We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there on our safari fot two nights. The rooms were outstanding, and the food was first class. Plenty of animals wete seen on our safaris. A great place to stay. All the staff were friendly and always on hand, saving you from getting mugged by the many monkeys all around the lodge.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Cinpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 772 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have been tossing up which Serena was better - Amboseli or Kilaguni. Couldn't decide as both were equally excellent. Very similar, service great, room excellent, great outlook from restaurant and lounge. As with all the Serenas free wifi. Souvenir shop was one of the better ones. In all an enjoyable stay.
Amboseli is an interesting park. When we first drove in South Gate (if I can remember correctly) - dry and barren. Then we came to the lake and it all changed. Plenty of wildlife. Unfortunately Kilimanjaro was in cloud most of the time but we were rewarded eventually and got the classic shot with the elephant in the foreground.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the Amboseli Serena Lodge for just one night but it was by far the best lodge we stayed at in our 4 night safari. The room and en suite bathroom was of an adequate size with storage/wardrobe space but with high standard decor and cleanliness. There was a kettle and hair dryer in the room but no safe. The small terrace looked out over a garden area where monkeys played. The bathroom was spotless and had good quality fluffy towels and plenty of hot water.
The restaurant was excellent as was the service. Guests are given a specific table for their entire stay and in the evening you chose from a menu with plenty of choice. Beautifully set tables too!
Wifi was free in the reception area and they had a good souvenir shop with fair prices. If you dont like haggling with the locals it is a good shop to get souvenirs.
Beware the monkeys! They are everywhere and one took a liking to my bag and tried to take it from me. If you have a drink on the terrace bar - which has fantastic views of the park - they try to pinch your nibbles from the table. Despite monkey guards with catapults they often suceed!

As you are entering the parks many locals come up to your safari van to sell you souvenirs as the drivers have to stop to get their entry tickets. They expect to haggle but we got our best deals this way -through the van windows. Keep the window shut as you will be handed everything if you open them - but negotiate through the window if there is anything you want. Aim for a third of what they initially ask.

By far the nicest Lodge and we wish we had arranged our trip to stay longer.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyRabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

An unbelieveable place in the middle of nowhere. The location is excellent and the wildlife abundant. The views from the terraces and the restaurant are really good and the rooms are very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philip h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This lodge deserves 3.5 rating as it has good wi-fi, good food, good character and good rooms with small open balconies. The rooms don't have a safe nor a view over the surrounding plains. However, the reception, dining and bar staff are courteous, well trained and speak good English.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 911JohnA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Set in the Amboseli National Park, the Serena Lodge had much to offer as long as you don't wish to spend much time in your room. One person would be happy, but two is another problem. The bed is very tight as is the rest of the floor space. There is almost no place to store items and the bathroom is also limited in space. Where we were we didn't even know there was a watering hole and no one bothered to mention it. The food was typical of the African experience which means it was better than ok, but not great! Staff was well trained and very helpful, but definitely slow in the dining room. Gift shop had good prices and a variety one might not expect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank par521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Another great lodge on our safari. Our triple room was huge as was the bathroom. We can't comment on the dinner buffet as we had eaten at Carnivore's earlier in the day and had no room for dinner however, breakfast buffet was great. Our room was on the end and this made for a very peaceful night. Bug spray and wipes in the room was a great addition.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank ajjbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboseli National Park
8.1 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
387 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
821 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
118 reviews
30.3 mi away
Maasai Simba Camp
Maasai Simba Camp
#1 of 2 in Amboseli National Park
47 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli Lodge
Sentrim Amboseli Lodge
#4 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge

Address: Amboseli National Park, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system > Amboseli National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Amboseli National Park
Price Range: $295 - $509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shadow of Mount Kilimanjaro, Africa's highest Mountain; beside a copse of giant Acacia trees and gently flowing natural spring. In the clean, crisp air of an Amboseli dawn, the snowcapped peaks of Mount Kilimanjaro shimmering in the southern sky, you can sit atop a volcanic throne in the middle of the Masai plains and see the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amboseli Serena Safari Hotel Amboseli National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing