We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing for Mining Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Western Heritage Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Moranbah
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed in most motels in Moranbah most small rooms car spaces that are near impossible to drive into and open your door.Well lucky enough to stay at the Western Heritage covered car right outside door easy access . The rooms are big and roomy wifi free KING SIZE BEDS office chair and well lit desk big comfortable armchair reverse cycle split system aircondioning...Thought for a change would try the restaurant.. Walked into the bar was greeted with a big hello and had a drink at the bar.. They offered to let me order the meal from the bar and sit down when it was ready ...Much better when u are on your own so chatted to the staff and found out they have just refurbished all the rooms.. Now the menu was hard for a change it was which one to pick the choices were so good and varied..Some Thai dishes but it came down to rib-on -the-bone or duck with orange sauce.Had the duck cooked to perfection and scrummy sauce.
I will be back for the Rib and will make sure to book in advance[free wifi]
Good on u Western Heritage I do not mind paying for quality and good friendly service..

Room Tip: try the DUCK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 27 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

The room was clean and tidy, new digital television with ALL free to air channels. Foxtel channels difficult to find and poor quality. The bathroom could do with an update, looks like it was designed by the 70's. Food in the "restaurant" way overpriced. Even the excuse of distance doesn't explain the price and poor quality of the food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drwormau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west117, Owner at Western Heritage Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2016

This review was so right and now we have new management renovated the place we would welcome u back again to review us.The bathroom was designed in the nineties and was very tired our new bathrooms with rainwater showers are getting great reviews the foxtel is now digital and easy to find.
Thankyou for your comments .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Just phoned up to book accomadation with the Western heritage Moranbah, the guy who answered th phone was rude to me would not answer any questions all he would say is its 180 per night if want a room go to our website and book it yourself, mate my company is paying and we wanted to stay for 2 weeks in a room each so do the maths you just lost alot of income for being rude so we will stay next door at the Motor inn who answer the phone with hello not the rude pile of crap you dish out get manners or get someone else to answer your phone who has some.

Room Tip: Didnt even get in the door due to rude bloke on the phone.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
4  Thank Lance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west117, Owner at Western Heritage Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2016

The management changed not long after your comments.I would hope our new staff would be more accommodating and from recent reviews it seems so. Your comments was the catalyst to change many things . I hope u get the chance to review us again.
Thankyou Lance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

An overpriced room for an overpriced town. The room was clean, with air-con and a large TV, but it was not worth the price for a single night

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnnosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west117, Owner at Western Heritage Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2017

Trip advisor is impossible to contact. This review and the other two written were exact copies of another reviewer. I reported both reviews as suspicious the other review was removed[ and it had written many others] but this one which only had 3 reviews has not .Trip advisor please explain to me what happened and why this one should be still here and the account also has been inactive for many years.Lift your game Trip Advisor,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Neat , clean , basic.
Tea coffee facilities only. Mini bar. Fridge. Would stay again. In centre of town.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GorgeousCouple7079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

We got a great rate through wotif for a standard queen room, though we were given a twin (not that I'm complaining at all!). The "block" containing our room a collection of separate free standing buildings, each housing 2 rooms with double carports attached which made for a quiet stay.

The room itself was clean, comfortable & modern, with split system air conditioning, a large LCD TV, digital TV & Austar, a reasonable size desk for business travelers, small dining table & chairs, mini bar and a full size bath with shower over in the bathroom.

There was a very small concreted area out the back which served as a patio (for us smokers) although there was no outdoor furniture, and there was only room for both of the dining chairs if one of you sat in the hot exhaust air from the split system unit also on the patio. The only other option was to move out of the shade & into the small grassy area beyond or stand in the front carport with no privacy, but it's certainly fine for short stays.

My only real complaints would be that the restaurant is closed Saturday nights, also no room service that night either, so no dinner available at the hotel on a Saturday night unless you order in take away from elsewhere. T here's also no breakfast available on a Sunday morning on site either. And if you're staying on the weekend, and planning on packing your own breakfast,t here were just coffee mugs & a teaspoon in the room so I'd recommend packing some basic cutlery & crockery too. However, the hotel is in an excellent location, just a short walk from several dining options (including China's Restaurant - best spring rolls ever!), so it's definitely not a major downside.

With friendly, helpful staff more typical of a small country town hotel that wants your repeat business, rather than your typical mining town hotel that doesn't need it, I would definitely stay there again & would happily recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MorbidTish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

i travel to moranbah for the races 3 times a year with my staff and they always look forward to going.
the hard part for the boys is to decide on what meals to order such a nice range and all quality food

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pearmackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moranbah hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Moranbah Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Moranbah
16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Direct Hotels - Monterey Moranbah
0.2 mi away
Oaks Moranbah
Oaks Moranbah
#2 of 6 in Moranbah
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Moranbah Outback Motel
Moranbah Outback Motel
#4 of 6 in Moranbah
5 reviews
0.5 mi away
Black Nugget Hotel Motel
Black Nugget Hotel Motel
#5 of 6 in Moranbah
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Coal Country Caravan Park
#3 of 6 in Moranbah
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Heritage Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Heritage Motor Inn

Address: 1 Mills Ave, Moranbah, Queensland 4744, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Moranbah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Moranbah
Price Range: $82 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Western Heritage Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel was designed with the Business man in mind .All suites have desk and office chair King size beds and Rainwater Showers.The property is built around a 15 metre pool with a resort type atmosphere. Larger rooms with a separate are ideal for families or visiting sporting bodies ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Western Heritage Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing