We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice little guesthouse with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salassa Guest House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bira
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A nice little guesthouse with great staff”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Rooms are basic, the bed is very nice and the sheets are clean. The shared bathroom is also basic and in Indonesian style (mandi), but clean. The value for money is great; we stayed 4 nights!

The food served in the restaurant is highly recommended, we ate various dishes and all were great (ikan bambu bali!).

Eriq, the manager, is great (also to hire as a driver/guide) and speaks very good English. The other staff, two girls, are alwasy smiling and very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lennart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    29
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
5
35
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Narbonne, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

we spend 5 nights in salassa guest house which is very clean compare to some other place
both of the owner speak very good english and can give good deals about transports and island trips
but the highlight of our stay was definitely the food and not expensive at all
there is a board where it s written "we cook the food with love and love needs time" and you really can feel the love in the dish
TOTALLY WORTH IT
Remi and Christelle

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank remi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The position is good. Not seafront, but just 200 metres far away. Owners are really kind and willing to help you. Toilet (in common for the 6 rooms) is very simple (let's say "minimal") but clean. Price/quality ratio is excellent!
We tried the restaurant just once because of Ramadan, but good food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paolo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Staying at Salassa was one of the highlights of our trip in Sulawesi: the rooms are new and spacious,the shared bathroom is clean. The food is simply amazing, Santy is such a great chef :) We stayed there for 6 nights and would have loved to stay longer. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asia_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We got Salassa recommended from another couple we met while traveling Sulawesi, and we absolutly love that place. Best Indonesien food we had in almost 5 weeks. Always fresh and tastes like a dream. We love it pedas. I am still dreaming of Udang Rica Rica. The service is also great as well as they always help you whatever problem you have. The rooms are newly renovated and good price. Dont miss it as the breakfast makes the every day, a happy day in the morning. I do miss the place very much, and hope I can get back soon. When you get there, just relax! Good food takes time, and it is the best food I had! Whenever you are traveling Sulawesi, get to Bira and stay at Salassa for a couple of days!!!

thanks to Eriq and Shan for the great time! Florian&Dany

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Synapse3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed there 8 nights and we really enjoyed. Santie and Eric, both speak very good English and know area pretty well. The rooms are big (bring own mosquito nets in case) and food is delicious (they charge extra for rice which I found funny as no other places do that!!!) They can help you arrange the transport as well as motorbike. We really had a great stay there.
If you want to found out more about Bira you can read it on the blog:
http://south-sulawesi-and-wakatobi2012.blogspot.co.uk/ - hope you find the information useful. I have also created a map of Bira and around as we have traveled all around. I can share it if you wish, just drop me an email.

Room Tip: If you want to learn about Indonesian culture then you will definitely find out a lot from them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdventureSeeker83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Shantya & Eric are running their guest house / restaurant Salassa in Bira/ Sulawesi in a very pleasant way They not only enjoy the company of backpackers but also provide them with everything they may need e.g. excellent food ( try the lobster!)and drinks but also with transport, snorkeling boat and materials and whatever information a tourist may be looking for. The rooms and the shared bathroom are clean and well kept. The prices are very affordable. Salassa is THE place to be in Bira.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nadine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bira hotels
0.0 mi away
Amatoa Resort
Amatoa Resort
#2 of 4 in Bira
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cosmos Bungalows
Cosmos Bungalows
#2 of 14 in Bira
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bara Beach Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BaraCoco Bungalows
BaraCoco Bungalows
#1 of 14 in Bira
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balatoa
Balatoa
#3 of 8 in Bira
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nini`s Beach Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salassa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salassa Guest House

Property: Salassa Guest House
Address: Bira Beach, Bira, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Bira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Salassa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing