We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$292
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/01/23
Expedia.com
$275
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/02/23
Official Hotel
$243
View deal
Hotels.com$275
Priceline$292
eDreams$292
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,100)
Filter reviews
1,101 results
Traveler rating
643
363
70
15
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
643
363
70
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives vervet monkeys watering hole safari lodge big cats bush dinner ceiling fan pasta station water hole nature walk indian food gift shop first stop buffet style dining area mount kilimanjaro early morning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 1,101 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2019 via mobile

This is an absolutely wonderful experience under the shadow of Kilimanjaro. It really is stunning with plenty of wildlife. Laundry is a little slow but the real urgency is to visit before water incursion has the same effect on this property as it did on the defunct resort next door. Flights are available so the African Massage can be dodged.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SerenaHotels, Manager at Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

Thank you very much for taking the time to review and share your wonderful experience about your stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that your overall stay with us was good and you had wonderful overall experience with us. We have taken note that laundry was slow and we apologise for that. We have taken your feedback positively and will work to make sure we improve on the same.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we look forward to hosting you again in future.

Yours Sincerely

Kathurima Mburugu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

We booked to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary, having stayed here before, and the other Serena hotels in Tsavo West, Mt Kenya and the Mara. The quality of the rooms is very good, furnishings and cleanliness, having tea and coffee making facilities is always a nice thing to have. The grounds were looking lovely too. Food was of a good standard, catering for vegetarian on a buffet basis and a couple of meals were from the menu, due to small residency of guests, but well served, and pleasant. The whole experience was superb, with the National Park being amazing, Mt Kili views were spectacular at times, always a gamble with cloud cover but didn't disappoint this visit. Animals were plenty, and some some wonderful sights, hundreds of flamingos (the first time we had sign any at all here), almost 300 hundred elephants en route across the Savannah crossing in front if us, cheetahs, buffalo, wildebeast, zebras, but unusually not one giraffe. Fantastic weekend.

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank 950Julie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SerenaHotels, Manager at Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

Thank you very much for taking the time to review and share your wonderful experience about your stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that your overall stay with us was good and being your wedding anniversary we were able to meet your expectations and you enjoyed every moment of your stay with us.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we look forward to hosting you again in future.

Yours Sincerely

Kathurima Mburugu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here during the Easter break.
The lodge was fully booked.

Check in was quick.

Staff VERY friendly.

Rooms are below average. Slightly dirty. Pillows are flat and uncomfortable. The bathrooms have a weird smell. The fan is far from the bed so it’s pretty much useless.

Vegetarian Food is just about average.
You can barely see what you’re eating if they make you sit outside the dining area.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Pradeepkerai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SerenaHotels, Manager at Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

Thank you very much for taking the time to review and share your wonderful experience about your stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that your check-in was quick and our staff were friendly. However we are sorry to note that the quality of rooms was not good and the vegetarian was average. We have taken your feedback seriously and positively and we shall take the neccesary measures to ensure we improve in the areas mentioned.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we look forward to hosting you again in future.

Yours Sincerely

Kathurima Mburugu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019

Spent 2 nights here while I visited Amboselli National Park. Nice room, decent sized, 1 issue I had was the ceiling fan was outside the mosquito netting which cut down on the air circulation. The grounds are beautiful, they do have some monkeys and antelope's which run around the grounds. The meals were also pretty good and they do have a pasta and hot food station.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SerenaHotels, Manager at Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2019

Thank you very much for taking the time to review and share your wonderful experience about your stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you had a good time during your stay with us at Amboseli Serena and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed a nice decent room, good food and beautiful ground with lots of animals. We take note of the feedback on the fan outside the mosquito net and we shall look into it.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we look forward to hosting you again in future.

Yours Sincerely

Kathurima Mburugu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2019

We stayed here 2 nights as part of a small group and though the lodge is inside the park and ticks some other boxes such as having good staff and all, the actual quality or level of luxury was slightly below my expectation considering the prices / rates that this lodge charges.

However that said I guess in overall terms it is not a bad option just that it should cost less and they should improve their room quality.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NataliaUlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SerenaHotels, Manager at Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2019

Thank you very much for taking the time to review and share your wonderful experience about your stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that your overall stay with us was good. However we are sorry to note that the quality of level of luxury did not meet your expectations. We have taken your feedback seriously and positively and we shall take measures to ensure we improve.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we look forward to hosting you again in future.

Yours Sincerely

Kathurima Mburugu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews