We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing in many ways”
Review of The Damai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Damai
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was the second of our accommodations in Bali (for our honeymoon!) Like the other two places we stayed in, the Damai was on par with (and, in many ways, exceeded) the others.

The "bad" news first. It's in Lovina. The Lovina area is very far away and took about a 3.5 hour drive (with a couple stops) from the south. (We came from Jimbaran.) Lovina itself isn't a particularly remarkable area. The beach wasn't very swimmable to us and the town "center" didn't have much reason to visit. The only reason one would go there was to go on one of the dolphin watching boat rides, which we did do and saw a great deal of dolphins. (So that was a highlight.)

That being said, the Damai itself is amazing. Easily the most beautiful grounds of all the resorts we stayed in. Elegant, beautiful flora and architecture. The villa was also easily the best we stayed in. Big and a perfect mix of sleek and modern and traditional in feel. Dark woods and tiles, tasteful decor and furniture, and the best "plunge" pool, which was large, wrap-around, and had an amazing view of the hill down to the ocean. The grounds have a walking bridge over a stream, which was a beautiful sight in and of itself. The Damai is one of the best places I've ever stayed in.

The staff, also, is perhaps the best resort staff I've ever encountered. (And this is high praise considering the incredibly high level of service in Bali.) They all knew our names. Incredibly friendly and accommodating. Very skilled in what they do. It was great even talking to the bartenders by the main pool. They are the best!

One thing I didn't know prior to booking here was how food oriented they are. Their restaurant is great. We ate there each night we stayed there (3 nights.) I can't imagine a better resort restaurant, and certainly is a reason to visit the resort even if you don't stay there for a night. One reason might be because a lot of the herbs and vegetables they use are grown on their grounds. Walking from our villa to the restaurant area, you move past garden beds with labels on what is being grown. They also raise rabbits, crayfish, fowl and more in a small farm across the road. It was impressive and reminded me somewhat of Blue Hill at Stone Barns in New York State. (If you know this restaurant/farm, you know this is high praise.) The freshness and innovation of the restaurant's food rivaled restaurants in NYC. We also took a cooking class with one of the chefs, which included a market tour in Singaraja. The class itself was a highlight of our trip.

They have a lot of other classes and activities available, which was great to have as an option.

They also have an amazing signature drink, the "Mojitea" (white tea mojito) that is incredible. We were given one at check-in and had more when we had dinner.

I'm glad we decided to take a chance up north to visit this resort. I feel like the remote nature of the location might be a bit of a hinderance to some. Perhaps, though, a place like this can only really exist in Lovina, as the resorts in other, more crowded areas, had limited space.

I highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (812)
There are newer reviews for The Damai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 812 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Spent three nights stayed. This place was definitely a paradise! garden, pool, our room- everything with great decoration. Our room was wisely beautiful and spacious. it got a great view to the pool and open atmosphere. Great and would stay again !

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimsesonsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here for our first time in Bali and it was the perfect start to our honeymoon.
Hotel is extremely comfortable and decorated in a modern, but still traditional way. Service is outstanding ,we feel very welcomed and relaxed.Sometimes we felt as though we had the hotel to ourselves, and the staff treat you as though you are the only ones there.There are so many nice things to say about the hotel. The boungalow is beautiful and cosy , the fresh fruits everyday and traditional cakes that they serve every evening in your room , the absolutely stunning main pool . But what we felt makes this hotel different from other hotels was the unbelievably friendly, very attentive , extremely helpful and courteous staff - every time we came back from town we were welcomed by someone , ask us about our day and make sure we had everything we needed, a really nice touch..
The food is quite amazing based to a large extent on home grown fruit and vegetable. The flavours was wonderful and gave us a good introduction to balinese cuisine.Breakfast was awesome, you can choose several options, from Western to Indonesian, and you can enjoy this heavenly environment around you. Very quiet, and peaceful.
Me and my husband travel a lot but never received such hospitality.
The only thing that upset me is that we only stayed there for 4 nights - should've stayed longer!
Fantastic place!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The food, the surroundings, the atmosphere and especially the very personal and kind service from The Damai staff was a truly magnificent experience. Thank you for just going that extra mile and making our vacation so special.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Einar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My son and I returned again in the month of November and was excited that Damai has recognition for returnee guest. I sent them an email and they responded with a very good offer for 10 nights stay. The service standards were as good as the first visit. The spa treatments with Windi was refreshing. This time we did tours and transfers with the hotel drivers. We planned the trips so that it will not be too tiring since my son does not particularly like the car journeys. We did visit Tanah Lot and Jatiluwih, the heritage centre and then Besakih temple. Butler and FO team were very helpful with advises for trips and what to do. The bartenders for their non alcoholic cocktails(passion fruit cocktail)were absolutely mind-blowing.The restaurant and kitchen staff for the help on giving us food without beef and pork and many options for vegetarian food. The flexibility in giving food out of the menu was truly appreciated. The housekeeping department for helping me keep the geckos and lizards far away from my room was a nice gesture.
Thank you to all the staff at Damai for their warmth and kindness during our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Can easily recommend as superb service and lovely location. Villas are extremely comfortable and decorated in a modern, but still traditional way.
Service is outstanding and can say its truly 5 star luxury location to feel very welcomed and relaxed. Had my lovely birthday there and remember it for long time!

Room Tip: If possible, choose and book Umah Raja.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank EdEstonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at The Damai, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Hi Edvard
Thank you for this review and the staff are truly pleased that this is a birthday that you will cherish and remember for sometime.
Best Regards from all the staff at the The Damai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was one of my favorite places in Bali. North Bali is beautiful if you like peaceful and quiet. South is becoming too busy !
Best drinks in Bali. The welcome drink is made with blend Damai spices and best welcome drink ever had ! I want the recipe!
Stayed in deluxe room which was great. There is a problem with mosquitoes though.No screening on doors to back which I think they need to fix
.At turn down every night housekeeping would leave selection of Balinese treats which were delicious .
A la carte breakfast delicious and great choices.
You could just laze around pool and drink,eat & relax all day.We did go on a couple tours though. One to Ambengan waterfalls which I didn't enjoy,. Rough terrain and really hot. Waterfall not that exciting. Also did North Bali culture tour which we loved . Went to weavers small factory and great to see spinning firsthand. Bought some beautiful fabric. Also stopped interesting museum and temples. Also went into Lovina and not much to do there. Dolphin statue broken and just some stalls selling usual tourist stuff .A few restaurants open but didn't buy anything.
I celebrated my birthday whilst there and received a beautiful cake and Happy birthday song. really lovely.
Spa treatment was very good (Bali Boreh ) but not a lot of privacy for flower bath afterwards. Could see staff walking back and forward into pavilion. Spa is a pavilion that also used for yoga (very good ) in mornings. Areas curtained off for massage but bath next to pavilion . Just not as private as would have liked .
If you have time and budget allows definitely go see North Bali and stay here . You will love it.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms spacious but maybe ask for one that has mosquito screening.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paigeleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at The Damai, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Deanne and Douglas,
Thank you for this review and I have personally sent an email to you for the Mojitea recipe. The room you stayed Deluxe #3, I am happy to say this door has been fixed and any issue with mosquitoes will be a thing of the past..The weather during your stay in October last year was the hottest. The rains were delayed and there was quite a dry spell. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Best Regards
Menon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovina Beach
24.3 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
200 reviews
22.7 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 10 in Payangan
896 reviews
24.7 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#5 of 23 in Lovina Beach
544 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#10 of 23 in Lovina Beach
310 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 23 in Lovina Beach
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Damai

Address: Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, 81161, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range: $124 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
The Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing