We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, Especially for a Larger Lodge”
Review of Ol Tukai Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ol Tukai Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very Nice, Especially for a Larger Lodge”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I prefer a small lodge when I travel in east Africa, but based on reviews here I picked Ol Tukai for a spur-of-the-moment two-night trip to Amboseli with my two teen-age sons. We weren't disappointed. We didn't have the best weather - we got only fleeting glimpses of Kilimanjaro while we were there - but there isn't much you can do about that.

Hospitality begins as you pull up and is consistently great throughout the property and stay. Warm, friendly, gracious. Up to the point of being fawned over without crossing the line into obnoxiousness.

We had adjoining rooms on the Marsh View side of the lodge (Mountain View is the other). The rooms were quite a ways from the lodge. We liked that, but you should ask for rooms close to the main lodge if you don't like a bit of a stroll. Rooms are very large and nicely appointed. Hot water was a little dodgy.

The food was typical of the Serena/Sharova-type hotel and lodge chains. Good and plentiful. Nothing that will blow you away, but a nice variety with a few pleasant surprises thrown in. The service in the dining room and bar was really exceptional.

The lodge is perfectly situated to explore Amboseli. We had our own driver/guide so I can't tell you how the lodge's services are, other than that seemed expensive at $60 per person per 2-hour game drive. The grounds are beautiful and there's a nice pool we took advantage of in the afternoons. Sitting by the pool with a cold Tusker while watching elephants and zebras graze less than 100 yards away is a hell of a way to spend an hour or two.

Just outside the park there is a Maasai village you can visit. I have mixed feelings about that sort of contrived cultural tourism, but I thought this one was good enough to overcome that.

Room Tip: If the weather is clear, ask for a Mountain View Room. If you opt for the Marsh side, ask for one di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ewebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    185
    39
    12
    4
See reviews for
187
305
34
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

My best 3 nights of safari and relaxing. Great hospitality by all staff and unbelievable number of wild animals sighted during the 3 nights stay. Great 'nyama choma' as well. Waking up to watch the elephants graze was my best experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hassan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Ol Tukai is a wonderful lodge, and provide a great place to relax after long game drives. The foyer/bar/dining room is lovely - as are the grounds in general. The baboons and vervet monkeys are regarded as pests, but for this Australian, they actually added considerably to the charm, and watching the eagle-eyed maasai chasing them off was fun, too! (just don't leave your door unlocked. We saw two monkeys absolutely wreck someone's room)

Service is uniformly excellent and friendly, though a Maasai did try to hit my Chinese friend up for some cash (didn't try it with any of the caucasians in the group).

Rooms are very nice, with firm mattresses, safes, and delightfully hot showers with good water pressure. People have their preferences as to which side to stay on (kilimanjaro or wildlife). Honestly there's very little inbetween them, and if you want to see the mountain or vice versa, just take a stroll around the expansive and lovely grounds.

The food was a particular highlight. The Indian chef on staff is particularly good, and anyone who likes dal, paneer etc will be pleased. But there are plenty of other options, as well. We thought the buffet was better than the a la carte, and breakfasts stood out with made to order omelettes.

Drinks were nice, and were priced around the average for the four/five star places we stayed at (400ksh for 1 litre of water, 300-500 for a beer, 500-900 for cocktails).

All in all, a nice location for a break.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paddycakes_syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
1,175 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 684 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Since the moment we arrive we were surprise about this lodge. The reception and the social areas were amazing specially the decoration and the outstanding view of the Kilimanjaro just outside.

The rooms were great with a magnificent bathroom and a very comfortable bed. The staff was so kind to open the bed at night and to prepared the mosquitos nets for us when we were at dinner. They were very helpful and friendly as well! Love everything from the amenities to the room decoration!! Would come again anytime!!! Amazing place!

Just watched out for the baboons outside of your room!!

Room Tip: Kilimanjaro views rooms are prefer than Elephant view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RMartinSDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here during our safari which we took with JT Safaris - and found the rooms spacious and clean. The food was very good. Swimming pool looked good, although we didnt use it on our two night stay. The lodge is right in the Amboselli - and I would recommend it. (and JT safaris - especially Tito our guide!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CornwallUKJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The rooms were beautiful spacious and clean. The service was great and food even better. The food was always a buffet catering to everybody and there is free wifi in the reception area. You can actually see wildlife in the distance when sitting on your terrace or by the pool. The showers were hot and powerful and the hotel offers a laundry service which is great when you have been on safari for 4/5 days.

Beware of the monkeys and baboons who wonder freely around the grounds and try to get into your room! Love primates so this was no problem for me as i find them hilarious!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazkaili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our first lodge to start a 2 week safari and what a place to begin. Located at the base of Mt Kilimanjaro with a fantastic view, and in the middle of the National Park surrounded by numerous elephants within view from our room. The lodge decor, bar, pool and backdrop of the mountain provided a fantastic setting with the service and meals providing the 5 star comfort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77MWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboseli National Park
8.2 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
355 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
716 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
111 reviews
7.0 mi away
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
#5 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
315 reviews
18.2 mi away
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
#7 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ol Tukai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol Tukai Lodge

Property: Ol Tukai Lodge
Address: Amboseli National Park 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system > Amboseli National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Amboseli National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ol Tukai Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of Africa Ol Tukai Lodge is one of the best spots in the world to watch elephant with the backdrop of Africa’s highest mountain, Mount Kilimanjaro. Writers have described Ol Tukai and the surrounding Amboseli National Park as a 'home for the Gods.’ Ol Tukai is an eco-rated lodge having excellent outdoor and indoor facilities with its unique collection of African art. The property receives overwhelming response from the international and local tourism market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Ol Tukai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ol Tukai Hotel Amboseli National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing