We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't believe how good it was”
Review of Villa Teman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Teman
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We have just spent 2 magnificent weeks at Villa Teman in the gorgeous village of Kalibukbuk, Lovina . It has been the best holiday! The villas are absolutely luxurious and the staff are so friendly and happy. There are 3 villas, each with their own pool, and set amongst beautiful gardens. The bathrooms are set in fantastic gardens as well. Honestly, I can find no fault with Villa Teman as they tick all boxes for a luxurious holiday, but very reasonably priced. They are within 100 metres of great restaurants and bars, but so quiet and peaceful as well. We loved it and will be returning in December for a bit more of the Villa Teman magic. We think this Villa as the best we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Choose Villa 2 if you want a slightly bigger living space, but all villas are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 79 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

Teman is the Indonesian word for friend and Villa Teman certainly lives up to its name.
The four owners of Villa Teman have put enormous love and effort into achieving an effect that successfully combines the influence of Balinese culture with Western modernity, all within a friendly atmosphere.
Situated in the heart of Lovina, the complex is the ultimate in luxury. Featuring three private, two bedroom villas that can be opened up to create a more expansive area for families or groups, each villa has its own plunge pool, fully equipped kitchen and spacious open plan dining/sitting room. All bedrooms have king size beds and their own ensuite bathroom.
The villas are equipped with superb, quality furnishings and equipment that ensure guests are comfortable and surrounded by Balinese touches to create that special Indonesian ambience.
Extras include housemaid and laundry services, WiFi and return transfers within Bali and each villa comes with an in-room safe etc. Breakfast is served every morning by professional and efficient staff, and lunch and dinner can also be prepared on order. The local staff are dedicated to ensuring your holiday is a thoroughly enjoyable and memorable one. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The villas are so beautifully presented and designed, absolute decadence and luxury. The staff are wonderful, no request is too much is too much for Mira and her girls. Wisma the guide is terrific, will take you anywhere you like and organise anything you want to do. The local restaurants are very close and almost all provide excellent food. Lovina is perfect for anyone who wants the full Bali experience without the hustle and bustle of Kuta. I cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

On a whim we decided the best way to celebrate a friend’s 30th birthday would be to go to Bali with eleven of our close friends. We were recommended Villa Teman in Lovina as the perfect place for our holiday.
Being a frequent visitor to Bali I was truly blown away with the experiences we were lucky enough to have during our time at Villa Teman.

Not only are the villa’s purely amazing, both inside and out. But to be truly welcomed and looked after by Wisma our driver and Mira and the girls is pure luxury. Freshly cooked breakfast every morning, our rooms tended too and the staff always present to help make our holiday the best it could be.

Lovina is a beautiful place, offering all you need from shopping to restaurants to activities for all ages. For those who are wanting to experience the true Bali, Villa Teman is the answer. We look forward to returning there very soon. Plus our holiday was a little extra special- as I was proposed to!

Room Tip: All the rooms were great! We hired all the Villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

For anyone whom has traveled to Bali, they know that it can be (the southern areas most notably) quite crowded and busy (especially during the high season). That is why it was such a pleasant surprise to discover Northern Bali, the great little town of Lovina and the wonderful Villa called Villa Teman. Situated in the heart of Lovina (literally) minutes from the beach, dolphin watching, scuba diving, an extremely wide range of eateries/bars etc of all price ranges and tastes (from cheap local cuisine to Thai, to Italian to Japanese the more expensive fusion flavors of the world class Damai dining room), spas and so on, and short drives (hire a driver or rent a scooter, that is a great way to get around and explore) to a Hot Spring, Waterfalls, National Parks, Temples, Coffee/Rice Plantations and so much more… Villa Teman is a centralized treat.

Our villa, like the others there was a two bedroom open air concept villa (like most of this type are in Bali), with a great plant laden- private pool/sundeck area in the middle of the private walled oasis. Each large air conditioned bedroom also comes with their own bathroom that are also open air-concept, (note they do not have bathtubs but giant showers) and the villa comes loaded with all the amenities one would ever need: A fully stocked refrigerator, full function kitchen and digital television (if you would want to watch TV while there), in room safes, free wi-fi, and an Iphone speaker doc for listening to music while lazing by the poolside… to just name a few things. There is even a limited selection of books for one whom may have forgot to bring one with them for some reading next to the pool. Spacious and airy, Villa Teman is definitely one of the best villas I have ever stayed at in Bali (concept wise, space wise and amenities wise)

The Villa Teman’s staff is what made our stay extra special for me. As with many villas of this type, each morning you will be awoken to the smell of breakfast (you choose from a menu of choices each day and set the time for them to prepare it for you in your kitchen), fresh fruit and coffee waiting. While this type of service is not uncommon, the difference to me was the staff. They stayed to make more coffee, clean up after and generally just made our breakfast a great experience, each morning. Never intrusive, but always willing to help, I really felt a difference with this staff than I have from other villas I have stayed at in other parts of Bali. You can also order lunch/dinner to be cooked from their menu of Balinese foods (as we did the first evening upon arrival), which are quite good, and reasonably priced (fish sate… yum). The staff is there to help you with all you would ever need. From arranging drivers for day trips (note, be VERY specific about what you want to do/what has been planned before hand for your outings so there are not misunderstandings), to calling in a masseuse for an in-villa massage, to conducting fun and interactive cooking classes, to arranging motorbikes for the duration of your stay, to FREE daily laundry service, the staff of the Villa Teman are really the best I have ever encountered on my numerous trips to Bali. They are extremely friendly and approachable and it was great to get to know them a bit (especially during my cooking class, which I enjoyed a great deal).

Not nearly as crowded as southern Bali, low season is an even better treat as there are virtually no tourists around at all. The three villa complex can be rented together, and opened up to create one giant villa, or rented as three separate entities, or a combination thereof. (I believe), less than a year old, the Villa Teman is still one of the few types of villas of this kind in the Northern area yet (this type of villa is quite common elsewhere on the island), and they are definitely worth it for anyone whom is celebrating a special occasion, wants a bit of pampering and total relaxation, or just wants to get away from it all for a few days and enjoy a bit of seclusion. We enjoyed it so much, we even extended our stay!! Airport pick-up and drop off is included in the package (the trip is about three hours depending on traffic, but along the way you can stop for pictures etc, and the driver is more than willing to share with you information about the areas along the way… feel free to ask questions).

It was a wonderful ten year anniversary for my partner and me. Still retaining some of the small town feel and charm that seems to have been lost a bit now in the very developed south, Villa Teman is definitely worth checking out as the place to stay if you’re thinking of Northern Bali. Thanks to everyone there for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Can be rented as single villas or opened up into communal villas to accomodate large groups of up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ponderingthought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Loved our stay at Villa Teaman in Lovina. We stayed in a private villa with our own pool. The living and dining area is spacious and luxurious- a combination of modern and Balinese style. Staff are friendly and so helpful. Cooking class we had with Mira in the villa was fantastic and the best food we had in Bali. Loved the massages from the spa. We will be back with our friends as the 3 villas can be opened up to accomodate up to 12 friends or family. A lovely experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We were lucky enougth to find villa Teman, my wife and i were looking for a private villa for five days in Bali and based on reccomendation of a friend we went to north bali to lovina beach, we found Villa Teman after looking at about six other hotels.

The staff were really friendly and did everything to make us comfortable, the beds and bedrooms were really large and the bathrooms were stunning, the private pool was excellent and very private, the living area was fantastic when we had enougth of sitting around the pool area on the sunlounges we just relaxed with a cool drink on the large banquet seating in the living area , we had cooking classes with Mira the head housekeeper and we visited the spa next door where we had a relaxing massage and spa treatment

We also got up early and went dolphin watching, good to note that there were plenty of places to eat within easy walking distance , we will return next year with some friends and book out all three villas.

The part of lovina we stayed in was called kalibukbuk it is a great area which does not have anywhere near as many tourists as the Kuta area we really reccomend it as an alternative to kuta ubud and seminyak

Room Tip: all rooms have the same outlook over the pool areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alex p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lovina Beach hotels
2 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 26 in Lovina Beach
848 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#9 of 26 in Lovina Beach
246 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 26 in Lovina Beach
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Puri Bagus Lovina
Puri Bagus Lovina
#1 of 1 in Pemaron
553 reviews
3 mi away
Kelapa Lovina Beach Villas Bar & Resto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Teman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Teman

Address: Jalan Palem | Kalibukbuk, 81152, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Lovina Beach
Price Range: $110 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Teman 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Teman is a boutique complex of 3 private but adjoining villas for couples or groups up to 12 people.Each of the villas is fitted with a blend of Balinese traditional style and Western conveniences and has its own private pool. Villa living areas include patio,kitchen, dining and seating area. The bedrooms have ceiling fans and air conditioning, available with twin singles or king size beds. Each bedroom has a garden bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Teman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Teman Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing