We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service but as they say - hard to find!”
Review of The Damai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Damai
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We spent 5 nights here with our 1 yr old son. Beautiful setting. Excellent service and definitely the best food we've had in Bali. Very peaceful. Had some great massages at the spa.
Car journey from the south is long and quite windy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussiexpat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at The Damai, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you very much for this review. We are glad you liked the food and spa treatments. I must agree that sometimes the journey up North can be a challenge for those that are prone for motion sickness. We do recommend guests to take motion sickness tablet 40 minutes before the journey to make the drive more comfortable and enjoy the scenic hotspots along the way.
Best Regards from the staff and management at The Damai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
There are newer reviews for The Damai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 813 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband and I travelled to the Damai from the US for our honeymoon. We saw great reviews and I am so glad that we stumbled across this hidden gem! Some friends who had been to Indonesia we're surprised that we weren't staying in the south, but we made the perfect choice for us.

When we arrived, the driver offered to stop at sites along the way to the hotel, but we were so anxious to get there after our flights that we went straight to the Damai. Service was excellent from the moment that we arrived. The resort is so small that everyone knows you and is able to help make your stay fantastic.

We loved the breakfasts every morning, especially the delicious variety of fresh fruits. Most days we planned an outing for the morning and came back to relax and swim in the afternoon. An absolute favorite trip was to the Sekumpul waterfalls. We trekked to the waterfall and back with a village guide. The views were breathtaking. This is an absolute must! All of the Damai organized trips were off the beaten path, so we felt like it was just us, and often it was! Another amazing excursion was trekking through the jungle and canoeing across a lake. (The activity list recommends shorts and sneakers, but really wished that we were in long pants and long sleeves like our guide.) The only disappointing excursion was the dolphin trip at Lovina beach. We didn't know until afterward that the dolphins don't come out if it rains the night before. Definitely something to keep in mind if you go during the rainy season like we did. Other than that, the quick showers didn't bother us at all.


We took advantage of the amazing spa services with two different massages each, as well as the free yoga. The scenery is beautiful and the massages were amazing! My husband is still trying to replicate the tea that they gave us after our spa sessions!

The resort itself is beautiful, from the gardens to the walkways to the rooms. Our room had an infinity pool, which we used every day. The tub and outdoor shower were also incredible. The only thing to look out for is keeping your lights on at night, as this will attract bugs inside. Most nights this wasn't a problem, but combined with rain outside, they really wanted somewhere to go. Luckily a call to the front desk resolved this fairly quickly and two staff members came to assist us. Neither of us are fond of bugs at all, but even for us this wasn't a big problem.

On our final day, the driver took us to a few stops before the airport. We enjoyed doing a little shopping in Ubud, but we're very glad that we hadn't stayed there. At the Damai we were secluded and needed their car to get around, but that was better for us than facing the crowds every day.

Room Tip: We stayed in Unah Naga. It was very large, with a beautiful outdoor shower, huge tub, and an amazing...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emilie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We are just back from a three perfect days in this great little hideaway. The rooms are perfectly laid out - we had a huge pool villa all to ourselves - with luxurious amounts of space and great personal touches, antiques and art. The restaurant is every bit as good as all the reviewers say - fresh, homegrown produce in inventive combinations with lots of flavor. They even have their own little farm where they breed rabbits, pigeons, ducks… and snails and crayfish! We cant wait to be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Batzi893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed at the Damai for 3 nights. It is a really lovely hotel set in the hills overlooking Lovina. Our villa had a great outdoor courtyard with a jacuzzi and day bed. Very peaceful. All of the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help us (we arrived with upset stomachs and the General Manager, Mr Menon, was so helpful, sending out staff to get us more medication). Overall this hotel has a lovely, warm and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We have just visited Damai for three nights and, although the season may not be the best, we had a fabulous stay for three nights in one of the studio villas with private pool. Amazing view from the pool where you could stay all day.
Everything including the garden is kept by an extremely firendly staff. The athmosphere is almost familiar without beeing intruding in any way.
The Damai is not new and it can be seen at certtain places especially in outside areas, but the rooms are lovely with nice furniture, artwork and delicate aesthetic sense to it all.
The food is a chapter of its own on the Damai. Every day changing a three course balinese menu in addition to a selection of a la carte menus.
This place is highly recommended - we hope to come back some day.
Becker/Backer

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Becker_Backer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We went late January 2014. Damai was just superb! We reach there quite late, around 8.30pm after our trip to the mountains from the airport. Check-in was a breeze. We were greeted by the receptionist and while waiting at the lounge, we were served Mojitea which was out of this world ! We all liked it very2 much. Then the Manager himself , Mr Menon, came to welcome us. That's nice... After a tiring day, he advised us to just order and eat-in, which was a good advice indeed. We had Umah Tirta with a private pool. Again, the villa was simply amazing. And the view from the villa in the morning...wow.. you have to be there to experience it. I can hear the sound of natural stream from our villa when I went out to the patio. The Villa has a nice and practical layout. In the morning , you can just stroll to your villa, after breakfast ( Nice breakfast with fresh local fruits) along the herbs garden. My only regret is staying there for just 2 nights. Wish we had stayed longer..Sighhhh.. Met a Canadian tourist who had stayed for 2 weeks already. I can understand why he is still there after 2 weeks. Will I go there again if I go to Lovina, Bali, definitely YES !!!

Room Tip: Choose Villa with a private pool.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrHasseenah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

A pretty oasis on top of a hill. We stayed in a deluxe villa, located close to the pool, bar and dining area. The hotel grounds are quite lovely, the staff are excellent - friendly without being intrusive or too formal. Our room was spacious, appealing and had a slightly Japanese feel about it. The room had an external spa/courtyard at the back, though you need to give 3 hours notice if you want a warm spa, no big deal for us as the external temp was hot enough. I liked the external shower too.

We appreciated the yoga on Sunday morning, which was really good - wish it was every day! The food, as others have noted is excellent, fresh and imaginative.

I have a couple of quibbles with the room (villas only I think), but the biggest is that the windows didn't open which meant you had to use the air conditioning all the time! There wasn't even the less energy consuming option of a ceiling fan. For hotels that claim to be eco-friendly, this doesn't really cut it. As others have mentioned, the verandah is really a porch so there's no where comfortable to sit and read outside your room. BUT the pool area is lovely for lounging around and reading.

The Damai's off the beaten track but really you'd go there to relax and hang out. Nearby Lovina warrants only a couple of hours exploration - and the hotel shuttle will take you there and back. We really enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: I think you can open the windows in the studios at the back of the property!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emstar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at The Damai, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you for this kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Damai. Yes, the deluxe villas have a low ceiling and hence fan was never an option. Windows is nice but being in a mountain where you are surrounded by flora and fauna, this could probably encourage more insects in to the room which would make your stay uncomfortable. The Jacuzzi, is not heated by electricity and by gas cylinders which is why it takes 2-3 hours for the water to be heated. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Damai and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Regards from all the staff and management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovina Beach
24.3 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
200 reviews
22.7 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#3 of 10 in Payangan
902 reviews
24.7 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#5 of 23 in Lovina Beach
544 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#10 of 23 in Lovina Beach
310 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 23 in Lovina Beach
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Damai

Address: Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, 81161, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range: $128 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
The Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing