We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and quiet place in Lovina”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hamsa Bali Resort
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely and quiet place in Lovina”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hamsa is located on a hill, 2,5KM from the sea (30 min walk) and 8KM from the city center (a 2/3 hours walk).


The hotel itself offers a nice swimming pool (from with we can seen the sea below) and 6 lovely bungalows.

++++ The view from the hotel is simply amazing and unique.

+++ Food (mostly vegetarian food, with local ingredients (some even from the hotel garden)

--- Impossible to pay via credit card or even foreign currency making it a nightmare to pay the bill (in Baly most ATM will not allow withdrawals of more than 1 000 000 ruppies, imagine if you have to get 8 000 000 ruppies for the bill...). For this reason i dont advise anyone to spend more than 2 nights... perhaps the owner will be more open minded in the future.

-- There are a few dogs which i believe belong to the owner of the place, Not that dogs is a problem in itself but constantly earing barking at almost every meal and every night (2AM, 5AM etc) is making the Hamsa a not quiet at all relaxing and quiet place. Also its always anoying to have them at your feet while eating and sometimes seeing them entering the kitchen...

-- Incomprehensible list of things to do from the hotels: there are more than one list of activities, with different prices and different things to do, for one organized trip in particular I was mentionned three different prices...

- Lack of service from the staff: often have to get the menu ourselves, placing orders directly in the kitchen (the cooks are however lovely and very good at cooking!)

- Prices not including vat and service tax (for food and spa)

In a few words, lovely site (best in Lovina), lovely food (and amazing cook), but a place that badly lack management (ruppies cash only policy, no service, Incomprehensible trip list and prices, noisy place with dogs).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mat m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHamsa, Manager at The Hamsa Bali Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Mat,

Thank you for your compliments and your stay at our resort!

We are happy you gave us your feedback and we will take your points of criticism at hand to improve the guest experience in The Hamsa Resort.

Hereby we would also like to take the opportunity to explain the reasons behind some of your points of improvements.

For all points: we just opened and still there are some small things that need tweaking... we try to make the Hamsa a nice and peaceful as possible.....

- The Card payment system we have applied for but the process takes a long time with the banks here, we hope to have the system operating in August 2012.

- The Information about excursions are now available in menus in each room, our apologies for the mix up.

- The 2 dogs Buddah and Bunny are normally not so "vocal" as during your stay but during the Ramadan the small amount of muslims in Bali have ceremony.s early in the morning which alarms the dogs as it is unusual.

- Regarding the service: we are working with local women from the village the Hamsa is situated in ...to give these people a job in the tourist sector...they are not yet so well trained as big city balinese...but the yard great cooks which makes sure our kitchen has that home cooked taste you don't find so much anymore...! we are training them every day..and hope to generate a new batch of professionals in this small village.

I hope to welcome you to The Hamsa one day, and provide you with a better experience!

Sorry for the inconveniences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    46
    26
    13
    6
See reviews for
14
94
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

During my travels in South-East Asia I stayed here for almost two weeks and I loved it! What a beautiful place and the views are amazing! Tip: watch the sunset from out of the swimming pool, its stunning! The food is great and the staff is very nice as well... When you need time for yourself you can find many places in this beautiful garden to hideaway, relax, read a book etc. Hire a motorbike and explore the area, there many things to do in the north of Bali! And im sure the staff will tell you everything about it! Enjoy! ;-)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights during my 4 month travel through South-East Asia. It was for sure on of the most memorable stays during my travels. The views are absolutely stunning, the food is delicious and the staff is really friendly!
This place is highly recommended when you want to avoid mass tourisme on Bali. Considering I am everything BUT a mass tourist, I am definitely going back to this place when I visited Bali next time! ;-)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronxjansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The Hamsa, the perfect spot for a romantic getaway or serene retreat. Although the last few km of the road leading up to the resort are pretty bumpy, it's well marked and definitely worth the trip.

The view overlooking Lovina is amazing. Not 1 but 2 infinity pools, all rooms, the Spa and superb Yoga area are facing the sea.

Welcoming friendly staff & Manager Henry (aka the friendly Dutch giant) will walk the extra mile to make your stay into a perfect holiday experience.

The food menu is delicious and a good mixture between healthy, organic and scrumptious options.

Don't miss out of the, free of charge, sunset session of Asthanga Yoga, definitely worth the early rise and shine.

To go to the beach is just a 5 min ride, to Lovina town about 10min.

We will be back again in the near future for sure!

Thanks to all staff for making our stay into a great experience and see you soon!

Room Tip: All rooms have an amazing sea view, but for an extremely romantic view you have to go to higher grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MukaBuku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I had a great stay at the Hamsa! It's a really quiet nice resort hidden in the hills of Lovina, with beautiful seaviews. I did some yoga, hang out at the swimming pool and just totally relaxed.The rooms are clean, beds are comfy. I was there for 5 nights in March 2012. Amazing food(the Hamsa Hamburger is heaven!) and super friendly staff.
Next time I visit Bali, I will definitely go there again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolien d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

During my 6 month solo travel through Indonesia I discovered this perfect place in the hills of North Bali. And I just keep coming back there. It's a perfect hideaway where I finish a book, meditate, soak up the sun, swim, do yoga...totally rejuvenate. Quiet, beautiful garden and (infinity) pools, super comfy beds, extremely clean and fantastic service and food. Happy staff makes happy guests that's for sure. Breakfast is amazing, so many options included. Spinach and feta omelette is the best. And the oreo cheesecake, vietnamese rice paper rolls, Balinese green pancakes ahh I've gotta go back there soon. Nothing beats the early morning yoga class at the outdoor yoga platform (and I've seen many studio's and instructors). Overlooking the sea, watching the sun rise while you do your sun salutation, can't wish for more. Don't forget to spoil yourself with the ayurvedic massage, this sweet lady has got magic in her hands! I hope to be back there soon, The Hamsa resort is really the winner of my trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ETvdL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Staying 2 days at The Hamsa Resort was an amazing relaxing and very enjoyable experience. I was seriously sad to leave as you completely feel at home and taken care off in The Hamsa. There are many reasons why this resort is so special, but I guess most important is the amazing atmosphere created by the mind blowing view and very friendly staff. The staff gives you very personal attention and even knows you by name. They really seem to enjoy to work at The Hamsa and to give you a taste of their amazing freshly cooked food. This friendly and positive atmosphere is obviously set by the host and manager Henry. Henry takes care of you and his staff like you are his family. Always a personal chat about your day and how you feel, but he also knows when you want to be left alone. He organizes everything for you including being with the dolphins all alone!! The Hamsa is a great place to meet other travellers if you are alone, but being a romantic couple there are several great options to have privacy as well. . There are two stunning pools of which one of them is very private. They have an amazing villa where you can stay with the whole family or there are very cute bungalows for one, two or three persons. All have the amazing same view over the mountain and ocean! In the morning it is great to start your day with The Hamsa yoga sessions or a lovely massage in the spa with again…. The View!! Recommended to everyone!!

Room Tip: If you are with a family the villa could be a very nice option. Otherwise the bugalows are best! Jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilje R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lovina Beach hotels
2.8 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#6 of 23 in Lovina Beach
526 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#8 of 23 in Lovina Beach
294 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#10 of 23 in Lovina Beach
232 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort
1.7 mi away
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
#11 of 23 in Lovina Beach
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hamsa Bali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hamsa Bali Resort

Property: The Hamsa Bali Resort
Address: Jalan Air Terjun Sing Sing, 81152, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hamsa Bali Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept health resort in Lovina, Bali on an unique location. Enjoy the amazing panorama view, the delicious food, Yoga and the Ayuvedic spa all with the feeling of being in a jack johnson video clip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Hamsa Bali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hamsa Bali Resort Lovina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing