We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding restaurant magnificent view”
Review of The Damai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Damai
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We visited Damai on a recommendation that stated the restaurant was the best in the Lovina area we were not disappointed. Travelling with 4 children and my husband we booked the Damai were picked up from our villa (additional charge) a table for 6 pool side awaited just as the sun was setting. The location is magical the ambience first class and the staff very attentive and friendly, the children were made to feel very welcome although this is a romantic restaurant probably best suited to couples, being the low season we were the only ones dining in the restaurant so wasn't a problem having the kids with us. The food is magnificent I ordered tuna as a starter and the steak for main both were outstanding, my husband also enjoyed his choice of meal. The chocolate mousse is a must the best dessert I have had in a long time. I have to say we were not expecting much from the food in Bali however we were pleasantly surprised at just how good the food at the Damai was. As for pricing we were a family of 6 - adults had 3 courses, glass of wine and sparkling water, kids ate 2 courses the total was AUD260. Expensive for Bali, half of what we would pay for a similar restaurant in Sydney. Excellent you must dine at Damai!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank SydneyTcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 848 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic week at the Damai in Lovina. "Hard to find, Hard to leave" is a pretty apt slogan. The 3.5 hour transfer from the airport was a hard slog after the flight, but once we were shown our room it was all worthwhile. We had booked a one bedroom pool villa, but the one we were assigned is actually the master pool villa, with bigger pool, and separate bedroom and living/sitting room. This villa is astoundingly beautiful, and the view from the pool is amazing. I cant really do it justice. The cover on the daybed was perhaps a bit old and stained, but that cannot be easy to maintain outside in monsoon season! Otherwise the cleanliness and decor of the villa was excellent. The food is great, but expensive as mentioned by others. The spa was great, and we had an enjoyable time doing the cooking course.

We did have one incident involving a staff member which we brought to the attention of the general manager, but his professionalism and honesty in dealing with it were outstanding, a credit to the resort, and as such I would not change my high recommendation and it would not change the fact that we would love to be return visitors (except there are so many places to go we never end up going back to the same place twice!)

Room Tip: The pool villas are a cut above the deluxe rooms. Ratu master is the pick of the lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Damai is the kind of place that we would revisit in a heart beat. The resort is interestingly laid out, villas are superb, every comfort has been anticipated and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. The 5 nights we spent here with our two children left little to be desired. The specially conceived menu/ food was delicious irrespective of what we ate. The Daiquiris were Yum! We felt like every activity was customised for us. It was even convenient to getaway for excellent diving and snorkeling through Spice Dive at Menjangan Island and for many other activities. Don't miss the excellent Balinese spa services -- like everything else relaxing and memorable. Another bonus - you can't help notice that the Damai is closely connected with its community and the land through its procurement and daily activities. A big Thank you all the staff for your attentiveness and Mr. Menon for your superb advice on everything. You'll have built a top quality, warm and naturally genuine place -- and that is hard to replicate. Happy New Year!

Room Tip: All villas are great, alfresco shower, jacuzzi etc. But the dearer pool villas are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieKishen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I feel bad that it's taken me so long to write up this review -- we stayed at the Damai in March of 2012, over Nyepi.

My husband and I are American expats and small business owners. We live in Jakarta but retreat to Bali for respite from the hustle and bustle of the big city.

When I made our booking at Damai, I was expecting a slice of paradise -- I read these reviews, so I had high expectations.

My background is in public relations, marketing, and travel/tourism, so I generally have high standards for what constitutes 'five-star'.

I have to say, the staff at the Damai exceeded my expectations in every way. They were incredible -- attentive without being invasive, warm and friendly, informed and helpful.

The property is breathtaking -- lush and green and surrounding by sweeping views of mountains and the sea.

The villas are impeccible. Designed and furnished with attention to detail and quality, and maintained by hard-working team members.

My only complaint? The Damai has ruined me for all other hotels!!! Now that I've stayed there, I never want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skjviajkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a wonderful welcome to the Damai Hotel. We had such a lovely time (3 nights), staying in the most beautiful surroundings. Great deluxe room and a fantastic staff just made it so comfortable for us. Incredible good food, good massages. Lovely relaxing and very good wamthe and caring service. A place to recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

What a wonderful way to end our recent holiday in Bali! From the minute we arrived at Damai, it exceeded our expectations. We stayed in one of the deluxe villas - it was peaceful, serene, clean & comfortable. The staff were exceptional - attentive without being intrusive & so friendly and welcoming! The food was a highlight - whether room service in the villa or a gorgeous meal in the restaurant, we couldn't fault it. The Damai has gorgeous gardens, and the spa treatments were some of the best I've had. If you are looking for rest, respite and luxury in the sleepy bali of old, head to lovina and check in to Damai - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandPSaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

During out first visit to Bali we visited Lovina and Seminyak. In Lovina we decided to stay at the Damai for 3 nights. We chose for the "Dolphin Package" which included 3 nights in a pool villa, a dinner, massage and dolphin tour. From the moment we were greeted by the Damai driver at Bali airport to the end of the stay, everything was very well taken care of. Our villa was very spacious and had a wonderful pool with a view over the hills and the sea in the distance. The nice thing about the villa we stayed in is that the full walls of the villa facing the pool can be completely opened so the pool and garden become an extension of your living room. We did not leave the resort for dinner, as we found the restaurant very good with plenty of choices (there's also a different set menu every evening, very reasonably priced). You can choose whether you'd like to eat inside, poolside or even in a "bale" in the gardens of the hotel - very romantic. One of the highlights of the stay was the cooking class we did, where we made some traditional Balinese dishes. Afterwards we received the recipes plus two aprons so we could make it again at home (if we could only find the ingredients!). We did not use the communal pool as we had a private one, so we can't comment on that. The staff really goes out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible, and for us this certainly worked. A big thanks to the whole team, we'll certainly return to the Damai if we visit Lovina again!

Room Tip: Choose one of the ocean-view villas with a private pool, as they will guarantee a wonderful stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeroenAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovina Beach
24.3 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
223 reviews
24.7 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
22.7 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#3 of 10 in Payangan
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#10 of 25 in Lovina Beach
320 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 25 in Lovina Beach
977 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Damai

Address: Jl. Damai | Kayuputih, 81161, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range: $116 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
The Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing