We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newer & Clean, more break in time needed.”
Review of The Lovina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lovina
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We enjoyed our 3 day stay at this combination beach resort / investment property.
While the facilities were only 6 months old and clean, the staff was still lerning the ropes...especially the kitchen staff.
The breakfast included with the room rate was OK but sparse. service was always oustanding and everyone tried very hard. Give the chef another 6 months and the meals & presentation should be up to expectations for the price.
The beach and pool bar are the major attractions.
We are also dissapointed that management did not upgrade us one level given the total lack of other occupants....litterally empty?

Also, for those needing a transport from Denpasar to the north shore we highly recommend a knowledgeable, english speaking driver & car; I. Made Arka, Ubud, phone 0361-972-695.

Room Tip: if you can afford it worth whuile to get a pool or beach view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DDutch01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thelovina, General Manager at The Lovina, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear DDutch01.

We are happy to hear that your enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Your valuable feedback is important to ensure that we continually improve our service and facilities, in order to deliver our service commitment to all of our guests.
I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the disappointment you had .
Since you request to reserve a room on higher floor therefore we accommodate you in Mountain View Suite Gold 2nd floor.

We hope that there will be another opportunity for us to renew your experience at The Lovina-Bali, when you travel back to Bali in the future.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
There are newer reviews for The Lovina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

538 - 544 of 928 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was an amazing place to stay for a relaxing getaway. Its quiet away from all the craziness, and the town itself has the best food I have eaten in Indonesia. I went with a few friends so we decided to stay in a private villa. Best idea! the villa was amazing, it was hard to leave. we had our own private pool and kitchen, and still all the access to the hotels amenities. I cant wait to get back. The staff at the Lovina are fantastic, they will go out of there way to help you, weather it be with things to do in Lovina and tours or spending some time at their spa. The hotel itself is beautiful. the grounds are big and green and everything is spacious and modern. The breakfast is delicious and to be able to sit by the pool and beach to eat it is just a wonderful way to start the day. one thing that caught my eye on arrival was the pizza oven, and im glad it did. The pizzas at the hotel were amazing, up there with the best i have eaten. if you love thin crust pizza its a defiante must try! Overall our stay was excellent and we are still talking about the villa months later. I would and already have recommended this hotel to anyone going to Bali.

Room Tip: if you are travelling with a few people or family look into the private villas.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank r0cky87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Lovina is an ideal destination if you're looking for a quiet place away from the crowds at Kuta, Legian and Seminyak.
My husband and I recently spent a week there and were not disappointed. Our room was very clean, modern and spacious and the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating.It didn't take long to relax - which was certainly our main aim!
The Body Tonic spa was fantastic value for money and the dolphin watching trip was really enjoyable.
Lovina does take 2.5-3 hours to reach from Denpasar airport and the beach beside the resort is quite dirty. But the area is definitely cheaper than Bali's south and does still have a local charm. Best of all, you don't get hassled by touts selling sarongs and sunglasses! It ticked all of the boxes for us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was an island of peace after Denpasar and Ubud! Never have we met more helpful and friendlier staff. To mention in particular Ricky the bartender (who was not only at the bar but simply everywhere at all times, ready to help). Also Andy, the pizzaolo, is a treasure, but then really everybody is outstanding. The food was very nice, especially the veggie spring rolls and Andy's specialties! And treat yourself to a super massage at the very clean, beautiful and not at all expensive hotel Spa. At a very decent rate (negotiate!) we had a beautiful spacious room with living and kitchen and a little terrace next to the huge pool, that unfortunately is so warm that it is not refreshing at all. The owner may also want to add a second air condition to the room, since the one installed in the bedroom has no effect whatsoever on the big living room.
We did not swim in the sea but it's probably OK, let's hope the water quality is better in Lovina beach than in Denpasar. We had just read in the local newspaper that tests in carious places revealed unacceptably high levels of mercury and other highly toxic stuff! Not encouraging indeed.
Also the beaches next to the very clean one of the hotel are filthy and full of waste. Some local authority has to do something about it if they want to continue having tourists.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room with sea view and try to get a promotional rate! We did not take breakfast in...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thelovina, General Manager at The Lovina, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Doris A,

Thank you for your kind review.
Our staff were very pleased to read your comments.
In regards to the room, we plan to install a second air-conditioner in the living room.
We look forward to welcoming you back at The Lovina in the near future.

warm regards,
The Lovina-Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Peaceful place for more private times with your spouse. The staff made us feel at home as they are very approacable and most friendly. Accomodation was superb equipped with a large living room, kitchen with complete set of utensils, microwave and refrigerator - perfect for families who spent a longer stay. Whether you are having a room facing the ocean or the mountain (paddy field), both are equally spectacular. While there's no walking distant restaurants, the hotel provided shuttle services (to & fro) to places nearby - so, I would still consider this a great location.

Must try is the services of the SPA - very professional and the staff at the SPA will ensure you have the right SPA treatment before it starts. One very commendable staff is the Manager of the SPA who was more than happy to please customers like me and ensure I have my massage at 8 pm though the SPA closes at 6 pm !!!

One other amazing services is that you can have your breakfast anyway and anytime before 10.30 am. You can have breakfast packed while you're on the journey to watch the dolphins, or have breakfast delivered to your room or by the beach or simply have it next to the paddy field at the down to earth only restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawkkwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Had three days at the Lovina and found it to be, in general, a disappointment.

From the other reviews I thought that a stay here would be lovely. To start with the reception staff are really sweet and very welcoming. They provided a grand overview of the hotel and it's facilities and I was shown to my room.

I stayed in a mountain view platignum which was, like the rest of the hotel, lacking in warmth and beige. The plunge pool was not much bigger than a bath tub so don't be fooled. The outdoor bathroom is lovely with two lovely seats under a thatched umbrella. Complimentary shampoo etc was much appreciated. The housekeepers were wonderful, however the advised turndown service never happened during my stay. The pool was well maintained.

There isn't an awful lot to choose from at Lovina in terms of food and being a solo traveller I was inclined to eat at the hotel. The breakfast was generous. The food was just awful at the three meals I had at the beach and main restaurants. On two occasions the meals that I received were not as described on the menu - when an attempt was made to discuss this discrepancy with the waiter it seemed English comprehension was not there - meal was advertised with polenta - came with thin layer of potato - next dinner was shown on the menu as being accompanied by sweet potato and black pepper sauce - came with chips and ketchup - when you consider what the meals and beverages cost then there is cause for concern. A soda water cost 21000 Rph. with the cost in the local mini mart can be less than a quarter of this the hotel charge is significantly over the top.

The restaurants are beautifully situated - either close to the sand or with views of the rice paddies.

I asked for a dress to be cleaned which cost $8 and the linen dress came back folded in a plastic wrap - no iron in the room so basically I couldn't wear it as it looked like patchwork when unwrapped - further the dress was torn at the sleeve. Don't risk the laundry.

The gardens are some of the best I have seen in my many trips to Bali and I took some amazing shots.

My last comment would be that the mountain views are glorious. If you do have a trip to The Lovina and want one of the mountain view rooms I would suggest not the platinum as your view is a concrete wall on the other side of the pool - better off in one of the rooms on the floor above where the balcony would afford an amazing view of the rice paddies and the mountains.

I won't go back to the Lovina, it appears to have lots of outward show eg the gardens, rice fields, but the building are just like large concrete boxes and the rooms lack warmth - the food is awful and the staff, while really lovely and friendly, need more English and the menu certainly needs to be explained to those serving in the restaurant. If there is a menu change, discuss this with the hotel guest - don't just turn up with a plate which doesn't contain what the menu shows. Prices need to be reviewed across the board, costs in this hotel are way over the top.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sophieF8951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thelovina, General Manager at The Lovina, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Shopie,

Thank you for this feedback.
Most of our staff come from the local village without having a hospitality background.
We are giving them training including an English course program to improve their skills.
Your comments are of great value for us to use in improving our standards and quality of service in all areas of the resort, particularly in the restaurants.

Our laundry is outsourced and we are looking into the issues you mentioned. Irons are available from housekeeping on request.
We sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations.

Best regards,
The Lovina -Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

On the north coast, away from much of the hustle & bustle of the south, this area and The Lovina Resort offered a most relaxing holiday. The accomodation was excellent, the staff were the most friendly and accommodating I have ever experienced in all my past travels throughout asia. The spa and restaurant were also first class. I would recommend this resort to anyone considering a trip to Bali, particularly those who prefer a quiter part of the island.

Room Tip: The villas are great and offer a private pool to relax in.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lovina Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
813 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#5 of 23 in Lovina Beach
544 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#10 of 23 in Lovina Beach
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort
1.8 mi away
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
#11 of 23 in Lovina Beach
140 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#9 of 23 in Lovina Beach
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lovina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovina

Address: Jl. Mas Lovina | Kalibukbuk, 81151, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lovina Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lovina Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range: $109 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lovina 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two and half hours drive from the hustle and bustle of the South,you will enjoy a relaxing Bali holiday. The Lovina comprises 66 luxury suites and villas, built around lush tropical gardens And designed in a modern contemporary Bali theme. With 200 meters of absolute beach front, in the heart of the picturesque coastal village of Lovina, The Lovina is an easy walk to shops, bars and restaurants. Catch the legendary sunset over the Bali Sea, whilst sipping a cocktail at the Beach Bar, or a romantic dinner on the beach. The Villas at The Lovina, comprise 16 luxury pool villas, completely private, yet with full access to all The Lovina resort facilities. These include, the Heliconia Restaurant, The Body Tonic Spa, Beach Bar, Fitness Studio and Kids Club. The Villas have the best of both worlds, security and privacy yet full access to everything. All villas are appointed to 5 star standard, each luxurious bedroom has it's own bathroom and, of course, they have massive living rooms and full kitchens. The tropical gardens and private swimming pools complete the picture. The Villas comprise 2 bedroom, 3 bedroom, up to our magnificent 4 bedroom Grand Beach Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Lovina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lovina Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing