We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They have thought of everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Milton Country Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Yatte Yattah B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“They have thought of everything!”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We (sadly) only stayed one night at Milton cottages.

What a bargain!! For what you pay, this place has everything!! The entire B&B was constructed by the current owners, they have built not only the buildings themselves but also the sinks, they made their own tiles, mugs, plates, vases and so on. It has a wonderful unique & slightly quirky feel, but is also very homely, private & relaxed.

We have stayed at a lot of B&B type accommodation & this one takes the cake for best setup. Best collection of board games, fully equipped kitchen, breakfast supplies, private BBQ, slippers, robes, first aid kit, a vegetable garden you can harvest your own food from…… they have thought of everything!

Breakfast included, we had bacon and eggs, toast, condiments, juice, coffee, fresh grown tomatoes all delivered to our room just after check in. The coffee mugs are all made onsite and if you like them you can buy your own at the pottery shop onsite!

Side note: the location is actually a bit out of the township of Milton (not walking distance), but this is a small price to pay for such tranquil and relaxing accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatSouthernLand5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
45
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Milton Country Cottages was a truly wonderful place to stay. Quiet and relaxing it is a perfect getaway. The cottage was beautifully done with everything you need. We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirkandRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We (wife and 2 children aged 5 &4) stayed in Jan 2012 in 2 bedroom cottage. If you like bush, trees, wildlife at your backdoor, peace and quiet then this is for you. The host is friendly and informative and greeted us with a wonderful breakfast basket. The cottage had a split system reverse cycle air conditioner and a combustion wood fireplace. There was a double carport to park your car. The cottage had a double bed in one room and 2 singles in the other. Both rooms were spacious and all beds comfortable. All beds had electric blankets. Bedrooms had bedside lamps and ceiling fans. Bathroom was huge. Loungeroom was decent sized with leather lounge and flat screen TV with DVD and VHS players. Wide range of DVD's and VHS's. There was a shelf with many books to read and a few board games (monopoly, scrabble, chess). Eat in kitchen was a touch small but not uncomfortable. It was just a little difficult walking around the table when people were seated trying to get to sink and fridge. Kitchen had coffee & tea making facilitiies, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, microwave, gas stove, all the kitchen utensils, pots, pans and cutlery you needed. There is a back underroof outdoor eating area with a day bed and BBQ. Our cottage also had a detached room with a very large spa bath which was great to unwind after a long day out with the kids. A bit impractical being unattached to the cottage but not too impractical not to use...and well worth using. Look out the back window and chances are you'll see kangaroos, kookaburras and many other birdlife. We even saw a fox one afternoon as well as a very long goanna. It is only a 7 min drive to lake Conjola and 7 mins to Milton where there is an IGA supermarket, a few cafes, a few restaurants and various other stores. I recommend taking a 40 min drive to Hyams Beach which is known for having the whitest sand in the world. There is a vegetable garden which the host invited us to help ourselves which had many vegetables and herbs. I would definately recommend staying

Room Tip: Ask for the spa cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoccoinOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwigirl11, Owner at Milton Country Cottages, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate the effort you have made to let us know about your stay with us. In response to your review we have replaced the dining table with a smaller one as the previous one was a bit too big for the space. This kind of feedback helps us to continue to improve. Thanks again.
Carol and Kees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed in the Pavilion - two large bedrooms, each with its own ensuite. A compact lounge/dining/kitchen area provides all the basics. What made the stay memorable was the warm welcome of host, Carol, and the generous and thoughtful provisions for breakfast etc, and the peaceful, natural surroundings populated with local wildlife.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.k.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed in the Pavillion which has two lovely roomy bedrooms with ensuites and a small T.V. & DVD player in each room.

There are also electric blankets. The "Kitchen" area is very small and only has a microwave inside and a BBQ outside to use for cooking. As we only stayed for a few nights this was not a great problem for us.

There is no wood fire but we had re-verse air conditioning which heated the room up very quickly. The owners are lovely and provide some wondeful touches such as dressing robes & slippers.

The area is teeming with wildlife to watch and it is a very relaxing place to stay.

We can also recommend the food from "The Kitchen" in Milton.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueSheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwigirl11, Owner at Milton Country Cottages, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Our 3 cottages have wood fires, spa baths and full kitchens with dishwashers. We are pleased to have confirmation that our garden pavilion is still very nice accommodation without these things. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

This stay was our second visit to Milton Country Cottages and we recommend it for a peaceful and relaxing stay. Comfortable self catering accommodation with friendly and hospitable owners and generous breakfast basket provided. A short drive to Milton and beaches on South Coast. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smallford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Just a short drive from Milton and Lake Conjola. The stay was great with a stove fire, full kitchen and great shower and two person spa. The stay comes with a breakfast hamper which has bread, yoghurt, eggs, cereal, milk etc. Everything you need for breakfast. The cottages are surrounded by forest, making it a very peaceful and secluded getaway.

The only bad point I can find is that the blind is a little thin and it was very bright in the morning.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wintered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yatte Yattah
18.5 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bannisters by the sea
Bannisters by the sea
#1 of 8 in Mollymook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
7.9 mi away
Harbour View Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Milton Bed and Breakfast
19.0 mi away
Sanddancers
Sanddancers
#1 of 4 in Vincentia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
20.0 mi away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milton Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milton Country Cottages

Property: Milton Country Cottages
Address: 83 Egans Farm Lane, Yatte Yattah, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2539, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Yatte Yattah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yatte Yattah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Milton Country Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A multi-award winning rural retreat offering architect-designed self-contained cottages in a beautiful 12 acre (4 hectares) bush setting. Garden with wild kangaroos, wallabies and beautiful native birds. Huge sunny verandas, spa baths, kitchens with dishwashers. Peaceful and private. A few minutes drive to some of the best beaches in Australia and the historic village of Milton with its interesting cafes, restaurants, boutiques and galleries as well as to the Rick Stein restaurant at Bannisters. Prices include a generous breakfast hamper, complementary port and access to our movie library. Free parking and WiFi access. On-site pottery and gallery with lessons available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Milton Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing