We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, but good.”
Review of Lovina Beach

Lovina Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Dolphin Watching, Waterfalls and Ulundanu Temple Tour in Bali
More Info
$51.85*
and up
Singaraja and Bedugul North Coast Bali Mountain Tour
More Info
$77.01*
and up
Day Trip to Northern Bali
Sydney Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quiet, but good.”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

The Lovina area in north Bali may not have the surfing beaches of the south but it had more than enough to occupy my family. We went in low season and stayed in a private villa 10 mins out of town. We didn't bother with the overpriced "Melka swimming with dolphins" but going out dolphin watching with a Katut in his wooden boat was a highlight. Five minutes away is a hot springs with a Buddhist temple nearby.

There is plenty of eating places in Lovina and a large fixed price shop out on the main road to buy souvineers.

Getting to and from Lovina takes you through Bedugal mountains, allow about 3 to 4 hours depending on traffic. There is some scenery, if you are inclined you can stop at Git Git waterfall though its more than the signposted 500metre walk in.

We found Lovina to be less developed than the usual Bali tourist spots, but we like that.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank heckendorfmortgage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    320
    281
    132
    119
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
perth ,West .Aust
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise found Lovina Bali”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

To appreciate the true beauty of Bali and better understand the lifestyle of its people it is a good idea to break away from the tourist saturated areas such as Tuban, Kuta Legion and Seminyak.
On my last three visits to Bali I caught a local bus through the terraced rice fields and villages in western Bali.Travelling via Tabanan, Papuan and Serrit the pleasant four hour journey delivered me to the north coastal district of Lovina.This area has a much slower and seemingly more authentic pace than the south.It reminded me of the Bali of 30 years back.It is certainly less expensive than the popular southern locations and has really great little restaurants.Being primarily a fishing village there is ann abundance of fresh quality seafood. With hot springs,waterfalls,dolphin tours and visits to the old Capital Singaraja all within a short distance of Lovina it is a very central spot to stay at.
By shuttle back to Kuta/Legion etc[90000 rupiah] and going inland there are truly magnificent views from the many mountain tops including roadside monkeys.Passing many small villages and temples it is then on to the inland lakes at Bedugall ,many local markets and via Ubud arriving back to the south at around 1.00pm. In all a truly wonderful round trip seeing some of the real Bali.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank honey583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Relaxing but Very Touristic Site”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

You can do Dolphin-watching in the morning. Nice and quiet area, but I felt the place was just a touristic area and missed some local charm. Lots of resorts and tourists all around. Locals are nice and welcoming there, as usual in Bali. I played some Volleyball with the Locals there, they had a rather good level. The beach and the sea are beautiful and clean, sunset was amazing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fiso A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“See dolphins and sunrise”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Lovina beach is a black sand beach but the beach is not very clean (still acceptable). The boat rental is IDR 600,000 for 6 people (can share with other group). If you were lucky enough you can see dolphins swimming in the sea [I am that lucky girl :) ], otherwise you only can enjoy the sunrise and breeze in the sea for 1 hours. Remember not to eat too much before setting sail because it is quite dizzy when the boat stops to wait the dolphins come out!!! Besides that, short pants is a MUST!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eunice_Lau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Relaxing”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Love those clean black sand. Dolphin watch was such joy.
Got to try the fresh seafood from local restaurant - most are day's catch...yummy!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank hawkkwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lovina Beach also viewed

 

Been to Lovina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing