We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt very welcomed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salassa Guest House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bira
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Felt very welcomed”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed there 8 nights and we really enjoyed. Santie and Eric, both speak very good English and know area pretty well. The rooms are big (bring own mosquito nets in case) and food is delicious (they charge extra for rice which I found funny as no other places do that!!!) They can help you arrange the transport as well as motorbike. We really had a great stay there.
If you want to found out more about Bira you can read it on the blog:
http://south-sulawesi-and-wakatobi2012.blogspot.co.uk/ - hope you find the information useful. I have also created a map of Bira and around as we have traveled all around. I can share it if you wish, just drop me an email.

Room Tip: If you want to learn about Indonesian culture then you will definitely find out a lot from them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdventureSeeker83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    29
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
5
33
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Shantya & Eric are running their guest house / restaurant Salassa in Bira/ Sulawesi in a very pleasant way They not only enjoy the company of backpackers but also provide them with everything they may need e.g. excellent food ( try the lobster!)and drinks but also with transport, snorkeling boat and materials and whatever information a tourist may be looking for. The rooms and the shared bathroom are clean and well kept. The prices are very affordable. Salassa is THE place to be in Bira.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nadine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munic
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We were almost every day at the restaurant, we stayed somewhere else, they were full when we arrived. We eat all things on the menu! We didn't want to go somewhere else, it was the best food in Sulawesi!
Eric gives you all information that you will need, he speak fantastic english, got internet.
Check it out!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

I found visiting Salassa Restaurant and Guesthouse to be the highlight of a trip to Bira in south Sulawesi. The food served there was the best I found on the entire island.

Shanty is a fantastic cook who prepares wonderful dishes, like prawns in coriander sauce, or local fish in spicy sauce. The gado gado is great.

Both Shanty and her husband, Eriq, are full of great information about travel throughout Sulawesi, and provide the only internet service in Bira. Eriq also provides transport for people who hire him.

The guesthouse looked fine, with western style toilets, instead of the squat toilets reported by the Lonely Planet guide. It was full when I was there, or I would've stayed there.

If you go, please encourage Shanty to start up her cooking classes. Once you taste the food, you'll want to learn how she makes the dishes.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nomaddish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bira
0.0 mi away
The Rinra Makassar
The Rinra Makassar
#1 of 100 in Makassar
314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amatoa Resort
Amatoa Resort
#2 of 4 in Bira
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cosmos Bungalows
Cosmos Bungalows
#2 of 14 in Bira
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bara Beach Bungalows
0.0 mi away
BaraCoco Bungalows
BaraCoco Bungalows
#1 of 14 in Bira
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balatoa
Balatoa
#2 of 8 in Bira
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salassa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salassa Guest House

Property: Salassa Guest House
Address: Bira Beach, Bira, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Bira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Salassa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing