We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place......”
Review of Pousada do Parque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pousada do Parque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here for four nights, and wish we could have stayed longer, this is a low key place, but very special indeed, a wonderful setting just on the edge of the national park and entered through locked gates and two kilometres of track. The garden area attracted many birds with some special humming birds. The bedrooms were small but charming with a good strong shower and lots of hot water. The lounge and dining areas are traditional and very nice indeed. We had a guide from a local company who was fantastic, very knowledgable and worked hard to make sure that we had a good time. Th food in the lodge was very good and plentiful and Oswald was kind and helpful host. I wish we had had more time in this wonderful place, we must go back......

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Pousada do Parque
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 110 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

We only had one night in the Pousada do Parque as part of a three week holiday travelling around Brazil. The room was small, which we expected as we had read previous reviews, however since we spent hardly any time in it except while we were asleep this didn't bother us. The shower is great with plenty of hot water. The food was some of the best that we had in Brazil with the fresh fish for dinner and the different types of homemade bread for breakfast being particular highlights. The free wifi also worked.
We only really had half a day touring round the area due to a fairly packed schedule and in that time we managed to fit in 2 different waterfalls and a number of different scenic viewpoints. The scenery was nice, but I didn't feel we needed any more time than that as it was so hot during the day that it would have made going for long walks fairly unpleasant. We did go for two short walks in the area immediately surrounding the pousada in the late afternoon and early morning and saw a good number of birds including greater rhea, chestnut-eared aracari, rufous-tailed jacamar plus some hummingbirds and macaws, as well as some of the wild guinea-pigs. I think you would need to be extremely lucky to see any of the larger mammals here. The lodge are doing what they can to encourage maned wolves into the area, but you would need to be very lucky to actually see one.
The owner of the lodge was extremely helpful when we got back from our walks in helping us identify what birds we had seen from the photos that we took.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WildlifeFan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We are experienced in travel to similar remote places, and the Pousada is a gem. It is in the national park about 5 km behind a locked park entrance. We were provided a key during our stay. Clean, nicely set up rooms with A/C, WIFI (we didn't use), and terrific food. Oswaldo, our host, and Aline, the manager, were both charming and couldn't be more helpful. They even provided a really good local bird guide when we had trouble finding one on the web. The habitats here are the Cerrado, with low trees and good bird visibility, open areas with some trees, and some areas of high canopy primary forest. There also were some ponds I didn't have time to visit. There were miles of good trails that I didn't completely explore in the 5 days there. The birding was great. Four nights was not enough, we plan to return with friends!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 10sTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Everything was perfect, although we had already read many positive comments, we were highly surprised on our arrival. There are just a few rooms/bungalows around the swimming pool and the restaurant and you feel immediately at home. Great care is paid to all details. Rooms are a little too small but you just sleep there. The nature all around is astounding and singing birds sing you a lullaby day and night and you never have enough of it. The view is open on fields, savannah (they call it cerrado and it's magnificent) and a great canyon in the distance. Green grass, a hammock in front of every bungalow and a nice little pool are enough to refresh body and spirit. On our arrival when the sun had already set we drove along a dirt road (5 km actually and not very comfortable but you forget it as soon as you arrive) and we ran across so many animals (mammals and night birds), awesome! Windows are protected by mosquito nets but the restaurant is in the open and however no stings at all in the (unfortunately only) two days we spent there. Staff is very careful, smiling and friendly and both the manager and the owner went out of their way to help us with advice and tips. Food is absolutely excellent, the best I tasted in Brasil considering we toured the country for 18 days. The restaurant is a beatiful open-space wood and bricks structure, open onto the wild nature and you feel part of it. We tasted different very good meat and vegetable dishes, enjoyed rice and even pizza, tried different fruits and the banana and pineapple desserts are unforgettable. We visited waterfalls and canyons, enjoyed beautiful views on forests and savannah, went on a fantastic rafting tour along a (almost) peaceful clear river where we could even swim and let the river float us down its course. The owner even accompanied us to the magnificent and breath-taking Cidade de Pedra in his car and didn't want to get paid! Thank you and see you soon again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Valentina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Despite the awful weather, we really enjoyed our stay at the Pousada do Parque! We were incredibly unlucky to arrive in thick, wet fog which lasted for most of our two day stay. This meant that we couldn't see the wonderful views from the Pousada until our last morning. It also meant that we were really cold whilst eating the wonderful food in the open sided restaurant! Good thing the food was hot! Seriously though, the food was first rate, with much of it being homemade including wonderful cakes, breads and cheeses. The meat and fish dishes were equally excellent and the beer and wine prices were reasonable for somewhere like this, where everything has to be brought in for some distance. The staff were really friendly too. There was a lovely open fire which we huddled around in the evenings. Despite the bad weather, we managed to take a number of good walks in the national park and saw a number of pretty waterfalls. A really peaceful place to spend a few days. We will try and return one day and hope for better weather!

Room Tip: There are only 8 rooms but try and get one which has a porch outside, to give shelter in both good a...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anniefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a nice place but the rooms are very small and uncomfortable. It is clean, but very basic with no windows. The bathroom is looking a bit worn and the walls could use painting. The location is beautiful with dramatic views but most of the rooms don’t face those views (we typically had a view of another guest’s drying laundry). The grounds of the lodge are very nice and attractive. Everyone is quite friendly and helpful. The food at dinner and breakfast is very good. Please note this is not a wildlife destination in my opinion. There are plenty of birds around but the only mammals were the guinea pigs hanging around the lodge. This is more of a scenery-and-hiking kind of place. I would love to see the owners reconfigure the rooms and maybe even combine a couple to provide a little more space.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pousada P, General Manager at Pousada do Parque, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for comments, about the size of the rooms, they are really not big, once we recicled a old farm house and had to plan a lot to acomodate the 8 aparments, however we will buid another 6 chales with jacuzzi and all the facilities. Good to note that in june all the rooms were repainted. About the wild life, besides that we do see mamals around the logde( we have a list ), we like to present Chapada as a place for beautiful cenary and good birdwaching, and with some luck you might see mamals as well. Tks for staiyng with us !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This beautiful character lodge is a perfect base from which to discover the Chapada dos Guimaraes Park which holds a wealth of sought after and stunning wildlife. I have stayed here several times and enjoy the tranquility and peace as well as the delightful rooms and superb food cooked in the wonderful restaurant. If you want to look for wildlife there is plenty to see. Some are difficult such as the Maned Wolf but early morning or evening you could be lucky.
The sunsets are also stunning!

I am a Wildlife Tour Leader and this Lodge is perfect

Room Tip: All the rooms are small but very clean and comfortable, and all have character.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapada dos Guimaraes hotels
6.1 mi away
Casa da Quineira
Casa da Quineira
#1 of 37 in Chapada dos Guimaraes
176 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pousada Jardim da Chapada
Pousada Jardim da Chapada
#9 of 37 in Chapada dos Guimaraes
38 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bosque da Neblina
Bosque da Neblina
#7 of 37 in Chapada dos Guimaraes
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.0 mi away
Malai Manso Resort Iate Golf Convention & Spa
Malai Manso Resort Iate Golf Con...
#1 of 1 in Chapada dos Guimaraes
189 reviews
7.2 mi away
Pousada Morro dos Ventos
Pousada Morro dos Ventos
#12 of 37 in Chapada dos Guimaraes
8 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pousada Penhasco
Pousada Penhasco
#2 of 36 in Chapada dos Guimaraes
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada do Parque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada do Parque

Address: Rodovia Emanuel Pinheiro Km 52, Chapada dos Guimaraes, State of Mato Grosso 78195-000, Brazil (Formerly Park Eco Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Mato Grosso > Chapada dos Guimaraes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Chapada dos Guimaraes
Price Range: $149 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada do Parque 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is strategically located on the borders of the Chapada dos Guimarães National Park, houses 500 hectares of private reserve, 2 water falls ( from Dec. to Jul ), amazing outlook over the entire park from our observation Tower, and several well prepared trails for the enjoyment of the most demanding nature lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pousada do Parque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Parque Chapada Dos Guimaraes, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing