We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene escape near St Isodore restaurant & Cupitts Winery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Milton Country Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Yatte Yattah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
762 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Serene escape near St Isodore restaurant & Cupitts Winery”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We arrived during a cold snap and found the bare concrete floors very cold. Otherwise enjoyed the serenity & quiet offered by the location. Only a few minutes to Milton and some wonderful foodie destinations makes it a winner. Found the kitchen functional and convenient to use and dishwasher great.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pechfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol J, Owner at Milton Country Cottages, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the peace and quiet here. Our floors are polished concrete at the advice of our architect - this is for environmental reasons as they operate as a heat sink in winter when the sun shines on them and they then release the heat over night. This is an essential aspect of our environmentally friendly design. The combination of these floors, the north-east aspect and Hebel walls makes our cottages cool in summer and warm in winter. We also provide slippers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
45
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in March 2013 (Monday and Tuesday) at the Garden Cottage. Carol and Kees are great hosts and they know how to look after the four cottages at Milton country, but especially they know how to attend their guests.

We stayed there for two reasons: wi-fi is available which is free (the reception is excellent) and dogs are allowed at the cottage. There is excellent mobile phone reception as well.

There are two separate bedrooms at the cottage with their own en-suite, so there is a lot of privacy inside of the cottage too. This is certainly a place to relax and you can keep entertain with books, magazines and plenty of games. Carol and Kees have a vast collection of DVDs in their office which can be borrow upon request.

The only minor disappointment was the breakfast hamper, which was just very basic. We think it is far to be considered generous as it is claimed on the website. We found for breakfast two slices of bread, small boxes of cereals, some yoghurt, orange juice, jam, some butter, tea, milk and coffee. Neither eggs nor beacon was provided on the hamper. May be it was the fact we were only two people staying for two days in the Garden cottage. Nevertheless, this was compensated by the bottle of port. Also, we were with our car so we brought plenty of provisions with us such as fruits and goodies, so no problems at all!

Milton town is just 10’ drive from the Milton Cottages where you can find great cafes, restaurants, and pubs.

Carol kindly allowed us for a late check out, no extra charges. Keep up the good service and your kind hospitality. We will be back soon, next time to stay in a Cottage with Spa.

If you are planning to stay here, book directly from www.miltoncountrycottages.com.au

Room Tip: Strongly suggest getting a GPS to get to the Cottage, especially if you arriving at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanguro10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol J, Owner at Milton Country Cottages, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are please you had a nice stay. We look forward to your next visit. We apologise for the amount of breakfast provisions but you arrived earlier that we expected and we had initially only provided for 2 people and there were 4 people. We we quite happy to provide more provisions. The jam is home made plum and lime, the bread is sourdough from our local gourmet bakery and when we can't provide freshly squeezed juice it is good quality 100% juice. We also provide yoghurt, plunger coffee and twinings teas. We advertise our breakfast supplies as "on arrival" so it is to get you started although for most people the amount we provide is enough for a 2 night stay. We hope you will come here again as we are sure you will enjoy the Kookaburra Cottage
Carol and Kees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batchelor, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We loved the beautiful setting of the Kookaburra Cottage were we stayed. Waking up to Kangaroos outside our cottage in the morning was an amazing experience! The cottage felt so comfy and cosy. The breakfast hamper was great quality... Worth the stay! It was amazing! You will not regret it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StacieAshlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol J, Owner at Milton Country Cottages, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Kookaburra Cottage.
Carol and Kees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Another wonderful stay, thankyou. These country cottages are only a 10 mins drive from some of the nicest beaches in Australia ie Lake Conjola Entrance. Its sensible to phone ahead and get directions as GPS can lead you astray and take you the wrong and long way. its only a short distance off the main highway south to Milton. Don't miss the pottery that is produced on the premises, it is fabulous, don't miss visiting the studio.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol J, Owner at Milton Country Cottages, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are only 830 metres from the Princes Highway and easy to find on a Google map. Unfortunately some GPS directions to find us are not correct!
Carol and Kees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esk, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

After driving from Sydney, we found this beautiful place to rest. We stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage, which had every thing we needed. Carol was the perfect host you caould imagin. The breakfast basket was filled with goodies, not even the freshly squized orange juice was missing. We stay with friends from Berlin Germany, who liked it just as much as my wife and I. My wife was especially intereste in the pottery, because she is a ceramic artist herself. All in all 5 stars +

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fritz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol J, Owner at Milton Country Cottages, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Carol and Kees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My party of 3 adults and 2 young children had a lovely 2-night stay at the 2BR cottage (Kookaburra Cottage, as I believe it's called) which we used as our base to visit Jervis Bay and Clyde River Berry Farm. We were greeted by the resident skippies the moment we turned off the highway which was a real treat for our city kids to be able to see roaming kangaroos exhibiting themselves just outside the cottage. The cottage was comfortable, spacious and well-equipped and ours had a beautiful separate but private spa bath right next door. Milton Country Cottages is simply the perfect medicine for hectic, bustling city life! But the best thing about this place must be the perfect host that Carol is, who from the moment we came in showered us with the utmost care and attention! If we weren't so occupied visiting the Shoalhaven surrounds, would have loved to sip tea over a chat with Carol while the kids ran around and explored the beautiful open spaces. There's wifi connectivity in the cottage so that you could enjoy seclusion without being isolated, if you know what I mean. To get around the area, Jervis Bay is about 20-30 mins drive away, while Milton / Ulladulla, with its eateries and shops, is a short 5-10 mins' drive. But if you do visit, save some time for discovering Milton Country Cottages itself especially its quaint pottery gallery and studio. This place is a wonderful self-catering getaway (Carol provides an awesome breakfast basket packed with fresh produce) for family or a group of friends and will certainly be enjoyed by both young and old.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lminhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol J, Owner at Milton Country Cottages, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Milton Country Cottages and that you enjoyed your visit to the Clyde River Berry farm, especially a great experience for city children!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage with the spa in the room outside for a special weekend away by ourselves (for the first time without our toddler).
It was a wonderful stay! The cottage is set in tranquil bushland, we sat on the outdoor seats sipping port or coffee and watching the kangaroos relaxing on the grass right outside the back door and listening to the beautiful birds in the trees nearby.
The service was outstanding too. Carol was very welcoming, friendly and attentive, genuinely caring about the guests.
The cottage had everything we could possibly need, including toiletries, slippers, bathrobe, hairdryer, DVDs, games, music in the spa room, a BBQ, battery operated candles, blankets on the seats outside, a large bathroom, comfy couches...a very comfortable home.
The breakfast hamper was amazing with fresh squeezed orange juice, organic yogurt, museli from the gourmet deli in Milton, fresh ground coffee, bacon, eggs and more.
We will be back.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom cottage with outdoor spa is towards the back of the property and has lots of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janem78art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol J, Owner at Milton Country Cottages, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review - its much appreciated.
Carol and Kees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yatte Yattah
5.7 mi away
Bannisters by the sea
Bannisters by the sea
#2 of 8 in Mollymook
550 reviews
7.9 mi away
Harbour View Serviced Apartments
4.2 mi away
Milton Village Motel
Milton Village Motel
#1 of 5 in Milton
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
BIG4 Bungalow Park on Burrill Lake
4.6 mi away
Milton Bed and Breakfast
5.7 mi away
Ridge Retreat at Mollymook
Ridge Retreat at Mollymook
#1 of 2 in Mollymook
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milton Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milton Country Cottages

Property: Milton Country Cottages
Address: 83 Egans Farm Lane, Yatte Yattah, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2539, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Yatte Yattah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yatte Yattah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Milton Country Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A multi-award winning rural retreat offering architect-designed self-contained cottages in a beautiful 12 acre (4 hectares) bush setting. Garden with wild kangaroos, wallabies and beautiful native birds. Huge sunny verandas, spa baths, kitchens with dishwashers. Peaceful and private. A few minutes drive to some of the best beaches in Australia and the historic village of Milton with its interesting cafes, restaurants, boutiques and galleries as well as to the Rick Stein restaurant at Bannisters. Prices include a generous breakfast hamper, complementary port and access to our movie library. Free parking and WiFi access. On-site pottery and gallery with lessons available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Milton Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing