We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay at rambutan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at rambutan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at Rambutan,we stayed in a deluxe room. The room was large with a comfortable bed,a nice sitting area overlooking one of the beautiful pools. The hotel is well situated and within walking distance to the beach and restaurants.
The whole hotel is very well kept and clean and we loved our stay in Lovina. We ate at the hotel 1 night and the food was delicious. We also used their tour service and spa. The owners Richard and Tini run their hotel with love and care and this shines through. I would definitely stay here again as it's a very relaxing environment.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you Karen for taking the time to give us a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    182
    74
    22
    10
See reviews for
131
230
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Returning to Rambutan is always a pleasure, whereas many places in Bali become run down over time, the owners here carry out maintainence regularly. So there were no disappointing surprises in the rooms.
The large pool is refreshing and the spa is a welcome retreat.The tropical gardens are glorious and I love watching the birds and the squirrels in the trees.
The owners Tini & Richard are always approachable and helpful, the staff are friendly without being overly familiar and in your face.
The food in the restaurant is great and always to the same standard.
I would recommend this hotel and will return!
Thanks Rambutan you never let us down!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AdelaideLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you Linda for your review. We love it when regular customers like you and your family keep coming back, year after year. We look forward to your next visit.

Response by Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I had the privilege of staying at the Rambutan for 4 nights in late January 2014. Being from Australia it was nice meeting the owner Richard (also from Australia) and his lovely wife Tini. Even though the area around Lovina isn't as pretty as some other areas in Bali what impressed us was how involved and supportive of the local community the owners are. We where lucky to experience a concert held at the Rambutan to raise money for the local orphanage and we met some lovely local people. The staff at this hotel were very friendly and helpful and our accommodation in the honeymoon villa was beautiful and the pools are fantastic! Take the time to take a day trip with "Eddie" to the beautiful places up in the hills.(Munduk waterfall, buddhist monastery and the hot springs to name a few) The hotel will arrange and is very reasonably priced. If you are up the North of Bali this place is a beautiful oasis amongst the busyness of bali

Room Tip: Honeymoon villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amber d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you like the hotel and the surrounding area. Yes Lovina has a lot to offer like drives in the local mountain range, with unspoilt water falls. Also some great snorkeling and diving, including the national park on Manjangan island. Thank you so much for supporting the charity event for the local orphanage and being so generous. Look forward to seeing you again

Response by Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I found the staff unwelcoming since the check in process. The attitude was like, why are you here? I thought maybe he had a bad day or just didn't like us, although that still didn't justify the unprofessional conducts. But when we saw the restaurant staff at breakfas who were as unsmiling and more interested in talking among themselves than in the guests, we concluded they need better hospitality training.
Location and facilities are fine, but you won't find Balinese smiles here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DPrabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. Regarding your welcome, we would like to apologize about this. I and my wife have been in the hotel business for over 25 years and know how important it is to welcome a guest. First impressions are everything. We have talked to our staff about what you have written.

Regarding the experience at breakfast I would like to say my two girl waiters basically walk around with a smile. Puspa has one of the best smiles a girl can have and Eka is also very friendly. My male waiter Mas is a little more serious but is extremely helpful and knows his job very well. We do however have high school children getting work experience at this time of the year and maybe those are the ones you saw talking to each other and not taking notice of guests.

Response by Richard Hood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLaren Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed together with my bestie from many years...for 5 nights in early Feb 2014

We arrived after a beautiful drive through the hills to serene and relaxing surroundings with lovely traditional style stone accommodation...loved it immediately.!!!
The Gardens are awesome and impressive and well looked after!!!
We shared a room with an extra bed, which was clean and comfy...and the bathroom unique with its unusual stone work, and the toilet is literally like "sitting on the throne" hehehe.

Owners Richard and Tini...were fantastic, and wonderful in helping me organize a surprise birthday for my friend consisting of : Birthday Breaky, Dinner ( "The Duck" ) yummo and a birthday cake, the day after we arrived. Richard also took us to the local Orphanage so we could give them some supplies.

Rambutan is walking distance to the beach and eating warungs and restaurants, however we did most of our eating at Rambutan because we loved the food and the staff !!!

Thanks Richard and Tini for an awesome visit if ever I get back to Lovina will be booking in with you again.

Jayne Marshall
Victor Harbor
SA

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms with views across the treetops, garden, pools and restaurant areas, or right down the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your review and compliments about our place. Your generosity to the local orphanage was certainly appreciated by the children. look forward to seeing you both again in the near future.

Response by Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We arrived at Rambutan and were delighted at the lovely gardens, huge room and nice stone ensuite. It was a nice relaxing place to just sit and while away the day. Breakky was great too! Unfortunately our trip was cut short and post-visit Richard was happy to respond to our queries in an efficient manner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kizkiz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us a review. Look forward to having you again as a return customer.

Response by Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed at Rambutan Hotel in Lovina for four nights. The rooms are large, clean, well built and nicely arranged! We had bad luck with the weather, nevertheless even with rain it is great to just relax at the covered terrace, read a good book and slow down.
The owners (Australian and Indonesian) are present, which ensures a good level of service and care.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artur7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to make a review. We are very happy you enjoyed our place and Lovina. Hope to see you back again soon

Response by Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lovina Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 24 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#9 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
#11 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#8 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lovina Beach Hotel
Lovina Beach Hotel
#13 of 24 in Lovina Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Boutique Hotel

Property: Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Address: Jalan Mawar, 9999, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lovina Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lovina Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambutan Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rambutan is situated in Lovina, the north of Bali and is family run and owned by Richard and Tini. The hotel is set in a large tropical garden with flowering shrubs and shady exotic fruit tree's. Facilities include two swimming pools,a Spa massage complex incorporating a fitness area and meeting Yoga and music room. Pool table and badminton court also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rambutan Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rambutan Boutique Hotel Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing