito nets. Outdoor pool and fireplace. Lunch outside, dinner and breakfast inside in an airy room. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was good. This lodge is right in the middle of the Amboseli wildlife, so game drives were very close. From our doorway, we looked straight to Mt. Kilimanjaro. Just realize that Kili isn't always clearly visible because of clouds.

Room Tip: Most cabins are similar. The ones on the outside facing Kili should be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redthatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Doing the last round of our safari from Almanara Resort in Diani,we had arranged to have two nights in Amboseli - Ol Tukai Lodge. Excellent swimming pool,superb theme nights with the masaais at the bornfire night.Apart from missing pasta which i love most,overall meals were nice and we had fabulous exciting times during the game drives.
our tour guide James who was recommended by the Express Vacation Tours director was rich with a lot of information. I would highly recommend the driver to anyone else planning a safari trip to Kenya and Amboseli.their contact link is www.expressvacationtours.co.ke and you can share the experience with us!

Room Tip: preferable are the rooms far from the restaurant which are very quiet only sound of nature can be he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 325Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

It was awesome to stay there 2 nights at the lodge.Everything was just perfect .What a beautiful location it is.The restaurant is very nice, we love to dine out at the terrace. The food wasn't bad since I'm vegetarian so I can't commend on any meat dish.My maid service Eric he was so attentive ,we have 2 single bed in the room since he saw one of the pillow was on the other bed,the next day he put 2 single bed together ( I though it was so cute ).
Mountain Kilimanjaro finally come out the second day and that is made the trip completed not counting with all the animals we seen there as well.
By all mean it was a very busy park ,a lot of safari cars on the road when the Lion was spotted .
I love every minute of it and I wish I was staying there 3 nights instead of 2 :(

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyKimLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, North Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here for the third time in August for two nights, the lodge was booked via JT Safaris as part of our safari package. We arrived at Ol Tukai after a long and dusty trip from Ashnil Aruba Lodge in Tsavo East, the trip was a lot better than our previous trips here as the roads have been upgraded and the "off road" section is not nearly as long as it used to be. On arrival we had the usual welcoming drink and face towel which is always welcome after a longish road trip. we were staying in the mountain view section of lodges and we can honestly say these have been upgraded to a far better condition from what we remembered, they are clean and well decorated with fantastic views of Kilimanjaro in the early morning and early evening.

The staff at the lodge are all very well mannered and go out of their way to help you with any problems or queries that you may have. The food is good with a good choice to suit almost all palates, it is served buffet style with waiter service for drinks. tea and coffee is available on a complimentary basis.

The lodge is situated on the edge of Amboseli within easy reach of all parts of the reserve. The most common animal you will see here is the elephant with quite large herds roaming around freely between the swamp area and the grasslands. We also saw cheetah (2 hunting) hyena, hippo, giraffe and various antelope and gazelles and all varieties of birdlife. Our guide (Ken) provided by JT was very knowledgable and went the extra mile for us to get the photos we wanted and he understood the needs of a photographer positioning us in order to get the lighting conditions right for our photographic memories. We were woken up every morning to the sound of the Hadada Ibis far better than a normal alarm clock. One word of warning there are monkeys within the grounds and they have no fear of entering the lodge rooms should you leave your door open, so take care and you will have no problems.

When we visit Amboseli again in the future we would have no hesitation in staying at Ol Tukai for a fourth time.

Thank you to all at the lodge for being so professional.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebonyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboseli National Park
8.2 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
355 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
716 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
111 reviews
7.0 mi away
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
#5 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
315 reviews
13.5 mi away
Satao Elerai
Satao Elerai
#6 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ol Tukai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol Tukai Lodge

Property: Ol Tukai Lodge
Address: Amboseli National Park 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system > Amboseli National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Amboseli National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ol Tukai Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of Africa Ol Tukai Lodge is one of the best spots in the world to watch elephant with the backdrop of Africa’s highest mountain, Mount Kilimanjaro. Writers have described Ol Tukai and the surrounding Amboseli National Park as a 'home for the Gods.’ Ol Tukai is an eco-rated lodge having excellent outdoor and indoor facilities with its unique collection of African art. The property receives overwhelming response from the international and local tourism market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Ol Tukai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ol Tukai Hotel Amboseli National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing