We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Facility In Every Way!”
Review of Ol Tukai Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ol Tukai Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Duluth, GA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Facility In Every Way!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here with a large group from my job for a three day Safari at Amboseli National Park. The Park itself was VERY unimpressive this weekend (i.e., we saw VERY FEW animals beyond the elephants). But staying at THIS LODGE made the trip worthwhile! It saved the day for me. Absolutely gorgeous place, with wonderful African artwork, paintings, scultures and artifacts. Rooms are beautifully designed and extremely clean. Shower stall is HUGE!! Best part about this facility are the TWO views of the elephant plains on one side and the mountain view on the other. Doesn;t matter which side you stay on, you can easily walk to the other side for a different view. If you are lucky to get a glimpse of the great mountain or even its peaks, you will be greatly blessed! The food is FANTASTIC!!!! Great variety of foods and vegetarian choices. The dining room is very lovely. Staff was terrific - very helpful and knowledgable. The gift shop is very fully stocked with a WIDE RANGE of high quality mechandise, from low costing key chains to expensive jewelry. Although I knew I was paying a little more for some items, I was able to complete my gift shopping there. The grounds are extremely green and well kept. There are monkeys EVERYWHERE, so you have to keep your door closed. Also there is a bird walk path around the lodge. Very convenient to the safari entrance roads. Will book here again and again upon my return to Kenya. You will not be disappointed with this place. A great place to rest, relax and take it all in!!

Room Tip: You will have a choice of elephant or mountain view rooms. Elephant view looks out directly on plain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cparks24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    187
    39
    12
    4
See reviews for
192
309
36
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stopped off at Ol Tukai in Amboseli National Park on our way home to Nairobi. My other half had been before with some friends from work so we knew what to expect. It is full of colonial charm and the welcome is lovely. We choose a room with a mountain view, albeit it was a bit misty the views were spectacular. The location of the hotel within the park is perfect and the meals and hospitality are great. My only gripe is the cost of beverages. As we live in Kenya I know the local cost of beer and coke etc and they charge an awful lot here.

I can't comment on the game drives as we drive ourselves but Amboseli is a great park with a high concentration of animals so if you only have one shot at a safari I would recommend Amboseli. We have done Tsavo, Mara, Hells Gate etc etc and This still remains our favourite. That much so that we will be returning with visitors in February.

Room Tip: You have a choice of elephants or Kilimanjaro - the mountain won't move but the animals might so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizWadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpls
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at Ol Tukai Lodge in Amboseli Park, Kenya. The accommodations and staff were first rate. Views from the lodge of both Mt. Kilimanjaro and elephants in the adjoining swamp were unbeatable! Safari experience was delightful and did not disappoint. We traveled with 2 children and the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating to the kids. The staff sent a cake to our table on our last evening as a "thank you" for our stay. That was a nice touch. We have traveled extensively in Kenya and really enjoyed Ol Tukai Lodge. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: You can choose either an elephant view or Kilimanjaro view. Both are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

As this was our first accommodation in Kenya, we were not sure what to expect, but our two nights at Ol Tukai set the bar fairly high to start off our holiday - booked with Somak through Escape Worldwide (who were absolutely brilliant in helping us arrange our trip).

Getting here from Nairobi in a Nissan minivan was a fairly tiring and extremely bumpy 4-hour drive but on entering reception, we were handed a fresh cloth and a refreshing fruit-juice beverage. The check-in process was fairly painless – fill in a small form, take the key assigned to you and follow the porter to your room.

The rooms themselves I’d describe as “authentic African” but I realise that doesn’t really mean anything. A more accurate description would be that the rooms are how I imagine African lodges to be, constructed mainly of dark timber with high beamed ceilings and an interior decor comprised of a mix of neutral colours with flashes or red/orange.

One thing to note is that although every room does indeed have a view, not all views are equal.. our room (number 29) was set back from some of the other lodges and so we had a partial view out to the landscape between two other lodges). Insist, if you can, on one of the lodges with unimpeded views, if that is important to you.

The grounds of the lodge are made up of some small stone paths running along large grassy areas with a large expanse of grass between the buildings and the fencing that keeps the larger wildlife out. You can go right up to the fence to take pics of nearby animals but you do so at your own risk.. the inner fence is electrified and I noticed more than one person get a small shock. The pool area is a separate little section with a decent sized two-section pool surrounded by sun loungers and a small bar. We didn't spend much time there but it’s a nice place to sit and have a drink whilst listening to the sound of nature and looking out towards Kilimanjaro.

The dining area is in two sections, inside and outside with the latter usually being far more busy than the former. The food is generally quite good with a buffet breakfast that contains everything you’d expect from cereals to pastries to several cooked options plus a breakfast chef who will do whatever you like with some eggs. Lunch is also primarily a buffet with options that change from day-to-day. Dinner is a-la-carte and on being seated, we were presented with a single page menu to choose from. The food, as before, was of a fairly good standard and portion sizes were just about right.

Service was always good during our stay with plenty of smiles and attentiveness from the staff, which, apart from a few exceptions elsewhere, that seems to be par for the course in Kenya.

Ol Tukai is in a superb location, being quite close to the centre of Amboseli with great views to the south towards Mt Kilimanjaro. It was fairly hazy during our stay and the top half of the mountain was behind clouds most of the time but I imagine the view from the lodge on a clear day, is remarkable. Amboseli isn’t a massive park and we covered most of it over 3 game drives during our stay – Ol Tukai’s central location allowed us to take a different route each time and we saw plenty of elephants, giraffe, wildebeest, zebra, buffalo and gazelle along with a few glimpses of hippos and a pair of cheetahs. That said, with a pair of binoculars or a decent zoom lens, you can see most of the above from within the fence at Ol Tukai, not to mention the colourful birds and cheeky Vervet monkeys that hang around the lodge (there’s something mildly hilarious about watching a Masai in native clothing chasing a monkey around the bar with a slingshot).

There are only a few negative points I can raise about Ol Tukai – namely the lack of wi-fi (the only place during our trip not to offer it), the room safes were extremely small (you won’t fit a small laptop or much camera equipment in there) and the drive into the Ol Tukai grounds are a bit depressing as it involves driving past the old ruins of Amboseli Lodge, but those are fairly minor points and certainly didn't have any impact on our stay here.

Pros:
• Authentic feel to the rooms
• Great location right in the heart of Amboseli
• Good food quality and selection
• Nice pool area

Cons:
• Tiny safe
• Not every room has a good view
• Not 24h power
• Derelict buildings at entrance to hotel
• No WiFi

Room Tip: Try and ask for one of the rooms with an unimpeded view of the plains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MProudfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was the last stop of our 3-venue safari trip,and by far the best of all.Facing the beautiful Amboseli plains with gorgeous Mt Kilimanjaro on the other side,the lodge absolutely fulfilled our every expectation.Clean,spacious and well-decored rooms,set menu lunch and dinner,pool and massage facilities all helped a wonderful stay.The attitude of the staff was also friendly.Although Amboseli is not as rich as Maasai Mara in quantity and variation of species of animals,I absolutely recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: Elephant rooms face numbers of elephants and other animals day long,whereas Mountain View rooms face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AyhanAnkara_Turkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Ol Tukai have very efficient staff who made making reservations very easy. Special requests were well taken care of. The lodge itself is beautiful and compared to the nearby Serena lodge definately worth every coin you pay for! It also has scenic views of the mountains and wild animals come quite close to the lodge- a safe distance though. Their food was very good and staff warm and friendly.

It's definately a place I would visit again!

Room Tip: Although one would think Mountain view best, the elephant view rooms have double advantage in that y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry_jean_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Having gone to a couple of lodges in Kenya, our expectation was extremely high when arriving at Ol Tukai. While the entrance and dining halls have been nicely setup, the individual rooms at the lodge had not been maintained as well lately. The location of the lodges is excellent with a great view across the Amboseli plains and a short drive to the nearest swamp with many animals. Nevertheless, lots of rooms bring lots of other guest making the place more a European like holiday hotel with some evening entertainment, rather than a more tranquil safari camp.
If you look for buffet food and even some entertainment with many others to share, Ol Tukai will be the place for you. If you look for a quite place to enjoy the nature and allow you to reflect on your safari impressions, we would recommend to look around for another place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina_Friedemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboseli National Park
8.2 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
358 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
723 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
#5 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
322 reviews
9.9 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
112 reviews
18.2 mi away
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
#7 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ol Tukai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol Tukai Lodge

Property: Ol Tukai Lodge
Address: Amboseli National Park 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system > Amboseli National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Amboseli National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ol Tukai Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of Africa Ol Tukai Lodge is one of the best spots in the world to watch elephant with the backdrop of Africa’s highest mountain, Mount Kilimanjaro. Writers have described Ol Tukai and the surrounding Amboseli National Park as a 'home for the Gods.’ Ol Tukai is an eco-rated lodge having excellent outdoor and indoor facilities with its unique collection of African art. The property receives overwhelming response from the international and local tourism market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Ol Tukai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ol Tukai Hotel Amboseli National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing