We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful view, cozy villa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hamsa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hamsa Resort
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, cozy villa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Went to hamsa lovina, because we want to try different ambience beach of bali, lovina beach is more quiet and we can see the dolphin there, but unfortunately the hamsa is located up on the hill, so its a little far from the beach, thus our plan to see dolphin in the morning is cancelled, if you want to see dolphin in the morning, try another hotel near the beach, cause we have to wake up very early to see the dolphin. But we didn't dissapointed because the hamsa itself is beautiful, with a beautiful view. We stay at the villa, its huge, with 2 rooms,i really like the villa, beautiful stone wall in the bedroom, high ceiling, there's a kitchen, easy to cook, a personal swiming pool,there's even a welcome dog n a welcome drink. The owner name stephan n her beautiful wife oky greet us in our check in with the frendly dog bruno. Stephan has just newly owner of the hamsa for 6 months, so he's trying to renovate more facility, such as added swimming pool, he and his wife and the dog has very kind to us during our stay, so i wish him well for the improvement . For the hamsa is already beautiful and more beautiful with the improvement. Overall this is a beautiful cozy villas that u can go with the whole family, and stay more than a day without getting bored, just a great place to relax. Its too bad that we stay just 1 night, we want to longer our stay if not we already book another hotel in another location. We surely comeback with a lot more family to enjoy the hamsa

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kikimarizka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    44
    19
    12
    4
See reviews for
12
85
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Hamsa offered beautiful views, fresh air, clean water. We stayed at the penthouse and found the balcony was vast and could probably hold confortably 30 or more people. the view from the balcony was the one worth waking up early for, even on your holiday. every morning, except Sunday, there was yoga session. this was the reason, i picked this villa for our holiday. we learned that the villa had recently changed hands, and is under new management.
PRO: breakfast was good. excellent home made papaya jam. eggs perfectly cooked, brown sugar instead of white refined sugar. their pancake was actually crepes. our kids loved this. generous size private pool, fresh clean water, nice views, generous size rooms. the main toilet can fit 10 people in! friendly, quick to action, attentive staffs, nice ginger tea to finish spa experience overlooking the property.
CON: take an experience driver to drive up.
yoga will be discontinued from 2014.
to our dissapointment, the villa was not cleaned to standard. animal droppings everywhere and insects at night flew in. the important thing to remember is to turn your lights off when not using which deter the insects from coming in. there was room in the villa, which supposed to be gym area to house the stationary cycle, was covered by spider web.
the queen size bed is single bed pushed together. this is unacceptable.
internal lighting was poor!
during our stay, we had pool pump broken, where we were asked to use the public pool. to access this pool, we need to climb many stairs. the pump was replaced by end of the day.
yoga teacher didn't showed up one morning, we inquired and were told to wait while they tried to contact the teacher. no one came back and said anything, we waited for an hour and left.
we were out the whole day, and upon our return we learned that there was no water in the villa. we were told to use the other villa's toilet. it is loated at another building and at lower
level. no lights on stairs, and the water was cold!
we resolve the matters amicably with the management by offering us complementary spa and flower bath. nice, if the flower bath water was warm. spa location was moved and no longer where the flower bath was. and we had the flower bath the day after our massage. the supposedly building for the spa was leaking and not being repaired. ashamed.
nothing to watch on tv for kids. only thai channels.
choice of food was limited and quite expensive. 80th IDR for fried rice.

generrally, the whole property was in desperate need of maintenance upgrade, inferior finishing, dirty overall appearance, very smelly second toilet!

will we returned? YES, but only if improvements made.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JawsLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mataram, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

second time to Bali and first time to Hamsa.... , it was... nice trip i ever had..., even though long way to reached that place... yeah... everything worthed....
great view.... nice room,..., delicious food,...fresh air every morning..... and friendly staffs for sure..., oh yeah.... playing with Owner cute dog " Bruno.. " Hamsa gonna be memorable place to stay....
sadly.... couldn't stay longer coz... got 2 days...day off only....

Room Tip: apartement could be nice... they got lovely kitchen there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dinno_79P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to the Hamsa, and certainly the views & setting were still as beautiful as we had remembered, along with the beautiful staff we had come to call our friends from our visit 12mths ago.
Unfortunately Henry, the previous owner and his amazing dog Bonnie are no longer there. The new owner, unfortunately is not friendly, quite arrogant and does not greet his guests. The sad part is we were quite upset by the way he was treating his staff (our friends); he shows no respect for them in anyway. Because of this new owner, we feel we will never return to the Hamsa again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

1st time to Lovina had a great experience staying at the Hamsa - we we perched at the top of a hill that goats would love. This is an amazing experience - drive up the hill (no walking up thats for sure) and you are knocked over by the most amazing views of the coast. No TV/Hairdryer/Bar fridge - but use of the fridges for your drinks - plentiful chlled water available all day 2 pools - fan in room was definately good enough in the hills. Food fab and cooked from scratch - yum - has the pleasure of meeting the new owners they should be proud of the way the Hamsa is run - so friendly (13 times to Bali so know how nice they were) Lovina is a place ready to explode the Hamsa will become a sort after place to stay - we will be back. THankyou to all they may our 5 nights memorable. x Make sure you do the YOGA classes. Also restaurants at Lovina will take you home after you eat there. Great service

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We arrived there at night, the way uphill is scary but the view is truly amazing, no matter at night or day! I stayed at the penthouse which is very very big with a little bit strange design, but it is very clean. The pool is clean during my stay and the view, once again, AMAZING. The new owner, the staff and the cat & dog are very friendly. Food is really good, I don't think it's overproce cause it's fresh and organic. It's vegetarian friendly too! The serving time is slow but afterward I realized Bali's restaurants serving time are slow. I have no regret staying there even though it's a bit far from Lovina as the environment is cleaner and much hygiene.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JiaLinANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

A rocky and steep road up, but what a view!
We've stayed in one of the villas surrounding the smaller pool for 3 nights. The villa was clean with enough room, no ac or mosquitonet. You didn't really need an ac, because the cool sea breeze and the fan was sufficient for a cool room.

The staf is nice and friendly and the food is fine. Both pools where a bit cloudy though. Swimming in the top pool is recommended for magnifcient view at sunset!

The stray cats and dogs where a negative, as they tend to beg for food while you're having dinner.
Also being on top of the hill means calling a taxi or driver to bring you down.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephane G, Owner at The Hamsa Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Hi David and Sarah,
I was very happy as well we could save the credit card problem. I m very happy to know that you enjoyed in The Hamsa Resort Bali i wish you the best and i hope we will meet again.
Thanks one more time choosing Hamsa.
Stephane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lovina Beach hotels
2.6 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#6 of 23 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 668 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
#11 of 23 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#7 of 23 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#10 of 23 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hamsa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hamsa Resort

Property: The Hamsa Resort
Address: Jalan Air Terjun Sing Sing, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hamsa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept health resort in Lovina, Bali on an unique location. Enjoy the amazing panorama view, the delicious food, Yoga and the Ayuvedic spa all with the feeling of being in a jack johnson video clip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Hamsa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hamsa Resort Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing