We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”
Review of The Damai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Damai
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Damai was absolutely everything we were looking for in a Balinese resort-stay.
Yes, it is a bit of a drive from the airport, but that is more a benefit than a cost given the quiet, out of the tourist-fray location.

Our room was beautiful- simple, classic Balinese style, impeccably clean, with the most luxe beds and linens. The staff's attention to detail was unparalleled. Our room was made up, and turned-down while we were at breakfast and dinner, resulting in no interruptions while we relaxed.

Given we were there for only two days, we opted out of one of the many well-planned itineraries offered by the resort around the island. Instead, we signed on for cooking class which was a wonderful and intimate experience with the hotel's accomplished chef. We also took full advantage of their spa, which left no room for complaint.

The food and drink was really the star of the show. Hotel food tends to get redundant or bland. Not so at the Damai. They put a lot of thought and energy into all their menus and you are hard-pressed to find a better meal at any of Bali's 5-star restaurants.

But all of this would be nothing if not for the service. The staff goes above and beyond for you, happy to assure you have everything you need while not only at the hotel, but in Bali. The general manager takes time to meet all the guests and our butler, Eka, was perfect- charming, helpful and warm.

We will definitely be making a trip back to Bali, if only to spend more time at The Damai. My suggestion: book in advance so you don't miss out on this truly special experience!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattMoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at The Damai, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for all your nice words. Eka and Chef Nyoman is especially proud, and sends their warm regards. We all look forward to welcome you again to the family of Damai.Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 836 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

We spent one day with friends at this gorgeous location coming from Java and continuing our trip through Bali.
Great experience and with the Qunci Villas in Lombok, our best hotel during 3 weeks of holidays in Indonesia.
Delicious dinner at the pool. Beautiful villas with outside showers and outside Jacuzzi. Great experrience to have under the night stars.
we could only regret that we had scheduled one single night in this part of Bali.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniel1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at The Damai, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for all your nice words. We all look forward to welcome you again to Damai for a longer stay. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed at The Damai for 2 nights after reading rave reviews about the property - we struggled to get availability but finally found a slot which fitted in with our schedule. We were warmly greeted with a fantastic welcome cocktail (by far the best we were offered in Bali) and shown around the resort. The room was lovely - spacious with a lovely seating area and outdoor bathroom with shower and hot tub which was heated for us each evening. Huge comfortable bed and every amenity imaginable.
The best thing by far about the hotel is the restaurant - we enjoyed two wonderful evening meals - the food was fresh, inventive and tasty. There were also a number of small touches which made all of the difference - a sumptuous bread basket with tapenades, an amuse bouche and divine desserts - check out the sorbet! The drinks whilst being the most expensive we encountered in Bali were very good - the Mojito was worth every penny! Breakfast was also a very special expensive - the food was plentiful and there was a choice of Japanese, Indonesian or Western fayre - we really did dine like kings!
The pool area whilst nice, is small which is a shame for the size of the hotel - we found the pool area to be quite crowded at times and due to the shape of the pool, all you can really do is cool off as there is no room to swim around. There were also a number of children staying at the Damai whilst we were there and although they were extremely well behaved, with such a small pool, it did rather take away from the ideal of luxuriating in an oasis. The pool service was also extremely slow - we were brought water once however, after a long afternoon at the pool, the glasses had not been replenished and the remnants of the juices we had consumed for lunch were still on our table at 5pm. The staff were also poor at clearing away old towels from the loungers.
We visited the spa during our stay and enjoyed a very good massage - it is a much smaller spa than we found at other hotels, however, the setting was lovely and the massage excellent. The yoga class was also good - check it out if you are there on one of the days it if offered.
All in all, we very much enjoyed our stay at the Damai - the setting of the hotel is lovely, the gardens are divine and it did feel like we were hidden away from the world. If the pool area and accompanying service could be enhanced, I think this could be heaven......

Room Tip: Request a room down by the herb gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at The Damai, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Thank you very much for your nice words and valuable feed back. The staff in the kitchen and spa were especially proud to read this review and sends their regards. We were quite sorry to hear, however, that you experienced a lack of attention during your stay at the pool. We suspect that it might be caused by the staff's change of shift, but have now ensured that this will not occur in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Children are common in July and August, but most often families stay in our pool villas. Best regards and hope to welcome you again in the near future….

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The villa with pool was very nice and cozy. I booked Lovina mostly because of the dolphin watching which we did and it was a real sensation for us and the kids but this place is a gourmet temple! Starting with a ginger-honey-mojito and then having a six course tasting menu at a fair price. Excellent food! Very nice and very present manager who makes you feel like at home!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pigalle1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at The Damai, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Mark and Family,
Thank you for all your nice words. Our chef is especially proud, to read this reviews and sends his warm regards. We all hope to welcome you again soon. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Alain, Patricia and friends, Switzerland
After a very long trip we arrived at Damai in the middle of the night and we immediately felt at home. It was hard to find, but even harder to leave. The 2 weeks we spent in this wonderful hotel were absolutely extradordinary. We felt like arriving in a new familiy and the staff is so friendly, kind, open minded and graceful. Everything is just perfect: bungalows, garden, restaurant, spa etc. The best holiday we ever had! Mr. Menon made us feel part of the Damai familiy! Special thanks to Eka, Wayan, Dwi and Gede (don't forget your excellent German!) Merci pour tout! Le Damai est un rêve magnifique - mimpi bagus!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at The Damai, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Alan and Patricia,
Thank you for this kind words. Eka, Wayan,Dwi,Gede and all other staff were emotional reading this reviews. They thank you from the bottom of their hearts and look forward to welcome you again to the "island of the gods' and to Damai. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The three nights we stayed at Damai was the highlight of our honeymoon: We have never felt so pampered in our life. All the staff are amazing, graceful and smiling, and nothing is ever too much trouble. The spa is small, but the treatments are divine. The massage I recieved was nothing less than the best I ever had. The food in the restaurant is just as delicious as everyone says it is - the jackfruit steak is fantastic. We stayed in Umah Tirta, one of the pool villas, with our own huge pool and beautiful views of the sea and the valley. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

You could not think of coming to Bali without going to Damai. It is simply heaven on a hill. The service and attention to detail is everything you would dream for. The guests that we met were also delightful company.

We did not plan on going to Damai during our trip but it turned out to be the highlight of our time in northern Bali.

Room Tip: Apparently the Queen of Denmark prefers Suite 7 - the picture attached is from one of the private vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovina Beach
24.3 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
216 reviews
22.7 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 10 in Payangan
944 reviews
24.7 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#10 of 24 in Lovina Beach
316 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#5 of 24 in Lovina Beach
551 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 24 in Lovina Beach
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Damai

Address: Jl. Damai | Kayuputih, 81161, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range: $81 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
The Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing