We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really wonderful experience!”
Review of The Lovina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lovina
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2014

My parents, my brother and I stayed at The Lovina Bali during the Chinese New Year break.
We were looking to have a relaxing week and that is exactly what we got.
All the staff members were very nice and did everything they could to have our needs met.
Our room, a two-bedroom Terrace Beach Villa was great! It was very spacious and we had a pool all to ourselves.
The Spa was simply wonderful. The restaurant and beach bar had a nice mix of international and local foods.
The hotel offers some interesting tour options of Bali. A highlight for me was the opportunity to swim with dolphins.
We spend my father's birthday there and the Spa staff got him a cake.
I would really recommend The Lovina for everyone who wants a relaxing stay and great service.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Terrace Beach Villa and it was wonderful.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carithebookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thelovina, Director of Sales at The Lovina, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Carithebookworm

Greetings from THE LOVINA.
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.
It was a pleasure reading that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I look forward to welcoming you back here. :)

Best regards

Sandra Mackowiak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
There are newer reviews for The Lovina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 928 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

What an outstanding place to stay!
Where to begin! The rooms were immaculate and very spacious with everything you could possibly need in the self contained apartment style accommodation with an exceptional pool shared private pool to match. The staff were outstanding, very polite and speak very good English. Not once did i walk past without a friendly greeting! If you're worried about where to eat I honestly wouldn't bother leaving because the restaurant and bar food was so delicious (the beef burger is highly recommended). Also, having the main pool area and beach combined just ties the whole place together in a way that you'll never want to leave. If you're looking for a Bali style holiday without all the hustle and bustle of Kuta, this is definitely the place to be!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Addz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thelovina, Director of Sales at The Lovina, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Hello Addz28

Greetings from THE LOVINA.
Thank you so much for this wonderful review.
I'm happy to hear you ejoyed your stay with us.

Best regards
Sandra Mackowiak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed and it was an unforgettable week. The location is peaceful and quite with the locals being very friendly people. The hotel itself is beautiful with its multiple pools and being right on the beach! The staff are attentive and friendly and with so many activities to chose from! Highly recomended!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dalemartin92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thelovina, Director of Sales at The Lovina, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear dalemartin92

THANK YOU for choosing THE LOVINA for you stay in Lovina and thank you also for your review here on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted to hear to enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sandra Mackowiak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Over the New years break (2013), my friends and I travelled to Bali and were keen to head up north to see what the town of Lovina was all about. With amazing beach front setting it was a given that we had a blast and didnt want to leave! The Professionalism of the staff and the way the resort was run made the experience all that extra special! The staff truly were amazing, and the 24 hour room service became a close friend of ours! (highly recommend the beef burger and satay pizza!) Being young adults we were afraid that we were going to run out of things to do in the rain, however the activities the hotel provided such as kayaking, snorkelling at near by reefs, dolphin siting, and transportation to anywhere we desired in town or even activities such as visiting the waterfalls, we found ourselves having plenty to do! Its a great option to get a way from the busy south and relax and to really take in the nature and way of life that surounds you! Couldn't recommend this resort enough! Cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the mountain view apartments which are one of the smallest in the resort, however with...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbug667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thelovina, Director of Sales at The Lovina, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Hi Travelbug667

Warm greetings from THE LOVINA.
Thank you for this great review. It was truly a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sandra Mackowiak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I can be a very fussy traveller and will admit that I find fault easily, but this hotel is amazing. I was a bit concerned with a few of the negative reports but honestly I don't know what they expect. We stayed with our three daughters and the suite was enormous modern and very clean. I have stayed in some of the best hotels in Bali and this is definitely up the top with them. It's small but not too small. The staff are very friendly and make you feel at home. Some of them have limited English , but its rural Bali and not their first language and we are visitors to their country!!. They make up for it by being helpful, honest and kind.

The area is very quiet and traditional, if you walk 10 mins down the road there are little restaurants that sell meals for $1.75. If you are looking to see real Bali, have a quiet time where you will not be bothered constantly by hawkers and stay in an amazing hotel, then stay here because you cant go wrong. We all LOVED the place.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor as they are right next to the pool
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redrover66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thelovina, Director of Sales at The Lovina, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Hi redrover66

THANK YOU VERY MUCH for this wonderful review.
It was a pleasure reading it. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at THE LOVINA this much.
It's true, in here you will find "Bali, the way it was meant to be." ;)
Referring to the limited English from some of our staff: We try to give our applicants, regardless of their background, a change to work in our hotel. Therefore some of our staff have limited hospitality and English skills. However, with regular trainings and English classes provided from the hotel, we are looking forward to improve our competence.
Once again thank you for this review.

Sandra Mackowiak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Was just passing through and but was so glad we stopped for lunch beautiful pool setting and on a gorgeous beach the seafood is a must have the prawns were huge mie goreng next to the one I had in Ubud was amazing very pricey accommodation though but would love to had stayed

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank badguysb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thelovina, Guest Relations Manager at The Lovina, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Hi badguysb

Thank you for your comment about our good food here. I'm glad you liked it.
Look forward to welcoming you back as our guest.

Kind regards
Sandra Mackowiak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was blinded by the reviews of this hotel. Stayed from Dec29 to Jan1. There were no standard regulations when it comes to upgrading fees and payments for the dolphin-ride. It's almost like you are bargaining fish in a busy market place. When we finished the dolphin-ride, we were asked to pay directly to the dolphin tour-operator. When we checked out, I was billed again by the hotel for the dolphin ride and told them we were asked to pay right after the dolphin tour. They had to call up the tour operator and eventually told me that by right, payments should be made in the front desk. No coordination among themselves.

Room that we booked was good, spacious and steps away from the pool. It just felt like there was not enough lights to illuminate the room (they used soft-halogen lights). Probably adding lights on the kitchen sink would be good especially when you are preparing something in the kitchen. Yes, it had a kitchenette and a living room and have most of the kitchen utensils almost complete. Beds were comfortable. Surprisingly, they don't have complimentary toothbrushes (just a note) but it didn't really matter.

The food was good but there were times that the food didn't look like the way they described on their menu. Try ordering fish and chips and you will get a fish-fingers (nugget)-type of meal with fries (looking like a kids meal in Mcdonalds). If not for the staff who were always ready to help and smiling, this hotel won't make it. Denny (the front desk supervisor) was excellent with helping me with my concerns and was very knowledgable and articulate.

The beach shore was dirty. Corals, a shoe, stones big and small seaweeds and other things. It seems to be they have not been cleaning at least the shore and I even had a chat with one of the guests and also mentioned that. End up didn't swim in the beach during the duration of our stay and opted for the pool instead.

The horrible experience we had was the driver they arranged for us going to the airport. I have planned a 2 hour allowance apart from the 3 hour travel from Lovina to the airport just in case we get stuck in traffic in Denpasar. When we reached Denpasar, as expected, there was a bumper to bumper traffic going to the airport. My husband and I were calm but the driver was not. He panicked from the traffic plus knowing it will really be late for him to reach Lovina, he gave us a suggestion TWICE that we should just go down and take the motorcycles going to the airport! It was the most horrible time of our trip! We had 3 luggages, drizzling and no hotels around and he's asking us to take a motorcycle to the airport!

With the price I paid in a small town as Lovina (600usd almost for 3 nights), It's overpriced and not worth it. I should've stayed in a real 5 star hotel in nusa dua or kuta and travel to see the Lovina dolphins than stay in this overpriced 3 star hotel. If not for the dolphins and the friendly and helpful staff, I could've rated this hotel as terrible.

Room Tip: The 3 bedroom villas seems to be better than any other rooms in the hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Izzowizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thelovina, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Lovina, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Izzowizzo

Thank you for taking your time to post a detailed comment here on tripadvisor.
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not as per your expectation.

We are absolutely shocked to hear about your experience with the driver. This is unacceptable. We are currently following up this case including drastic consequenses for the driver.

Thank you also for your positive comments on our rooms and our great staff. As you noticed, we are one of the very little hotels that provide fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes in most of the rooms. Your idea to install additional lights is well noted and will be further discussed. Thank you for this input.
Toothbrushes, cotton buts, cotton wool, a comb as well as shampoo, shower, conditioner and body lotion are part of our amenities and should have been setted up together with the daily complimentary water bottles in your room. If this wasn’t the case, we apoligise.
Actually we have very strict standard regulations when it comes to our tour and travel activities. We have a fixed price for our dolphin-tour and there shouldn’t be any bargaining. Payments are always to be made to our front desk, repectively written on the room bill and paid upon check out but never to the tour operator directly.

We are glad you liked the taste of our food, even the display was not to your expectation. The fish & chips are part of our quick-bite lunch menu and we prepare the fish following the traditional recipe deep fried served with french fries.

We have a daily beach cleaning team for our private beachfront and we initiate regular beach cleaning sessions together with the other hotels along the beach until the city. However, seadirt like corals and seaweed is especially during the rainy season increased.

Thank you for all your comments which already has been discussed with all department heads in a separate meeting. Once again we apologise for all inconveniences you experieced during your stay. As a relative newly opened hotel (August 2012) we are still in the process of learning and always willing to improve ourselves.
We do hope you will give us the opportunity to regain your trust and present to you our betterments during your next stay in Bali.

Kind Regards
Sandra Mackowiak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lovina Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
813 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#5 of 23 in Lovina Beach
544 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#10 of 23 in Lovina Beach
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort
1.8 mi away
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
#11 of 23 in Lovina Beach
140 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#9 of 23 in Lovina Beach
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lovina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovina

Address: Jl. Mas Lovina | Kalibukbuk, 81151, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lovina Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lovina Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range: $110 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lovina 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two and half hours drive from the hustle and bustle of the South,you will enjoy a relaxing Bali holiday. The Lovina comprises 66 luxury suites and villas, built around lush tropical gardens And designed in a modern contemporary Bali theme. With 200 meters of absolute beach front, in the heart of the picturesque coastal village of Lovina, The Lovina is an easy walk to shops, bars and restaurants. Catch the legendary sunset over the Bali Sea, whilst sipping a cocktail at the Beach Bar, or a romantic dinner on the beach. The Villas at The Lovina, comprise 16 luxury pool villas, completely private, yet with full access to all The Lovina resort facilities. These include, the Heliconia Restaurant, The Body Tonic Spa, Beach Bar, Fitness Studio and Kids Club. The Villas have the best of both worlds, security and privacy yet full access to everything. All villas are appointed to 5 star standard, each luxurious bedroom has it's own bathroom and, of course, they have massive living rooms and full kitchens. The tropical gardens and private swimming pools complete the picture. The Villas comprise 2 bedroom, 3 bedroom, up to our magnificent 4 bedroom Grand Beach Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Lovina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lovina Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing