We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ekaterinburg
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We started our Kenian trip from Amboseli National Park and we had stay in this lodge. We had the best suite there and we enjoyed every moment of our staying in Serena lodge. It was very fabulous to sit on the terrace near the restaurant and to see elephants, antelopes and other animals while you are drinking fresh cocktail. It was like you could pass through TV screen inside Animal Planet programme. Also we had a direct view to Kilimanjaro, it was fantastic to see this big mountain in the morning. Staff is very friendly, restaurant also good. Our son enjoyed the pool, for us it was a little bit cold :)

Room Tip: The suite is much better than standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikhail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    221
    48
    11
    5
See reviews for
168
242
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
144 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Amboseli Serena is a superb option while visiting the Amboseli National Park in Kenya on the Tanzanian border. There is a superb view of Mount Kilimanjaro towering over you (but only in the morning as it gets shrouded in mists as the day advances).
The location of the lodge is superb, right within the park. The rooms are very clean and cozy. The staff is well-mannered and helpful. The view from the restaurants is great with a range of animals frolicking around. What was most wonderful, however were the number of beautiful birds within the campus itself.
Food at the restaurant was excellent too with ample variety to suit all palates.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Amboseli Serena lodge is in a location where the biggest attraction is the Kilimanjaro. You will be able to see the Kilimanjaro peak while you are on game drives. The lodge is clean and peaceful and food is particularly great. There are few Masai villages nearby and you can visit one of them. It was a quite a humbling experience to visit one such village. I would highly recommend to keep a Masai village trip in your itinerary. The lodge has a nice pool although not a lot of people will be interested in swimming pool while on a safari trip. Animal concentration in Amboseli is not as great as Masai Mara. The biggest draw for the park is the view of Kilimanjaro and a chance to visit nearby Masai village. Just beware of the monkeys roaming the property and don’t keep anything on the balcony as monkey’s may take great interest in it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debonaire1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Great lodge. Extremely clean and comfortable. The room had everything you needed and we had a wonderful night's stay. The food in particular was the best of the whole holiday! Would highly recommend this lodge and would be more than happy to stay for a longer period.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 228JoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night this December. It was my least favourite of the trip due to how commercial it was but none the less it was clean, well appointed, friendly staff, with a nice swimming pool and a good view so it may just my personal preference that I didn't like it as much as the other places.

They serve a wide range of buffet food - good for vegetarians - and provide pool side towels and an evening outdoor pit fire which was a nice touch.

The monkeys are hilarious and everywhere - as other reviews have mentioned be careful to leave anything out - they aren't shy!

The 'gift shop' is reasonable and stocks a lot of nice things. Everything is priced which is quite refreshing after stopping at a lot of pit stop shops where you'd have to haggle for a reasonable price on anything.

Hot showers available all day and sockets for charging cameras and phones which is a huge bonus!

All in all it was a lovely place to stay but a bit americanised for my personal preference.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sukhino24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

I loved this place! It is right by a Maasai village. Massai warriors are on the property, serving mimosas and ready with the sling shot to scare off the monkeys that freely roam the property. The only thing I wasn't totally impressed with were the safaris. They don't get close enough to the animals. Unlike my safari in Mala Mala in S. Africa where the guides actually tracked and took you to the animals; this safari stays only on the jeep path, so make sure to bring your telephoto or zoom lens if you want to get really good pictures.

Otherwise, it is a great location, very serene, clean rooms that are nicely decorated, good food and serviceful staff.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kelr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redford
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

In my 2 night stay at Amboseli Lodge, I was robbed by black-faced monkeys to the tune of a sugar packet and a piece of banana bread ... not as bad as a friend ... got her wallet lifted .. her chasing and yelling at a monkey was almost as good as a comedy show ... but all of this was just GOOD FUN ... I loved it!! ... oh yeah, and the lodge is nicely appointed. My room was appointed with a ceiling fan ... much appreciated. I should probably talk more about the lodge ... very nice, clean, everything (actually more) than I expected ... On the walls of all of the rooms are paintings of animals ... I had a porcupine ... hmmmm, does Africa even have porcupines? (it didn't keep me up at night). The views of Mt Kilamanjaro ... magical ... there's even a little bit of snow up there ... got my favorite photos here ... game in the foreground, mountain in the background ... AWESOME!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chervew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboseli National Park
3.0 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#2 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
#8 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
9.7 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
12.6 mi away
Satao Elerai
Satao Elerai
#9 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge

Property: Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Address: Amboseli National Park, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system > Amboseli National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Amboseli National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shadow of Mount Kilimanjaro, Africa's highest Mountain; beside a copse of giant Acacia trees and gently flowing natural spring. In the clean, crisp air of an Amboseli dawn, the snowcapped peaks of Mount Kilimanjaro shimmering in the southern sky, you can sit atop a volcanic throne in the middle of the Masai plains and see the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amboseli Serena Safari Hotel Amboseli National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing