We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!!!”
Review of The Damai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Damai
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We spent 5 unforgettable days in this unique hotel surrounded by a luscious garden.
Our villa was luxurious beyond description. The staff were efficient and most welcoming. The food was delicious and very refined. All details were all thought off and most cared for.
The setting is a haven of peace and silence, luckily far from the confusion of the usual tourist areas.
We cannot reccommend it enough.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tulipa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
There are newer reviews for The Damai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 813 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2011

Having travelled fairly extensively in Indonesia during the last 4 years, we have stayed at some lovely hotels – Sheraton Towers, Shangri La & Ritz Carlton to name but a few. This year we decided to treat ourselves to the most expensive hotel we have ever stayed at in Indonesia, the Damai Lovina.

The reality certainly didn’t match our expectations. The entrance is rather underwhelming, but when you walk through to the pool area and see the magnificent view and well kept gardens you feel more assured. The rooms are bungalows set into terraced gardens. Initial impressions were reasonable, large windows and polished teak interior with traditional decorations, leading into a small wardrobe area with toilet and washbasin off to the side. The shower is outside, which is OK after a swim during the day, but at night in the rain? There is no alternative shower or bath facility in the room, just the exterior shower and what they hopefully call a jacuzzi. The water was so cloudy you could not see the bottom properly and it looked about as inviting as a garden pond.

Once we had settled in, we began to notice other faults, none major, but taken together they certainly don’t align with our expectations of a deluxe hotel – bloodstains on the pillow, cracked toilet seat, stained wall hanging, broken plug adapter, grubby & worn bath towels. See photos.

With our package we were promised a gourmet 3 course meal. In reality this turned out to be the meal of the day on the day chosen. There was no alternative. We had a small portion of crispy duck, which wasn't bad, followed by what can only be described as a rabbit rissole, which was not at all nice - minced meat of some description with lots of gristle and fat, fried as a ball - yuk! . The desert was one scoop of vanilla ice cream and some sliced banana. Under no circumstances could it be called ‘Gourmet’. It was also fortunate that there were no fussy eaters or vegetarians in our party, as they would have gone hungry.

Surprisingly though, the breakfast every day was excellent, with fruit, home made bread and pastries followed by bacon, egg and tomatoes. It really set you up for the day – just as well really, because a hamburger at lunchtime would set you back a whopping $27 US including tax.

All in all I quite enjoyed my stay at the Damai Lovina. Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful and the village was interesting. A nice touch was a roaring wood fire by the pool one night, with bean bags to lounge on next to it. However, the place is grossly overpriced, probably by 2 or 3 times in comparison to the type of value you can get in Indonesia. Maybe if they reduced the room rate to say $100 a night I would be tempted back, but otherwise forget it. You leave the place with the overwhelming feeling of having been well and truly ripped off. Perhaps next time we fancy a bit of luxury we will visit the nearest Sheraton, stay in the Tower floor enjoy the spacious rooms, marble shower, free flow cocktails and afternoon snacks and save ourselves 50% on the rates charged by the Damai Lovina

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank johnv0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We rode from Candi Dasa to Lovina without really knowing where we were going to stay. When we finally arrived in Lovina, somewhat weary and sore from the bumpy, windy trip...we stopped at the first place that looked decent and jumped on the laptop to check out hotels. Most of the hotels in the Lovina area are run down and dated with their only saving grace being their friendly and helpful staff!! Perhaps our assessment was a little harsh given we had stayed in a private villa in Seminyak at the start of our trip..setting the bar a little high! We discovered the Damai on Wotif.com and rode on up to see if there were rooms available. The staff were amazingly welcoming and the room we were given was clean and tidy with all the mod-cons. i would say that the $230 we paid for the night was a little over priced...but the food in the restaurant more than made up for this! It was impeccable! The location of the hotel is quite isolated,so if you don't want to do much more than relax then this area isn't for you! There is complementary yoga on Wednesday and Sunday mornings...which was fantastic! Definitely the place to go for chilling out and unwinding that's for sure! Again, only criticism is the pricing of the rooms, although the food pricing in the restaurants was unbelievably reasonable for the quality of the food that was served!!! (and the house wine was great too!!)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmMcG-0774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

“This is a seriously special place. A romantic retreat high above Lovina beach, the setting is spectacular. The Deluxe Villas are simply but beautifully furnished in a Balinese style with lovely outdoor bathrooms. But, on the other side of the property, across a magical little walk-bridge and hidden down a secluded path are the Pool Villas. We were lucky enough to stay in one of these for our last 3 nights and they are, quite simply, spectacular. You are greeted by vaulted ceilings, Balinese antiques adorning the walls and large double-doors leading out to the expansive private veranda containing the piece-de-resistence, your own 10m infinity pool and private Balinese pavillion. It takes your breath away. All looking down over rice-fields tumbling towards the sea.
Back in the main hotel, the service is generally of a very high standard. Food is beautfully presented and, although expensive for the area, good value compared with other high end properties in the south of the island.
All common areas of the hotel are equally beaufiful, from the well maintained gardens to the lovely pool area.
Their mantra is "hard to find, harder to leave"...with a 3 hour drive from the airport, this is certainly true. And, nothing could be truer about having to leave.”

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamesn1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Damai hotel & resort is idealy located in front of an ocean and a green forrest is situated on its back side.
Damai hotel offers leisure activities and provide master massage,Swimming pool resturant and specialy tarace
offers oceans view as well as forrest.Having stayed in defferent places all over the world this is still
one of my favourite places to stay.What a fantastic place! Nice rooms, swimming pool and one of the most
outstanding restaurants I’ve eaten anywhere in the world.I have Spent five days at Damai, each more fantastic
than the previous.
The food, chef and staff are exceptional.They Made us feel like we stayed at a friend’s place
rather than in a resort”“We were just blown away by how serene and peaceful a resort we had chosen.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank Leanard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

I loved the Damai and thought it was great value for money, considering all the extra things the stay included: a small banana leaf package with local cakes every night, a free welcome masage, which was great, a free yoga lesson an early morning in the sun, an invitation to drinks by the poolside one night, and an invitation to coffee and cakes another day. Not to mention the free transportation to and from Lovina (a necessity, really, since Damai is located relatively secluded), the WONDERFUL breakfast and the excellent service.

Eating at the restaurant is a pleasure, but not cheap, and Lovina is not a very interesting place, so 3-4 nights will suffice, although Damai is difficult to leave.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank one_hell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We chose Damai as our fist stop on Bali. The idea was to visit the north, middle and south part of the island.
The place is located quite out of town, but it helps to keep quite and nice atmosphere there.
If you seek for crowdy and busy place, DAMAI is not for you.
It is a hotel for people who need peace, for those who love nature - amazing garden!, want to release stress.
We were checked in one of the small villas. Everything was clean, intertior was simple, but with nice design, with rustic touch. We enormously enjoyed outside shower and jacuzzi - kudos for the owners of the hotel!
Breakfast - wide range of products, FRESH, delicious!
We also tried their kitchen in the evening and everything was perfect too. The only thing that surprised us was the price of wine. Way too expensive.

If there is one thing that disappointed us a bit, it would be the service at the reception. Nobody informed us on the day of arrival about the activities that had been incl.in the price. And if it was not the manager of the hotel, we would have missed them.

Neverthless, we left Damai EXTREMELY happy and relaxed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pitbulltje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovina Beach
24.3 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
200 reviews
22.7 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 10 in Payangan
900 reviews
24.7 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#5 of 23 in Lovina Beach
544 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#10 of 23 in Lovina Beach
310 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 23 in Lovina Beach
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Damai

Address: Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, 81161, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range: $118 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
The Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing