We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food we have ever experienced in Asia”
Review of The Damai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Damai
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best food we have ever experienced in Asia”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights and wished we had booked for our entire 11 nights in Bali. We cannot fault a thing about our stay. Every second was magical. From our welcome drink on arrival, the presentation of our own villa, the gardens, the setting, the pool and the cocktails and fire pit at sunset. We totally made the experience for us was the food. We have travelled much of Asia and a real 'foodies'. We ate from the set menu and the A La Carte and both we could not fault a thing. So incredibly delicious and presented in the most perfect way. Flavours we have never had before and combinations had our mouths watering just reading a menu. The total atmosphere of the resort is so special, but the extra effort made in the evening is truly special. Relaxed, charming and something very unique.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globalkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at The Damai, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you very much for this review. We have personally copied this and given to Chefs Nyoman and Kartini to share with their team. They were simply so excited and this certainly motivates them to continue to excel in the kitchen. We also shared this review for all the other staff and they are very proud to read this. On behalf of the staff of Damai we thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcome you again to the Damai..hard to find...hard to leave.
Best Regards
M.G.Menon, GM, The Damai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    76
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
127
504
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and loved every moment of it. The atmosphere is calm and relaxed and the service is top class. Every staff member is so friendly and very, yet discretely, attentive to your needs. The surroundings as well as the villas are very well designed creating a beautiful luxury and relaxed feel with everything in its right place. The food is simply delicious, and the evening dining set up under the stars around the pool was a very nice touch. We would also recommend the selection of excursions offered by the hotel. The Damai has definitely been our best hotel experience so far.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at The Damai, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Bettina
Thank you for this kind words and Damai shares all reviews with the staff. This certainly made them proud and we look forward to welcome you again to The Damai
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We spent our first 5 nights in Bali at the Damai. We arrived late at night and awoke in the a.m. to our pool villa and a view that had us pinching ourselves to see if we had died in our sleep.
Breakfast was delivered to our room in a.m. that is enough for royalty. Our private butler helped us arrange everything for our stay. We hardly wanted to leave the property; one of the most artistic and beautifully laid out places imaginable. Small, intimate, lovingly cared for with outstanding amenities and staff. Did private cooking class with Tirta their head chef, which was such a treat. Food is truly memorable which is good because once you check in you won't want to leave. Snorkelled in Menjagan island which is 1 1/2 hour drive each way but well worth it. Among best we had ever encountered. Monkey temple and Buddhist temples make worthwhile visits on way home. Not much to do in the North of Bali but you won't mind as the Damai is paradise on earth. Their drivers take you on day excursions to see nearby temples, waterfalls, etc. We cried upon leaving as we know this place is truly a sacred experience for the discerning traveller who appreciates love and care in their travels. The ONLY drawback is there is no fitness center on property, a small price to pay for heaven on earth.

Room Tip: We had Uma Tirta; private pool villa along the river overlooking Lovina Beach. Killer views and pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan8904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at The Damai, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Susan
Thank you very much for this review and we are very touched and sadden to see you had to leave. We would certainly look forward to welcome you again. I have shared your review with Chef Tirta, and all the staff and they were so excited reading what you wrote. On behalf of all the staff at Damai..we wish for you to have fond memories of Damai until your next visit.
Best Regards
Menon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We got an amazing private villa with it a personal pool. The service and quality of food and cocktails are great (especially compared to the rest of the island). The outside dinning area has an great atmosphere - especially for late evening dinning.

Room Tip: Try the fresh tuna steak in the restaurant - it's fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starbobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was our first trip to Bali and we stayed at the Damai as part of our 5 day tour of the country. We were greeted at reception with the banging of a gong and completed registration with a very welcoming gentleman (called Ham I think). We were shown to our garden villa which was beautiful. A generous sized villa with a comfortable seating area and large king size bed. The bathroom came with an outside shower - there is something very exotic about showering outside. Finally there was a courtyard to the back complete with a second shower, day bed and jacuzzi bath. We ate at the restaurant on our first evening, my husband having the 3 course Indonesian set menu and I ate off the al a carte menu. It was an excellent meal, worthy of the reviews given in our guide book. Breakfast was also superb, everything cooked freshly to order. We had a day at leisure so took advantage of the shuttlebus down to the local town before returning to enjoy some time by the pool. As there are only 15 villa's at the Damai and some of those have their own private pool - the shared pool is not busy. That evening we decided to go into town to a very good Thai restaurant - the Jasmine Kitchen - which was recommended by the Damai and for 50K each way they even provided transport. Sadly our two days was too short to allow time to use the Spa but overall it was a wonderful introduction to Bali and it's fantastic hospitality. I cannot even start to describe the beauty of this hotel but have added some photo's that I hope can speak volumes of why you should stay here. Thank you to all the staff for making this a bit of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMC61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Having just stayed at The Chedi Club when we arrived at The Damai, I must admit our expectations were very high and I'm delighted to say this resort exceeded them. We were originally booked into a deluxe villa, but the staff were able to accommodate my request to upgrade to a pool studio the day before we arrived, for a reasonable price of $125 per night. This was so worth it! We stayed in Umah Ratu which is on the hillside with a stunning infinity pool and views over the jungle and water - in fact, if you see the little Damai icon next to the hotel name above, it was this room! The outdoor area has an oversized bale with plug points, two decent loungers and a small garden area - it was perfection. Inside the standard was just as high and the designers cleverly blended contemporary, luxury furnishings with authentic Balinese touches. The bed and tv are huge, minibar is well stocked, the freestanding bath is gorgeous and the outdoor shower is surrounded by frangipani flowers. Showering outside under the moon, with the occasional nosy lizard for company is a wonderful thing! The resort itself is in harmony with the surroundings and quite hilly as a result, but golf buggies are always on hand if you are less mobile. We didn't need to use the main pool but it's a good size, and the cocktails made by Astika are fantastic - try his 'rojito' with dark rum and Balinese spices! The in-villa dining menu is a good size with plenty of western fusion and local choices, but I recommend eating at the restaurant. Our dinner of foie gras, mahi mahi and chocolate mousse is among the best I have had anywhere, which is not an accolade I give lightly! It was simply stunning. The hotel is only ten minutes by car from Lovina and the hotel offers shuttles. We didn't explore the area much but of course we did the dolphin and snorkelling tour and were fortunate to come across a pod of thirty dolphins - one of the most moving experiences of my life. Ask for Chandra on the beach and he'll give you a good price, plus he is lovely! Finally, a huge thanks to The Damai staff, all of whom were warm, friendly and couldn't do enough to make the stay perfect, and our special thanks to Eka, Evy, Budiasiah and Astika for their personal, professional and kind company during our stay. The Damai won an award as the best small hotel in Indonesia - it absolutely deserves it!

Room Tip: Pool studios and villa are worth the extra - ask for Umah Ratu and you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bringonthesummer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Damai was our honeymoon treat and we LOVED it. WIth a lovely atmosphere, a feeling of real luxury and the calm breeze of the hills above Lovina we couldn't have wished for anywhere more magical to spend our time. We enjoyed watching the sun go down in a beautiful lantern lit garden, the ice cold beers in the hot sun, the beautiful trip to Munduk, the friendly staff, the delicious food (yummy bread) and the best massage in Bali (we had many). I will long remember the breeze in the spa and those beautiful flowers in water - your attention to detail is what makes the place so special. Thank you Eka for looking after us so well and to you all for making our visit so memorable. Nearly forgot about the shower - it is awesome. I could write an essay on how great Damai is...if you stay one place in Bali, stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnysopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovina Beach
24.3 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
22.7 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#3 of 9 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
21.2 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#6 of 23 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#8 of 23 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 23 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Damai

Property: The Damai
Address: Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, 81161, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
The Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing