We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a joke.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Malagas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malagas Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Malagas B&B and Inns
Noordhoek, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a joke.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I can certainly understand why this hotel does not have any stars. The rooms and hotel decor are dated and hasn't been spring cleaned for a very long time. The towells are brown and tread bare( it was once white). The shower does not have a head and the shower curtain, wow... There are old dirt on the furnishings in the dining hall as well as the breakfast area. The list goes on and on.

Why would you have a wine list and also add the wines that you do not have stock of on the list? The food is of a very low standard and the self-serve dinner is very disorganised, to say the least. The table cloths are dirty and did not even get changed while I was there.

All in all it was very disappointing that they cannot even supply a fridge to the rooms and you need to be a bar-fly to survive there. I will never be back and can certainly not recommend this hotel to anyone, not even my enemies.

Room Tip: Stay far, far away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malagas H, Manager at Malagas Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We value the opinions of our guests, It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I wish you would have addressed this with us while you were staying at the Hotel.
We are situated in a concervancy area and therefore most activities are outside, Unfortunately it was very windy over that weekend which make it unpleasant and for safety reasons we could not let canoes or small boats out.
We are in the process of upgrading, yet still want to keep the quaint country style.
We did get positive feedback from our other guests regarding their stay and in particular the Dinner, again it is unfortuante that it was not up to your expectaion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    33
    18
    10
    15
See reviews for
23
38
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

After reading the vastly contradicting reviews about this establishment, my curiosity was piqued and I decided to overnight there out of season. My husband and I went in with very few expectations since we were interested in the quality of service we could expect since we considered the rates (inclusive of dinner and breakfast) to be low in comparison to other establishments.

The service we received was typical of a country hotel and if you expected the usual luxuries associated with hotels, you'll be disappointed. Our room and en-suite bathroom were dated, and some items had been well used and could be replaced (yes, that shower curtain) but importantly everything was clean.

Then when it came to meals we found the dinner to be satisfactory and the portions decent- sized. A substantial breakfast was served on the enclosed patio with a river view.

All in all, I felt I got value for money and would definitely return there as this is one of the more affordable places in this scenic part of the Breede River.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol7337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

A very laid back time, a trip back in time, peaceful and pleasant. Good value for money. Will go back again to escape the madding crowd. Don't expect 5 star, it is a family hotel in a very rural setting. Good base to visit Cape Infanta. And enjoy the pont trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neale P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We telephoned the hotel to ask directions they told us it was 40km Capetown side of Swellendam yes it was but they failed to tell us it was 38km off road , my car is a old car but in very good condition but the off road did not help.
The hotel advertise boat trips but as we were the only two people staying that night no boat trip, The swimming pool was out of order and the reception said I could go in the river as being. Disabled this was not to good advise .
The evening meal which was a set meal was at very low standard ,so we left the next morning and should have stayed a second night which we had payed in advance .
We will not be going back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malagas hotels

Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2009

Our stay started out with a very nice dinner in the hotel`s restaurant. The discracefull looking showercurtain was the first bad taste in the mouth. The (white) towels looked brownish and we were told it is due to the fact that it`s being washed with riverwater!! The pillows and mattress on the bed resulted in a terrible backache. During the night you could here the neighbour snoring next door! Outside it was just as bad - the grass was long and the grounds were unsave for children due to flood damage not yet completely repaired. When complaining to the reception, we were met with a very unfriendly and unprofessional lady who later came to apologize for her behaviour. When on holiday you want to relax AND get value for money - definitely not possible in this hotel!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rrrmCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malagas
21.2 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
15.6 mi away
The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge
78.4 mi away
Tides River Lodge
Tides River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malagas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Aloe Ridge Self Catering
Aloe Ridge Self Catering
#5 of 25 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
18.2 mi away
Kwetu Guest Farm
Kwetu Guest Farm
#4 of 25 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
16.7 mi away
Whale Watchers Inn
Whale Watchers Inn
#1 of 2 in Witsand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malagas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malagas Hotel

Property: Malagas Hotel
Address: Plot 153 | Main Road, Malagas 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Malagas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Malagas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malagas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malagas Hotel is a family friendly country hotel situated on the banks of the mighty Breede River.This is where time slows down to give you the relaxation and peace you need for a restful stay. In summer cool off by the pool or enjoy a refreshing drink on the terrace, in the colder winter evenings warm up by the fire in the Dining room or Moxie's Pub.Our meals included in the Dinner, Bed and Breakfast rate consists of a Full South African Breakfast and a hearty Table d'Hote Dinner, try our selection of vintage wines to accompany your meal.This tranquil setting within the Lower Breede River Conservancy area attracts a vast diversity of bird life. One of which is the Protected Blue Crane (National Bird of South Africa) which can be spotted on the gravel road winding through the farmlands leading to the hotel.Facilities include: Canoes, Small Motor Boat, Swimming pool, Trampolines, Jungle Gym, Croquet, Volley Ball, Pool Table, Darts, Children's Lounge, Adult Lounge, Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malagas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing