We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet corner of Belgium”
Review of B&B Basil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Basil
Ranked #1 of 8 Maasmechelen B&B and Inns
Loughborough
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A quiet corner of Belgium”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The B&B Basil is set in a small, pretty, quiet village of Leut near Maasmechelen and thus away from the busy thoroughfare that goes down the middle of Maasmechelen itself. We were surprisingly the only guests at this bed and breakfast establishment. It is very tastefully decorated in a minimalist style, the rooms are comfortable and very quiet. The breakfast was very good, especially the fine selection of fresh breads and croissants. The main minus point was finding the light switches when coming in at night and finding the way to the awkwardly positioned staircase.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TreacleMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
24
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tomar, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

What a treat! Great rooms, a quiet vilage square, extremely friendly and helpful owners....Even the house cat makes you feel very welcome.
In summer this must be paradise beside the natural pool in the lovely garden.
Breakfast is as good as it gets, huge bread buns and croissants,bacon and eggs, fresh orange juice, cheeses and cuts, fresh fruits and yoghurt.
The brasserie across the square is very convenient, food is excellent and again absolutely huge portions.
On check-out we got a reduction card for the Maasmechelen Outlet Shppoing giving an extra 10%.

Room Tip: Rooms at he back are even more quiet; some rooms have a jacuzzi type bath tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The very nice owners make this place a relaxed and warm stay. Everything looks well maintained and clean. Breakfast was a treat. I understand they will be opening a bar-restaurant across the road in a few months time. It looked promissing already, standing proud and in style next to the old church. I recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrt_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

I found this little jewel by fluke, as I searched online for a hotel in Maasmechelen, and this B&B came up. A B&B in a small town.... hmmm, sounds dodgy, but I was encouraged by guest reviiews, so booked. What a wonderful place. Very relaxed and personal service. It is what it is - a great bed to sleep in, a functional but cosy ambiance, TV/DVD ( special touch - the Fawlty Towers DVD is on hand in each room), a spacious bathroom with shower. Special features - beautiful oakwood flooring, amenities in the bathroom as well as a robe, wonderful bedlinen that smells divine, and utter, complete silence during the night until the first cockerel starts to annouce daylight. Because of that I have rated the location as excellent, if you are looking to be in the middle of it all, this is not for you. In the summer one can enjoy an incredibly spacious garden and lounge by the pool. The breakfast was scrumptious, freshly squeezed OJ, eggs of your choice, delicious bread selection, fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, homemade jams, and selection of cheese. A further great touch were: Use of a PC in the "common" area, a selection of board games, and an honesty bar designed in a really fun way. I recommend this place highly, great comfort of hotel standards with the personal touch that is so often missing in the bigger places.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mucki1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maasmechelen
1.6 mi away
Terhills Hotel - Different Hotels
6.1 mi away
La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie
3.1 mi away
De Taller-Hoeve
De Taller-Hoeve
#3 of 8 in Maasmechelen
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Au Nom De Dieu
Au Nom De Dieu
#1 of 14 in Dilsen-Stokkem
172 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Al Mulino
Hotel Al Mulino
#2 of 8 in Maasmechelen
115 reviews
0.9 mi away
Haerlekijn
Haerlekijn
#1 of 1 in Meeswijk
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Basil

Property: B&B Basil
Address: Sint-Pietersstraat 75 | Leut, Maasmechelen 3630, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Maasmechelen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Maasmechelen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Basil 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your B&B Basil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing