We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views from everywhere”
Review of Ol Tukai Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ol Tukai Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here recently and loved the entire experience. Everyone was friendly and helpful, the room was lovely and the views from every place I walked was incredible. I watched the sun rise next to Kilimanjaro, while an elephant lumbered on the savannah. Every moment was gorgeous!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 02130e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLTUKAILODGE, General Manager at Ol Tukai Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our property and for choosing it to be your lodge of choice during your trip to the Amboseli. It is a great pleasure when we receive such a review and recommendation from our guests. We at Ol Tukai Lodge strive to provide all our guests with refreshing African hospitality.

Am very happy that you loved our rooms and the views from the hotel rooms including the Mt. Kilimanjaro and herds of elephants just outside the fence. I also note that you found our staff to be warm friendly and efficient and I have shared your comments with them

We look forward to hosting you once again at Ol Tukai Lodge.

Kind regards,

Joab Oruko,
General Manager, Ol Tukai Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 430 of 821 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here as part of the excellent naturalworldsafaris tour

Pros
Beautiful decor/ very tastefully designed
Beautiful views of Kilamanjaro
Good breakfast buffet
Beautiful bedrooms

Cons
Service slow
Food not as tasty as the other hotels we have stayed at

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pseudonomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

No electricity between 01:00 am and 05:00 am, no internet, no mobile network coverage. I am not sure if this applies to other lodges and camps in Amboseli but it seems so.
When I went to sleep I noticed a lizard on the mosquito net of my bed.
Food was no more than edible. Staff were so noisy... they keep yelling "JUMBO" whenever say someone.
I am not planning to return to Amboseli. It is nice to wake up in the morning and have your coffee with the view of mount Kilimanjaro but it is not worth all that. All animals you see in Amboseli can be seen in Lake Nakuru or in Massai Mara where you may have full-time electricity, internet, better food and more professional stuff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wassim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

we spent one night in that place , luckily it was only one.
as from arrival porters were talking to us as if we were friends since years, to a certain limits that is a good thing but they were behind the limit , it was the first place where i checked hands with the hotel porter, we went directly for lunch, its a buffet lunch, the whole restaurant smelled bad, absolutely nothing to eat , everything had a very bad smell , thing i understood after going to the buffet, by the very hot weather, all legumes ," cold meat " and cheese were not refrigerated , same for sweets," cheese cake " well you can still eat bread.
rooms are very old and dirty, the house keeping team are spending not more than 1 minute per room, WC dirty, no change for towels , shower gel and shampoo in small quantities and of very bad quality. no electricity between 1 and 5 AM , meaning no ventilator , with the high temperature if you are thinking about sleeping, GOOD LUCK.
for diner we got same buffet then lunch, same means same tomato, same cold meat same desserts, and i can not certify but i am almost sure that it was not into a refrigerator in the after noon because it was really not appealing and in a very bad shape.
we thought that it is the standard we must expect in the lodges and camps during our safari, but we were much more lucky in sarova lodges - lake nakuru and in olare kempinski - masai mara. i do not know how much Kenya expresso tour paid for our night, but i hope they did not pay much...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tarek n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in Ol Turkai for one night, although I would recommend at least two nights. The place is 4 hours drive from Nairobi.
Rooms were good, bit old but clean. We had a room with elephant view. However, during our stay they did not come close. The hotel has a swimming pool, but the water is cold. If you are lucky, you will see the Kilimanjaro clearly from the hotel’s grounds. Food was very good, especially breakfast. As for dinner, they served al a cart, and we could choose from 3 different options. However, as the place was somewhat busy we (the group of six people) were served cold food. It would be better for them to offer buffet when it is busy. The hotel offers a game ride, but it is not cheap. This should be offered at a more reasonable price. However, we saw giraffes, zebras, buffalos, elephants and a huge turtle as we were driving ourselves through the park. Internet is available at additional cost. The hotel should make a kids corner, like a tree house with slide. It has plenty of space, and it would be great asset. Overall, the place is nice, staff are kind, and I would go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheHagueDule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

we stayed here as part of a week long safari. It was a wonderful lodge. Superbly clean. Excellent food. Comfortable will equipped accommodate. Views that take your death away. If would love to pick this lodge up and take it with me on safari. Wonderful....

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharonhaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We came to stay here coming from Nairobi in a self-driv 4WD -which, by the way is no problem, IF you bring your navi. We loved Amboseli and this Lodgge in particular. Very well situated within a little wood -and thus protecting a few of the trees that survived the Elephants thus far.
Our room, with great bed, shower and terrace -all very good an clean.
Food, service and amenities very good.
The lodge is obviously very well managed.
No question: if prices did not keep me from Kenia altogether, this would be my choice in Amboseli!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krishnagg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboseli National Park
8.3 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
387 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
772 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
118 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli Lodge
Sentrim Amboseli Lodge
#4 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
55 reviews
7 mi away
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
#3 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ol Tukai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol Tukai Lodge

Address: Amboseli National Park 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system > Amboseli National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Amboseli National Park
Price Range: $364 - $579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ol Tukai Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of Africa Ol Tukai Lodge is one of the best spots in the world to watch elephant with the backdrop of Africa’s highest mountain, Mount Kilimanjaro. Writers have described Ol Tukai and the surrounding Amboseli National Park as a 'home for the Gods.’ Ol Tukai is an eco-rated lodge having excellent outdoor and indoor facilities with its unique collection of African art. The property receives overwhelming response from the international and local tourism market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Ol Tukai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ol Tukai Hotel Amboseli National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing