We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most beautiful place in Bali”
Review of The Damai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Damai
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have been in Damai, at Lovina tree times. Each time I experience an exclusive beauty. The landscape, the garden, the settings and the very good taste of the interiors , are special in Damai.
You could not find a better food in the most exquisite restaurant in Europe .
The owner, a Danish , takes personally care of the service and the standard.
Absolutely worth of the price.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Anna Maria I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

388 - 394 of 841 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

A very unforgettable stay.Beatifull location and garden.The room was very nice. We really enjoyed the whole stay. If one word should cover the whole impression it should be aestetic, everything was like that.If possible we shall return

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peer Kildegaard l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

As soon as we got to the Damai we felt depressed - we were already dreading leaving. If money were no object we would live here, in fact id be tempted to work here if it meant I could stay forever !

Yes the Damai is that good. But it does come at a fairly hefty price and its a pretty closed market in terms of restaurants so be prepared.

That said, it was of exceptional standard... The Damai has its own farm which you can visit, they rear everything from crayfish to pigs and grow salads and herbs on the hotel grounds. The food was excellent, especially the japanese breakfast was divine, smoked fish & rice with mini omelette. Dinner was always excellent and the setting in the evening was magical. There's a good cocktail list too and long drinks come with bamboo straws I liked so much I bought some to take home.

If you want to give your wallet a break you can catch the shuttle to Lovina and have a cheap lunch there (I recommend the jasmine cafe) but Lovina itself is a dive where you will be harassed by hawkers and the shuttles are not on demand or frequent enough for a quick lunch then back.

On the plus side there is a really nice diving school at Lovina called "spice dive" and they do day excursions to Balis best diving spot: Menjangen island. This was the very place that lured us north, it's a magical and unforgettable experience to dive or snorkel there. Spice dive do "fun dives" where you are taught and tested on safety procedures and can dive up to 15 meters. Diving here and staying at the Damai were the highlights of our honeymoon!

Another thing that is nice about the Damai is that it's small and the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. There are only 15 villas, and while the standard rooms seem lovely but quite uniform, the superior villas are all unique and impeccably designed. The architect and the owner are Danish and our villa "uma tirta" was a heady mix of Balinese spiritual and natural elements with sleek, modern Scandinavian design.

The corner of the living area is a group of panelled windows that completely open up so your sofa is an island floating on the edge of your private pool. Nature up here is fabulous and we saw some beautiful birds on our private deck. Our villa was on a jungle-esque hill overlooking the horizon. Did I mention we were upset when we had to leave?

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamelajaneabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The arrival at Damai at night was like a ferrytale: lampions hanging throughout the tropical garden. Very friendly people taking us in a buggy to our pool villa. Champaign and great spring rolls. We have had the best time ever staying in the pool villa for 3 weeks. The service was impeccable. Everytime we came back to our room all had been cleaned and organized. The food was great and important enough healthy and hygienic. We are grateful for the cooks to maintain such a high standard in all aspects of the kitchen. The hospitality of Mr Menon (GM) and his team was outstanding. They really listen and do everything humanely possible to accomodate your needs and all with a smile and genuine friendliness. The fishing trips were magic, catching Mahi Mahi and Bracuda and seeing hundreds of dolphins. The visit to the pearl factory was great as were the strawls in Lovina town.We have felt very privileged to be staying in such a nice pleace with such friendly people and service. The Caipirinhas of the bar master (Tom Cruise) were superb as well. Highly recommended destination. The balinese costume photo session was fun as was the soccer with the resort team. The dancing lessons for the kids in towm were also great. We last but not least like what Damai do to work together with the community and let all benefit.

Room Tip: All great but the pool villas are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

we spent 4 days in Damai. And it was just exellent. The Bungalow, the surroundings, the foood. But first of all: The people. From those in charge to the man who cleaned our room They just did, what they could to make our stay unforgettable..

Room Tip: they are all exellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

What a beautiful hotel this is! We found this hotel through Tripadvisor and I am so glad we did.
It truly is a stunning place, yes Lovina itself is not the best beach in Bali but I do think that this may well be the best hotel by far. Its set in a great hillside location a few minutes drive from Lovina and everything about it for us was perfect.
We had one of the smaller villas, I think they are called the superior rooms and they really are superior, we had an amazing outside bathroom with a shower and a very nice hot tub and a four poster bed ( inside of course!).
The staff at the hotel are so attentive, friendly yet discrete, a free massage on arrival from the staff from the Spa. The manager is a true gentleman and his influence seems to have very positive effect on his team- the level of hospitality they all demonstrated was first class and worthy of the finest 5 star hotels.
The chef and his team also excel- a small but well thought out menu using local produce and cooked to the highest quality was presented daily.
We only had two nights here ( this trip!) but we will be back without doubt.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank likestoeatout70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Damai in a 1 bedroom Pool , it was absolutely everything we were looking for in a resort-stay. Rooms were very clean, large and enjoyed the quiet personal pool.

The food and drinks are the highlight of this hotel . Really enjoyed the wide selection of breakfast .

But all of this would be nothing if not for the service. The service was excellent - each and every staff member was so friendly and warm that we felt at home. The general manager takes time to meet all the guests and is also very friendly.

We will definitely be making a trip back to Bali, if only to spend more time at The Damai. A truly magical experience! Will add more pictures of the resort grounds.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank subraG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovina Beach
24.3 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
219 reviews
22.7 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#3 of 10 in Payangan
949 reviews
24.7 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#10 of 25 in Lovina Beach
316 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 25 in Lovina Beach
965 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Damai

Address: Jl. Damai | Kayuputih, 81161, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range: $81 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
The Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing