We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXQUISITE”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Damai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Damai
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“EXQUISITE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We just left after 7 wonderful days at the Damai. The place is a true gem, we´ve tried to find just one negative thing about it, and the only thing that came in mind was- Having to leave.
The pool-villa is delicate and tasteful- and very wearable. The food is excellent. We never found the limits to what the staff would do to make you comfortable. Gede-our sweet and helpful butler arranged a fishing-trip for the two of us in Lovina. Getting out before sunrise, and then watching dolphins and sunrise and fishing tuna, which the chef at Damai prepaired to an excellent meal for us. And having it under the stars in candlelight by the poolside... And staying up a little to late to spoil yourself with just one more of Dwi-the bartenders delicious cocktails. And have a night-dip under the stars- or in heavily rain, in your own private pool. We just loved every single moment!

Room Tip: The pool-villas are amazing- but then again- every corner of Damai is worth staying in
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocoCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    75
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
127
493
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Having driven from Denpasar Airport, it was a pleasure eventually to get to Lovina and a mile or two up a country road, find this lovely place. Although there are only 14 villas, they have been spread out in amongst the gardens and rainforest of the hotel. Amazing frog chorus at night!

We had a two bedroom Master Pool Villa for the four of us - two pools, two bathrooms with outdoor showers, a living area, a Sala, loads of room to spread out and great views across the forest down to the sea.

Great cocktails by the hotel pool, yoga at the spa, many hours relaxing by our own pools meant a very happy and lovely time for us all.

The restaurant was great too - at breakfast one of the waiters hand-prepares fruit plates for each guest - the dinner choice was excellent and the food outstanding. Even room service delivered on taste and flavour.

We loved the whole experience - the only negative being that they quote for your stay in $US and then charge you in IDR's using their own exchange rates. Worth watching for!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteppieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Best breakfast and dinners in Bali!

Wonderful sea views and beautiful garden with pool.

The rooms are very comfortable and clean and staff very accommodating.

Only bit to improve is the wifi, which runs very slow in the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stunning setting, wonderful food, extremely helpful and pleasant staff. Pool bartenders were awesome!!! Worth every penny! Would stay here if I get the chance to come back. The grounds are kept beautifully.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We visited Damai on a recommendation that stated the restaurant was the best in the Lovina area we were not disappointed. Travelling with 4 children and my husband we booked the Damai were picked up from our villa (additional charge) a table for 6 pool side awaited just as the sun was setting. The location is magical the ambience first class and the staff very attentive and friendly, the children were made to feel very welcome although this is a romantic restaurant probably best suited to couples, being the low season we were the only ones dining in the restaurant so wasn't a problem having the kids with us. The food is magnificent I ordered tuna as a starter and the steak for main both were outstanding, my husband also enjoyed his choice of meal. The chocolate mousse is a must the best dessert I have had in a long time. I have to say we were not expecting much from the food in Bali however we were pleasantly surprised at just how good the food at the Damai was. As for pricing we were a family of 6 - adults had 3 courses, glass of wine and sparkling water, kids ate 2 courses the total was AUD260. Expensive for Bali, half of what we would pay for a similar restaurant in Sydney. Excellent you must dine at Damai!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SydneyTcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic week at the Damai in Lovina. "Hard to find, Hard to leave" is a pretty apt slogan. The 3.5 hour transfer from the airport was a hard slog after the flight, but once we were shown our room it was all worthwhile. We had booked a one bedroom pool villa, but the one we were assigned is actually the master pool villa, with bigger pool, and separate bedroom and living/sitting room. This villa is astoundingly beautiful, and the view from the pool is amazing. I cant really do it justice. The cover on the daybed was perhaps a bit old and stained, but that cannot be easy to maintain outside in monsoon season! Otherwise the cleanliness and decor of the villa was excellent. The food is great, but expensive as mentioned by others. The spa was great, and we had an enjoyable time doing the cooking course.

We did have one incident involving a staff member which we brought to the attention of the general manager, but his professionalism and honesty in dealing with it were outstanding, a credit to the resort, and as such I would not change my high recommendation and it would not change the fact that we would love to be return visitors (except there are so many places to go we never end up going back to the same place twice!)

Room Tip: The pool villas are a cut above the deluxe rooms. Ratu master is the pick of the lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Damai is the kind of place that we would revisit in a heart beat. The resort is interestingly laid out, villas are superb, every comfort has been anticipated and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. The 5 nights we spent here with our two children left little to be desired. The specially conceived menu/ food was delicious irrespective of what we ate. The Daiquiris were Yum! We felt like every activity was customised for us. It was even convenient to getaway for excellent diving and snorkeling through Spice Dive at Menjangan Island and for many other activities. Don't miss the excellent Balinese spa services -- like everything else relaxing and memorable. Another bonus - you can't help notice that the Damai is closely connected with its community and the land through its procurement and daily activities. A big Thank you all the staff for your attentiveness and Mr. Menon for your superb advice on everything. You'll have built a top quality, warm and naturally genuine place -- and that is hard to replicate. Happy New Year!

Room Tip: All villas are great, alfresco shower, jacuzzi etc. But the dearer pool villas are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieKishen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovina Beach
24.3 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
22.7 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
21.2 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#6 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#8 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Damai

Property: The Damai
Address: Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, 81161, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
The Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing