We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious Get-away”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Damai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Damai
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious Get-away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

If you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of the resort areas on Bali, this is the place. From the private cottages to the gormet meals and outstanding service, Damaii rules. The great views, infinity pool and relaxed attmosphere more than make up for the somewhat isolated location in the foothils ouside Lovina. We only stayed for 2 nights but plan on staying longer on our next visit to Bali.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillandLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    75
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
127
493
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

Perfect gem of a resort with world-class dining and wonderful staff. Nothing is ever too much trouble with all the graceful men and women that look after the few (there’s only 12 villas) lucky guests that stay in this perfect little place. Villas are stunning, food is fantastic, and North Bali is just the perfect getaway, far from all the crowds. Great for food-lovers, lovers of culture, lovers of nature or just lovers.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

What a fantastic place! Everything is perfect here in this little paradise on the hill - the food, the service, the views and the villas. We had a villa with two bedrooms and two (!) swimming pools and felt like kings and queens - we definately didn't feel like leaving this wonderful place. Well be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courage4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

After a misserable time at The Datai it was amazing to arrive here. We were given a new pool villa. Wow! Wow! Wow! Amazing views, gorgeous design and attention to detail. And nothing like the cookie-cutter design of most Far East hotel rooms. Very personal, moody and atmospheric, full of the owners personal collection of artifacts and a real swimming pool. One of the absolute top villas we've ever stayed in and we've been lucky enough to stay in some exceptional places. Beds fab too. Terrific bathrooms. The food was immaginative and delicious and the staff were very sweet.

Didn't see inside the older villas. After seeing them from the outside I don't know if I would have been so impressed.

The spa, although the massages were good, needs some proper treatment rooms of the same quality as the new villas. At present they are just curtained-off rooms near the road so it was difficult to really relax. I'm sure they'll get around to it.

Met the Danish manager, Pia Marie, on leaving and wish we'd met her earlier. Absolutely lovely. She and her husband had designed the new villas so I would have loved to hear more. We'll have to do that next time. Thank you Damai and all the lovely staff we didn't have chance to say goodbye to. See you next time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baliboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

Damai is surronded by the most beatyful scenery. It was a great experience staying there - actually we did´nt leave the hotel area, because we found so much pleasure just by strolling around the paths, surronded by the beatyful lush gardens, getting great massage, eating great food and most importantly: Enjoying ourselves and relax!

Damai grows their own vegetables and spices, and creates fantastic meals out of it. I can recommend every course - but my favorites is the boullabaisse, the damai burger and their 7-course sundaybrunch! Every meal at damai is an experience.

Our poolvilla (with an infinity pool) was absolutely amazing and had the loveliest decorations. We felt at home the instant we walked in!

I´d like to say thank you to damai and it´s staff for giving my husbond and I an amazing experience! When we are going back to Bali we certainly are staying at Damai again. I hereby give Damai my warmest recommendations!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TanteLilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

I suppose that your opinion about the Damai will depend on which of the 13 or 14 villas you can afford. I stayed at the resort following the recommendation of a friend, but my friend is a captain of industry who no doubt stayed in a luxury villa with infinity pool, deep in the middle of the forest. I, on the other hand, a bankrupt hedge fund manager, had to do with one of the most affordable villas. It was cosy, nice and well appointed though, even if it didn't allow for total privacy. I liked the furniture, the fabrics and the gauguinesque feeling. The shower was outdoors (and there there was, yes, total privacy) beside a jacuzzi (which I didn't use because I think jacuzzis are for wimps). The restaurant of the resort is a beautiful place and you feel tat behind it there are people with a love of food - but I would recommend a lighter hand with the sauces and seasonings. I noticed also the great attitude of the front desk staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goncalo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

My wife and I just returned from our Honeymoon to Bali and had a great trip! One thing that stood out of the places we stayed at, was with out a doubt Damai, located in Lovina the northern part of Bali.

Damai is a small boutique hotel and consist of different villas. We stayed in a pool studio villa and it was absolutely amazing!! The pool was at a reasonable size, big enough to take a few strokes, but mostly to cool down in, when needed. It is an infinity pool overlooking the lush and green nature - really an amazing view!!

The villa was very clean and of course maintained every day. The bathroom is really nice, with a a very nice bathtub and a rainforrest shower outside, surrounded by flowers. The Villa's interior is Bali inspired with wooden furnitures and the bed is very comfortable sleeping in.
Also, you have your own butler at your service 24-7 for any request or wish. In general the staff was very very friendly and service was top notch! Another great service is that you can get picked up from your villa by a buggy (those golf cars) and be driven to the restaurant/reception. It only takes about 5 min to walk, but hey when you're on a vacation you tend to get lazy (I do... :-)

In the evening, the staff set out tables around the main pool for the guest to dine at and the surrounding trees are lit up with lights, which gives a very romantic and cosy feeling.
We tried the 6 course tasting menu at Damai and boy were we in for a treat!! Absolutely fantastic food that will spoil all your senses!! My wife had the Boulabaisse and I the Tenderloin steak :-) Damai uses a lot of the ingredients from their own organic garden, like tomatoes, aubergin e.g.

We also tried their "deep tissue" massage and again, really really nice! Among the top three places we had massage in Bali, for sure.

All in all, I can highly recommend Damai for honeymooners or anyone who just wants to spoile him/her self and relax big time! :-)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank perinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovina Beach
24.3 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
22.7 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
21.2 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#6 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#8 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Damai

Property: The Damai
Address: Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, 81161, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
The Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing