We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ol Tukai Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ol Tukai Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here during our safari which we took with JT Safaris - and found the rooms spacious and clean. The food was very good. Swimming pool looked good, although we didnt use it on our two night stay. The lodge is right in the Amboselli - and I would recommend it. (and JT safaris - especially Tito our guide!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CornwallUKJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    175
    38
    12
    4
See reviews for
178
301
32
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The rooms were beautiful spacious and clean. The service was great and food even better. The food was always a buffet catering to everybody and there is free wifi in the reception area. You can actually see wildlife in the distance when sitting on your terrace or by the pool. The showers were hot and powerful and the hotel offers a laundry service which is great when you have been on safari for 4/5 days.

Beware of the monkeys and baboons who wonder freely around the grounds and try to get into your room! Love primates so this was no problem for me as i find them hilarious!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazkaili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our first lodge to start a 2 week safari and what a place to begin. Located at the base of Mt Kilimanjaro with a fantastic view, and in the middle of the National Park surrounded by numerous elephants within view from our room. The lodge decor, bar, pool and backdrop of the mountain provided a fantastic setting with the service and meals providing the 5 star comfort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77MWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night and was very happy with the lodge. The rooms were quaint and cosy overlooking elephants and zebras.

The food was not impressive and the dinner was made from the left-overs from lunch which made it very uninspired and identical to lunch. Breakfast was good with a guy making omelets, but do not expect impressive meals here for lunch or dinner.

The staff was very nice though and the general impression of the lodge was good. I would come back another time.

The room was booked through a travel agent, I do not know how much they paid.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeleine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kecskemét, Bacs-Kiskun, Hungary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The lodge is well situated in the best point of the Amboseli Park to see elephants and gnus from the terasse, to enjoy baboons playing in the garden and to reach the wildlife within some minutes while on safari. To sit in the garden and stare the top of Mount Kilimanjaro over the clouds is unforgettable. The food is super buffet food in good quality, with a lot of choice, dinner and lunch was never the same! The staff is friendly and helpful, the chef has personly discussed with me my special requirement due to my food allergy.
Our room was on the elephant view side, spacious, comfortable, clean with moskito nest on bed and with moskito spraye quiped. The bed was one of the best I have ever had in hotels!
We were in end of June there, the weather was not too hot yet, it was perfect for safari. Our guide sad that this cloudy weather was the reason, that we have seen almost all available animals in this park in 3 days, most of them (even lions!) from 2-3m from our car!
I can highly recommend this lodge, and Amboseli Park, too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

A delightful lodge with views over Amboseli national park. The only one we stayed in with a fence around it to keep the wildlife out ( not including the monkeys who made a personal appearance in our room after we left the door ajar...)The food was surprisingly good with a buffet lunch taken outside and 4/5 course evening meal. The large plain glass window in the shower room was a little disconcerting but we were assured that the only individuals that had access to this area would be the monkeys who seemed to know just when we were showering and turned up to watch. Even so we thoroughly enjoyed this lodge.

Room Tip: the higher number lodges are further away from the main reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Ol Tukai was the best lodge we stayed at during our safari through Kenya. The room was nice, though a little far from the reception and the atmosphere was calm and "in tuch with nature", to wich the local baboons gave their contribution. As for the food, there was a buffet for every meal, just as on the other lodges that we visited. The quality of the food was good, but we would have preferred the regular way of ordering food, at least for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjetil10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboseli National Park
8.2 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#2 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
13.5 mi away
Satao Elerai
Satao Elerai
#7 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
27.6 mi away
Maasai Simba Camp
Maasai Simba Camp
#1 of 1 in Amboseli National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ol Tukai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol Tukai Lodge

Property: Ol Tukai Lodge
Address: Amboseli National Park 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system > Amboseli National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Amboseli National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ol Tukai Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of Africa Ol Tukai Lodge is one of the best spots in the world to watch elephant with the backdrop of Africa’s highest mountain, Mount Kilimanjaro. Writers have described Ol Tukai and the surrounding Amboseli National Park as a 'home for the Gods.’ Ol Tukai is an eco-rated lodge having excellent outdoor and indoor facilities with its unique collection of African art. The property receives overwhelming response from the international and local tourism market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Ol Tukai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ol Tukai Hotel Amboseli National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing