We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great divie experience:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bira Dive Camp

Bira Dive Camp
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Bira
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: New Dive Center in New Dive Location in South Sulawesi. Dive without seeing other dive groups. Great location with healthy reefs, plenty of sharks, turtles rays too be seen. Diving available for divers of all levels. beginners welcome to do courses or intro dives. Experienced divers have some exciting drift dives and for the macro and photographers, nice gentle currents and easy dives with plenty to see.Big fish you likely to see - whitetip sharks, blacktip sharks, eagle rays, marble rays, stingrays, Napoleon Wrasse, Bumphead Parrotfish, Tunas, BaracudasMacro Life you are likely to see - Octopus, cuttlefish, Many Nudibranchs, Mantis Shrimps, Pipefish, Leaf Scorpionfish, FrofishJuly to October - the big fish season - Mola Mola, Hammerheads, Bullsharks, Marblerays, Thresher Sharks, Whalesharks, Mantas. Bira Divers has very experienced dive team. Managed by and English Instructor Chris and his DM Rahman and Instructor Deni. They have been diving these sites for many years and discovered the reefs many years ago.Small groups, max 4 per guide. If divers are different levels we bring extra guide and split the group. Generally a 2 tank trip in the morning and extra dives and night dives can be arranged on request.On Board we have O2 Water, and tea coffee lunch for surface interval.Dive prices start at €30 a dive and as you dive more the price goes down.Currently we do not have our own accommodation but can arrange and assist you very easily. prices start from €8 a night up to €100 a night.Contact Chris for more information.
Salatiga, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great divie experience:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I just come back from Bira, where I joined together with a friend of mine an Openwater divingcourse at Bira Divers. We had a lot of fun and made some great experience. The stuff is very friendly, open-minded and well qualified. The whole course I felt very safe. We also got some theory lessons and we had a pool session to become familiar with all the divingequipment and stuff. Our instructur explained us everything very well. It was very helpfull. During our dives in the ocean we saw a lot of different fish, one shark, some turtels and rays. It was amazing, I would ever do it again. To dive in Bira with Bira divers is defently a good decision:) Thank you for everything, I enjoyed it very much...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank verena327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bira Divers S, Manager at Bira Dive Camp, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Amalie and Verina

It was great having you guys learn to dive with us. we hope to see you for some more diving later in the year

Cheers

from the Bira Divers gang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    23
    9
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excelent Dive Center at a perfect Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We visited Bira the last Eastern Holidays as a getaway of Jakarta, we stayed there 3 days and was a great diving experience! I recommend it for divers with some experience.

Diving Spots there are amazing, at same level as Bunaken or Komodo. Plenty of sharks,schools of big fishes, strong currents and amazing coral reefs. On our first dive we were accompanied by a massive Eagle Ray for the first 15 minutes. Visibility is amazing, dives are deep and still there are fair visibility, up to 10 to 15 meter diving at 40 meters.

Bira divers is a great dive center, located less than 30 meters from the Beach. Chris and his crew are fun and very friendly, very professionals and always very safe. We brought our own equipments and they took good care of it after the dives. Rahman, one of the divemasters owns a Warung in Bira where they gather at night to check the plans for next day and have some drinks.

For sure we will be coming back, at the adequate season to see Mola Mola and Whale sharks!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Inigogpardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bira Divers S, Manager at Bira Dive Camp, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
thanks inigio

great to have you here, will see you in bira next time you get a holiday

Cheers

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Diving the way it should be- loads of fun and super safe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Did six dives at various dive sites around Bira. Dive master Rackman was very knowledgable and competent, and very in tune with what was going on on the surface and below, always keeping his eye on shifting currents ect. Chris, the owner of Bira Divers is good fun to have on your dives as he's done thousands of dives and has a good sense for finding out exactly what you want out of your dive and then making it happen. There are loads of beautiful creatures and coral at all the dive sites, lots of large fish and reef sharks. If you are thinking about getting certified i recommend doing it with these guys- they know their stuff!
I have my Padi advanced open water certification.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank K8tkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bira Divers S, Manager at Bira Dive Camp, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
thanks for writing kate, we had a great time having you here diving with us. hopefully we will see you again sometime.

Stay warm in Alberta!

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic diving...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just returned from an amazing trip to Bira, Sulawesi - Bira Divers is a new shop in the village and is expertly run by manager Chris and Rahman, an excellent local guide.
I've dived over 250 times around the world and Bira has some of the best diving I've ever seen - it rivals any live aboard going. We saw dozens of sharks, rays, turtles and the coral is phenomenally healthy - huge schools of fish and loads of nudibranchs with excellent visibility.
Chris was a fantastic host and arranged everything that I needed during the holiday - I couldn't recommend a trip to Bira more, and next time I'll splurge on Amatoa resort

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Red_Sonja_SVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bira Divers S, Manager at Bira Dive Camp, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
hey sonja

thanks for writing the review. We had lots of fun diving here with you and hopefully will see you back here sometime.

greykris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great diving experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I spent 6 days diving the waters around Bira in Southern Sulawesi. If you are looking for remote dive spots, with no other divers & great marine life, then it is worth checking out Bira. I work as a diving instructor in Bali, so was looking forward to diving somewhere new and away from the crowds. Bira did not disappoint. The walls off Kampoeng island were spectacular and possibly the best diving in the area. We saw a fair number of whitetips, as well as napoleons, turtles, leaf scorpionfish & lots of nudis. Bira also has a great house reef. The dive center is a new set up and very well run by Chris & his 2 DMs, Denny & Rahman. They have lots of experience in diving these waters & pay close attention to the tides when diving. On a safety note, the guides carry personal location devices, normally only found on top end liveaboards.
We had our own kit, which was washed & stored at the end of each day. Bira divers has a new resort planned for next year, which should be an exciting venture!
Thanks a lot guys for a great week!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DJPaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bira Dive Camp also viewed

Bira, South Sulawesi
Bulukumba, South Sulawesi
 
Gorontalo, Gorontalo Province
 

Been to Bira Dive Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing