We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great getaway”
Review of The Damai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Damai
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014

If rejuvenation is what you are looking for, then The Damai should be your choice! It's tranquil setting, facilities and friendly staff really made our (group of seven) stay memorable.

The Damai provides for a very relaxing holiday through its yoga and spa sessions, and for the more adventurous among us, a boat ride will take you on 'dolphin sighting' trips.

The resort serves a wide variety of food and an abundance of fresh fruits, and service is fast.

The Damai, being a relatively small resort, gives you a homely feel.

Mrs. R. Panickar




  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Panickat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 848 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

for the second time we stayed for 4 days at Damai, it was again relaxed, excellent food, the service is high and the view from the naga master room is amazing. My three children also loved the place, the Spa was also very relaxing. Our next trip to Bali we will visit Damai again that's for sure!

Room Tip: the naga master room is magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

It was a plesant ride up to the Damai with wonderful lush greenery. On arrival it just flet like home to be greeted warmly and when I saw our Villa it was just perfect for us to just relax have fun and enjoy. The Manager Mr Menon is professional , friendly and runs a well kept, clean efficient place with well trained staff and the kitchen had some really good food ;enjoyed my breakfastses but at the same time he is so humble. I have had the best massages at the villa with really well trained staff who did not rush the massages but put all their effort making it a really tailored massage for each of us. The overall experience was just fantastic. Thank you Babu for making it a great stay. Margaret Rajarethnam

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was our first hotel during our honeymoon (4 stayed in 4 hotels across the island). From the reception, where you get a non-alcoholic Mojito (devine!) you already can feel yourself relaxing. It is wonderfully located up the hills, magnificent views. We were upgraded to the royal suite (Raja). It's not a suite: it'a a house!! You have your private pool with a view to die for, a big living room, downstairs TV room, master suite which is soo gorgeous plus other rooms with their own bathroom. Just magnificent.
If the accommodation itself isn't already blowing your mind away, the breakfast and diner will surely do that. Okay this doesn't come cheap, but consider it as a once in a lifetime experience to celebrate something special.

Room Tip: Raja private villa !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisjeVisje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We have not stayed at Damai but always try and have lunch there when in Lovina.
It is situated in the hills behind Lovina beach and is very quiet and peaceful.
Bit expensive for Bali but the quality and tastiness of the food is " top class ". and the views from their lovely restaurant,, back over the valleys to the sea,are wonderful.
Try their non alcoholic mohito. Fabulous and refreshing .
Their accommodation set in picturesque gardens look both comfortable and luxurious. They have a number of collectable stone carvings and artifacts.
(We intend to stay in the future)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lombokjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We wanted to celebrate our wedding anniversary somewhere that would be special and live in our memories. Damai delivered this from the moment we arrived. We organised a transfer with the hotel from the airport which went like clockwork, although be mindful it is a three and half hour transfer, the vehicle was comfortable and air conditioned.

On arrival we immediately felt the weight lift from our shoulders as the staff welcomed us with a cocktail and organised dinner to be served in our room.

We stayed in a pool villa which certainly had the WOW factor being very spacious, with a spectacular view out to the sea from the private deck and from the infinity pool.

There are a number of things that set the Damai apart from other hotels, the first is the food. On the first morning we took breakfast in the restaurant and were treated to our first Damai breakfast which took our breath away with its lovely fruits, juices, homemade jams, breads and pastries.The evening menu is equally as special using ingredients grown in the hotel grounds, all of the food was so fresh and beautifully cooked and presented. The setting for the bar and restaurant is stunning and very romantic, watching the sun go down whilst relaxing with a Damai cocktail is something special.

The other thing that sets the Damai apart is the service. The butler service is first class without being over bearing, just the right amount of attention when you need it. This was our Silver Wedding anniversary and on the night of our anniversary they surprised us with a home made cake in celebration, very special. We decided to cut our stay short to stay a night on the south of the island to shorten our transfer time to the airport for our flight home. The general manager was extremely accommodating in helping us organise a night in a different hotel, and the staff on reception also advised us to visit a temple and the botanical gardens on our way south, both proved well worth the visit. Thank you to all the staff for making us feel so welcome and our stay so enjoyable.

One thing I think is important to point out is that the Damai is in a lovely location, but if you are looking for access to a a really nice beach then in our opinion, Lovina doesn't provide this and you may wish to consider this in your travel arrangements.The Damai do provide a full range of excursions with a guide to explore the north of the island which were easy to book.

Room Tip: The pool villas offer excellent views and are very private, if travelling in the low season just be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We spent 7 nights at Damai and stayed in a Deluxe villa. The gardens have many herbs and vegetables.
The staff at Damai are simply very helpful and accommodating. They make you feel at home.
The food at Damai both vegetarian and sea food was very good. Overall, it was an amazing stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank usha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovina Beach
24.3 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
223 reviews
24.7 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
22.7 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#3 of 10 in Payangan
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#10 of 25 in Lovina Beach
320 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 25 in Lovina Beach
977 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Damai

Address: Jl. Damai | Kayuputih, 81161, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range: $116 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
The Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing