We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Damai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Damai
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very good stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

nice place with everything you have to do,very frendly staff ,good room and maybe the best place i ever stay in north of bali,good drink and nice watch the dolphine,bit far from denpasar but so relaxing when you already there,will be back one day

Room Tip: private the good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jennifer635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    75
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
127
493
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I have unfortunately just left Damai few days ago, where we stayed in connection to our honeymoon. We have had an extraordinary experience - great rooms (if you can, you should definitely choose the pool villas), excellent and attentive service and great and romantic facilities. If you look for an escape and a romantic place where to relax and feel pampered the whole time, then this is just the place for you! My wife and I travel and have travelled a lot both for leisure and for work purposes, and I can honestly say that we never had a such a wonderful experience anywhere else before. Their motto is "Hard to find, hard to leave" and we can say that this is definitely true! We will definitely come back as soon as we can.
Do yourselves a favor and stay at Damai Lovina - you will never regret it!
Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PiSaVe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at The Damai, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We have no words to say except “Thank You” for this compliments of the highest order..
We take great pride in sharing this with all staff at Damai.
On behalf of all the staff at Damai, we certainly look forward to having you visit The Damai again.
Best Regards from the Management and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Oustanding
Everything was fantastic.
The staff was excellent – an eye on every finger but still you feel like they were family
The surroundings was like paradise with its roots in Bali
The food – second to none, authentic and original
Drinks – amazing Dry Martini
Try it
Feel it
Live it
Love

Room Tip: Couples / Honeymoon - go for the villas with private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at The Damai, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Tomas
We simply LOVE THIS REVIEW…and we look forward to welcome you back
Best Regards from the Management and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallidays
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed for five nights in May 2013, the drive from Dempasar was long and more than a little exciting as you travel over a beautiful 1500 M mountain range on quite narrow and winding roads.
This trip was more than worthwhile for The Damai is just a beautiful little private getaway.
Set in the hinterland above Lovina, with acres of tropical gardens, it is an ideal spot to relax and unwind.
The villas are now about fifteen years old but they are well appointed in the Balinese style, with outside bathing,
(which we found delightful) and are clean and well serviced. The restaurant is in a stunning location overlooking
the pool. The breakfasts are sensational, and the main meals are excellent if a little expensive.
I have left the staff till last as in our experience they made our stay exceptional. Tam and Eka were so friendly and
looked after our every need, along with all the others including the food and drink waiters, the spa staff, and even
the ground workers all had a smile on their face and could pass the time of day.
Other than relaxing and getting pampered there is not a great deal to do, but there are many road trips and places
to see in and around Lovina if that is your piece of cake.
Tippo & Marie

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tippo430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in august and i say this is the best place ever to go for a honeymoon.The resort was so good and very well organised.It has limited villas and the best service ever.People there literally call u by ur names and u feel so much at home.Service was just amazing and quick.Food was a little expensive but very fresh and tasty.
Spa was awesome..We had the best massage ever.
Overall a very pleasant and relaxing trip and i highly recommend this resort to everyone who visits bali.

Room Tip: Master suite villa is just awesome..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank minnie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I rate this place as excellent without any hesitation. The attention to detail was conspicuous. The staff -from mamager to front desk, waiters, cleaners and drivers- was permanently and tactfully available at all times. The food was superb, indeed the best we had in Indonesia, and the service was punctual and discrete. Highly recommended. A place to return to.

M B Pranger, B S Hellemans

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marinus6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in August and thought this was the perfect end to our honeymoon as we needed to unwind from our wedding. After a tiring (but scenic) 2 1/2 hour drive from Ubud, we were warmly greeted by the staff and were pleasantly surprised by how cosy and intimate this hotel was. With not many rooms on its premises, this place felt like a little tucked away private estate with where they even had their own little orchard with trees, flowers, herbs and vegetables (which I'm sure they used for our meals) surrounding the area.

If you would like a romantic dinner by the pool, do put in your request earlier in the day as they can only fit approximately 6 -7 tables around the pool. If you would like to get out for a bit during the day, The Damai can arrange for transportation out to Lovina Beach. There was a place called Spice Beach Club by Lovina Beach which looked nice but we didn't get to visit due to time constraints. We however, managed to sight a lot of dolphins in the morning (as arranged by The Damail) as it was dolphin sighting season and were thoroughly delighted.

A few recommendations to note: Try their tomyum seafood with coconut broth, utterly delicious. Their croissants and other pastries served for breakfast are to die for too. Compliments to the chef!

Overall, a very relaxing stay. We also tried the four hands massage which was very good. :)

Room Tip: Choose a room that is further away from the pool if you want more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melisabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovina Beach
24.3 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
22.7 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
21.2 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#6 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#8 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Damai

Property: The Damai
Address: Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, 81161, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
The Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing