We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Bali”
Review of The Damai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Damai
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a Hill Villa being a two bedroom property of outstanding quality and comfort, the styling and quality left little to be desired, the view from the bed each morning out over the trees to the sea is something neither of us will forget. We spent our stay chilling by the villas own pool and private day bed, the room service was sublime our food was delivered quickly and everything we ordered was spot on. Whilst at the villa one of us had a minor accident resulting in sprained ankle, all of the staff were marvellous and turned what could have been a holiday disaster into a good excuse to relax and enjoy the hospitality, a big thanks to all.

The hotel is on a hill side with a lot of steps to get around however the hotel staff willingly transport guests around in a golf cart which we found ourselves using intensively, if anyone is thinking of going but worried about getting around don't worry, kick back and enjoy.

Will return there again without hesitation.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ianandamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (812)
There are newer reviews for The Damai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 812 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel consists of several villas. Each villa has an outside bathroom with a shower and a jacuzzi. The rooms are very spacious with a nice place to sit.
The pool is very nice with a beautiful view on the sunset.
The restaurant is great with good food. One can choose to have dinner along the pool with candle light.
The people are very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inepien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I celebrated 5 nights of our honeymoon here and LOVED every moment of it. The communication before and the service during our stay were excellent and we felt totally cared for by everyone here. We stayed in one of the 'deluxe bungalows' which is their lowest level and enjoyed a lot the intimacy and loved having access to the 'public' pool for being outside. The place was FULL of couples... and we were able to avoid conversation (by choice!!) and keep to ourselves without any issues. The restaurant is fantastic for all meals... they are the only thing around so if you come, plan to really 'retreat' from the world and take advantage of the service and delicious meals here without leaving.
We did the 'Dolphin Package' which included a morning at the beach with a a dolphin watch and we saw them (other days were not so fortunate)! We did another package tour to the Ulun Danu temple and had a private driver and amazing tour.
Also, we had spa treatments every day and LOVED all the therapists... for sure, plan a series of massages to be fully relaxed. The Hair/Head treatment was great for my thick and curly hair :)
Every day turndown service had the rooms & grounds totally clean and well kept... very high standards and SUPER FRIENDLY STAFF!!
The prices are more like Europe then Bali... but the value is totally worth it.

Room Tip: Room number 3 is a 'smaller bungalow' but perfect for a couple... there is a private jacuzzi...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelYogiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in this beautiful hotel. Our villa with outdoor shower and own Jacuzzi was nice decorated and very comfortable. Everyone working at Damai is very friendly and trying to make your stay unforgettable. When we had a problem with our flight back home everyone at the reception was really helpful and spoke to Singapore Airlines for us. Breakfast and Dinner was awesome. We especially enjoyed sitting by the pool at night and all the homemade products like jam, damaitella and the homemade bread. The Hotel offers and organizes different Sightseeing Tours in the region. We did a snorkeling tour to menjangan Island and a trip to the market in singaraja with one of the cooks from Damai. A very special experience.
Thank you everyone at Damai for making our holiday so great!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicola Hanno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

It's motto is; "Hard to Find and Hard to Leave". For us that summed up our stay. On arrival we were met with a refreshing drink and warm and friendly service. We were led to our room and of course our luggage was carried for us.
Our room and it's outlook was superb. Even the walk to the room from the dining room was just lovely, down a terrace and past herb gardens, even the gardeners would give us a friendly wave or smile. The meals were of a very high standard. We ate in our room on arrival as we were tired from a full day of travelling, breakfasted and had dinner in the dining room overlooking a valley. On our last evening we had a table set up by the pool. Most romantic! There were activities on offer but as our stay was just a few days we enjoyed the massages and the ambience of our surroundings. We were aware that the standard of service was attributable to the constant presence of the management and the staff who worked there. We plan on returning for a longer stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RovinRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel, but injoyed a excellent dinner. This is the best restaurant in Lovina. The dishes is inspiring, good quality and on a micheling level. So the price is reasonable - but for some high. Then take in consideration that this is made of own herbs and from the ground, in a good atmosphere served by smiling and professional staff.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank josoerensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

nice place with everything you have to do,very frendly staff ,good room and maybe the best place i ever stay in north of bali,good drink and nice watch the dolphine,bit far from denpasar but so relaxing when you already there,will be back one day

Room Tip: private the good room
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jennifer635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovina Beach
24.3 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
200 reviews
22.7 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 10 in Payangan
896 reviews
24.7 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#5 of 23 in Lovina Beach
544 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#10 of 23 in Lovina Beach
310 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 23 in Lovina Beach
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Damai

Address: Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, 81161, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range: $124 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
The Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing