We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Genuine Balinese familykitchen”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Warung Jegeg

Warung Jegeg
Ranked #7 of 66 Restaurants in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Informal dining of delicious BALINESE INDONESIAN and WESTERN FOOD at any time of the day, from 8am to 10pm. We provide takeout and delivery as well. Our speciality is a BALINESE COOKING CLASS with WAYAN!
Nysted, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Genuine Balinese familykitchen”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Mrs. Wayan and her daughter warmly welcomes you at any time and serves delicious Balinese courses designed for your special wishes. You can choose hothot, medium or light spiced. Everything is made from basic, so you should just lean back and enjoy a cold beer or any home made juice while waiting for your excellent food. Furnitures and surroundings are simple, but the atmosphere is really relaxed. Prices are very low, so you will really get value for your money.
In addition Wayan is able to arrange any excursion to any place on the Island for small money,
You can also participate in her cooking class during the daytime, starting with a visit to the local market to buy fresh ingrediens for your favorite meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Steffen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    65
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hydeaway Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss this food!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Set back off the main road in Lovina next to the Library , this unassuming -looking Warung serves very delicious food made with love and dedication by the loveliest woman, Wayan. Lots of choice on the menu, she also runs cooking classes with print-out recipes which are fun and enjoyable, like any time spent in her warm and intelligent presence. We returned to eat here frequently , and arranged a special 70th birthday dinner for my husband, much enjoyed by everyone with gorgeous food! Great value for money.
Wayan also offers a tourist booking service, motor bike hire and can arrange for trips with a confident and skilful driver who, like her speaks good English.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cooking class / kochkurs”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

hi, we enjoy the cooking course at 13.2.2013 (200.000 rp/person incl the igredients)cooked: tempe bumbu bali, tempe bumbu manis, uruban and pepes ikan. it was a great experience! the meal after the cooking was to much to eat for two persons, but we tried our best :)
wir haben den kochkurs im warun genossen! die besitzerin wayan hat alles sehr gut und einfach erklärt. wir durften vorher auf den markt, gemeinsam kochen und alles aufessen. es hat nur 200.000rp/pers. inkl. der zutaten gekostet. empfehlenswert!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank zeycan_oezden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cooking class, delicious meals!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My friend stopped by Wayan's sweet restaurant one evening while exploring and brought me back the next day for a cooking class. Wayan herself is a warm soul with a really lovely, casual attitude about cooking. We joined her at 8:30 am for a trip to the local market, just a short walk down the street. We had picked out our menu the night before and she had the shopping list ready. We wandered the market and she selected the ingredients, as well as a tasty breakfast of savory yellow rice, which we enjoyed back at the restaurant with kopi Bali (Balinese-style coffee). We returned later in the day to prepare the four-dish dinner we had selected earlier (we each had two dishes, and could pick more for a bit more money - but two dishes more than feeds one person - and four dishes between two was a pretty generous serve). We cooked up our dishes together - she had mostly prepped the ingredients - we just had a little dicing and grating to do, and then came the cooking, which involved grilling (satay) and sauteeing (all the other dishes). There were some interesting techniques she used to steam the noodles and use minimal pots - I learned a lot watching her. I'd say the dishes we picked - Mee Goreng, Satay Babi Bumbu Bali (pork satay with Balinese sauce), Ayam Kcap (steamed chicken in sweet sauce - a big hit!) and Tempeh Curry - were fairly simple, so it was overall more fun than challenging for me. But it opened some things up for my friend, and I think he might just feel more confident about trying new dishes. It's a great class for beginners to learn some basic techniques and great for a foodie to see an accomplished cook and how she moves around the kitchen and her hands-on techniques. I saw just how hot the wok had to be to do what she did (my weakness is daring to let the wok get THAT hot) and watching her handling of the food. Watching someone chop vegetables can be a great learning experience, if you watch closely! I recommend both cooking classes and just enjoying a meal or two there and chatting with the lovely Wayan.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank katushka65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect cooking lessons & food”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My friend found this lovely warung and the most beautiful, warm and welcoming host Wayan completely randomly! Later on we had a lot of authentic and super tasty meals and ended cooking ourselves on the other day!
If in Lovina, make sure you will not miss the delightfull tastes of Balines cuisine and learning some tricks of cooking from the most amazing Wayan and her team & family!
Many thanks Wayan and take care!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Grikis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Jegeg also viewed

 
Kaliasem, Lovina Beach
 

Been to Warung Jegeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing