We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty but impractical, huge disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Lilin was the worst accommodation I had for my whole bali trip though it was the most expensive. It was pretty but impractical, and service was lukewarm. I recommend going 2 units down to Aditya which was so different and warm.when we went for dinner.
1. Amenities: Aircon remotes did not work, and the water trickled in such a small stream from the shower head. Furthermore, the water would turned hot suddenly, making it very unsafe for me to bathe my baby. There are no phones in the room hence you can't communicate with the reception nor with another room.
2. There were black sand flies on my bed & I got a few bites
3. There is a water dispenser in the room: very unsafe for young toddlers as the hot water button did not have a safety catch & toddlers would easily get scalded.
4. Inattentive staff: they arranged for 1 massage & 2 facial but we were told to wait for 20min when we went over. Later on, they told us we could only do 1 massage & 1 facial, and had to wait for another facial to be done. Massage was good but facial was very rough & uncomfortable. On the 2nd day, we were heading out at 11 and told them to come back later to do housekeeping but they did not do so. Early in the morning at 8, the staff was sweeping loudly outside our room, waking us up. Staff were not sure of the excursion/ massage rates when queried, and it was different from the rates published on their web. A China couple was even quoted USD10 for dolphin watching though it only cost 80,000rp
5. Worst part was the dinner at the acclaimed no. 1 Rikki's Bistro: waiting time was long, there were mosquitoes & the food was horrible though arranged nicely. Free concert was from 6-7pm but the musicians were more interested to check their mobile phones than to play nice music, and you don't see any smiles or pride in them.
6. Breakfast: You don't have a choice. You just eat what they serve you. Fruits & juice are standard. 1st day we got muffins & baked eggs that were very salty. 2nd day we got baked apple pie & banana pancakes (both sweet items).
7. We asked for a refund for the 2nd night but Rikki would only offer us half of what we paid, which made the entire experience even more sore because she said that she did not feel that they were responsible for my disappointment. It all really adds up.
8. Misleading description: We had a courtyard villa, but it was more like 2 rooms side by side that shared a pool. Very limited walking space & unsafe for elderly & toddlers, and the pool is quite deep if they fall in. There is no common area like other villas, for mingling with family. This is a huge huge disappointment. The supposed "dining area" is merely a small table with 2 armchairs in front of your room! Be careful & clarify. They obviously do not know what villa means despite being in Bali.

Room Tip: Avoid the courtyard villa. Avoid this place altogether.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eushu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 310 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel is more a B&B actually but ok for a few nights (although breakfast could have been better). Also, as most places close to the beach they have some ants running around and I would have appreciated checking my drinks before serving them (they sometimes came with complementary ant).
Rooms are spacious and nicely decorated, bathroom is fine. You have a nice porch outside and small pool to dip should you want to.
But what you do need to experience are the sunset concerts given by the owners of the place, accompanied by the beautiful pink sunset, that is really a must-do!
Staff is very helpful and accomodating though so if you want to go somewhere or do an excursion they will assist you. They also have shuttle service so if you want to go and have dinner they'll drive you there and pick you up if you want.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much the same so doesn't matter
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed in the 2 bedroom villa and from the warm welcome (juice and a chocolate brownie, not to mention the smiling faces) through to the live nightly entertainment, our 2 night stay was simply everything we wanted! The vila was lovely, clean, cool and very very comfortable. The swinging chairs, plunge pools and view of the beach was just devine. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The owners were delightful and made sure our 'Lovina experience' was complete with great conversation and entertainment, superb food and total relaxation. On our last day Rikki helped us arrange transport to east-Bali via a delightful restaurant called Shanti including a swim at a beautiful waterfall (just 20 minutes from Lovina). I would unreservedly recommend Lilin Lovina to anyone wanting to get out of the hustle and bustle of the south of Bali. We will definitely be returning!!

Room Tip: All the villas looked beautiful but our 2 bedroom villa was delightful!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Pros: Had a great stay here. The room is very clean with great breakfast! The staff is very friendly and helpful too. The complimentary ride to 'dolphin square' (where most of the shops are) is very helpful too. We had a great time splashing in our own private pool. Every night there will be a live band at their restaurant, perform by the owner themself! Post office is also nearby, just across the road, very convenient for us to post postcards from lovina. They have spa services too, open air concept and very comfortable.

cons: We had the villa nearest to the beach, and also to the restaurant. The pool for all the villas is infront of the room which also facing the restaurant too, so there is not much privacy if splashing in the pool during peak dinner time, but fortunately the restaurant only open till 9.30pm.

Room Tip: the 3rd villa from the beach is the best as it has more privacy when splashing in the pool
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeeAlfian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

From the moment we booked we were made feel special.
This small hotel is tranquil and peaceful.
We arrived in the afternoon and were greater with freshly made cookies and juice.
The rooms are clean and uncluttered. You can have a tv bought to your room but we choose not to.
Love the swing chairs in front of the rooms.
Dinner at Rikki's was beautiful and delicious, as were the drinks.
Breakfast on the beach was delicious.
They organised our dolphin tour and snorkelling tour, which were wonderful.
Staff gave fantastic suggestions for lunch and dinners at other restaurants in Lovina.
The plunge pools were lovely although if traveling with older kids I would recommend the courtyard room which has a slightly larger pool as opposed to two plunge pools in the beach view room.
Thank you Lilin Lovina for making our trip to north Bali perfect.

Room Tip: If travelling with children who want a bigger pool, book the courtyard room which has a slightly lar...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lidfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We chose to stay in Lovina on our first night in Bali. We almost missed the live show as we reached there around 7pm. It took almost 4 hours to reach there from the airport. The check in session was smooth and fast. I love the open lobby area. They do offer dolphin tour package upon check in, however we have booked another dolphin tour together with snorkelling. We fell in love with the small cottage right away. The room size is ok not that spacious but we love the deco & details of the room. We had a light dinner by the beach. After chilling at the plunge pool for a while, we straight away went to bed. However, I must say loud noise from the 'party' kilometres away from Lilin Lovina was quite disturbing. We woke up very early in the next morning for our dolphin trip. Honestly, we felt really sorry for the dolphins as more than 50 boats continuously chasing them. However, the sun rise view is magnificent. Snorkelling trip was so-so. Once done, we had our breakfast. I like the scone and the fruit juice. Though the sand is dark, I love the beach view form the cafe. I had my complimentary massage at the open spa garden. Overall, we love the resort and will definitely come back should we pay another visit to Lovina.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nurullizasaleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

From the minute we booked online a few days prior to our visit, Rikki and Brian went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We had no idea what to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised at the beautifully appointed and spotless rooms, each with their own plunge pool. The view out to the beach is stunning.
We loved everything! The comfy beds, the stylish décor, the friendly staff, the live music at night, the uniquely delicious food, the spa! We enjoyed snorkelling, swimming, wandering down the beach into town. Rikki gave us wonderful tips for other places to visit in Bali. Had one of the loveliest meals in memory while listening to live music on the beach. Brian, Rikki and their staff are talented and try their utmost to make everything perfect yet relaxed. We were not bothered by mosquitoes or bugs at all; the little geckos took care of those:). Had we known what we were in for, we would have booked for longer than 2 nights!
Our first night we sat and listened to the live music - very entertaining. Enjoyed some terrific bevvies and one of the best meals of our entire trip.
The rooms were clean, quiet and very comfortable, with many thoughtful amenities. We had a delicious breakfast of banana pancakes the first day, served on our patio. The next morning, after a gorgeous sunrise boat ride out to visit the dolphins, we ate a tasty egg dish at the beachfront restaurant. The food was fabulous and very different to anything else you`d find in Bali. I enjoyed a fabulous massage and facial, and could not rave enough about the service.
The only even slightly negative things I can think of are that the walk along the road to and from the main part of town is not great. But there is a shuttle, so this was our own choice! Also, we were lucky enough to be in the room closest to the beach. Otherwise, I think there may be a bit of road noise. This place is perfect for a few days of peace and relaxation, with a laidback vibe that is still fun and entertaining.

Room Tip: rooms closer to the beach are best (big surprise), as they are further from the road and quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lovina Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#5 of 23 in Lovina Beach
544 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
813 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#9 of 23 in Lovina Beach
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
#11 of 23 in Lovina Beach
140 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 23 in Lovina Beach
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel

Address: Jalan Singaraja-Seririt, 81152, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lovina Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range: $44 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilin is a unique beachfront retreat on Bali's north coast. Private villas feature personal plunge pools, courtyard gardens and in-room spa treatments. Rooms have both AC and fan cooling, TVs and DVDs on request, free WiFi internet. Guests enjoy beachfront lounges for sunning, reading and relaxing. Savor the delight of Bali outdoor living and the comforts of home in these beachfront villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing