We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best brownies!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of AKAR Cafe Lovina

AKAR Cafe Lovina
Ranked #6 of 67 Restaurants in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $6
Cuisines: Cafe, Asian, Indonesian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Vegetarian cafe lovina Bali, selling organic salads, smoothies, ice creams, falafel and pastas. Health food shop and weekly yoga classes.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best brownies!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We are here after dinner, so we only order dessert and tea. Superb brownies with the perfect warmness, topped with nice light tasting vanilla ice cream (more like gelato to me). Wonderful!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ari1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    62
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh food in a lovely setting with great service - what more could you ask for?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Akar was a refreshing change to the standard Indonesian fare of nasi goreng and satay. The menu was inventive and creative while being made with local top quality organic food but at a very reasonable price. The staff were friendly and helpful (which made a nice change to some other experiences we had in Bali) and the stream running past the back deck makes for a peaceful setting. We happened to find this on our first day in Lovina and ended up going back every day!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Markpartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place for fresh food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

After studying and travelling around Indonesia for six weeks (and with two months to go!), my friends and I really wanted to find a good place with legitimately good western-fusion-fresh food. We are all vegetarian (but can imagine anyone could find something there!) and absolutely loved it. Our salads were amazingly fresh, the pita bread hot and thick, and the brownies for dessert warm and moist. I got saffron couscous with grilled eggplant stuffed with feta cheese and spices--great choice. Akar Cafe is an fantastic break from nasi goreng day in and day out. I am always skeptical about going to western food places in Asia, but found this place to be absolutely amazing. The owner (an Englishwoman) was even there when we went! Great to talk to her and here about her inspiration for creating the restaurant. One thing: don't expect great internet here, and bring bug spray for the back (like all of Bali).

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CVB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Vegetarians Dream in Lovina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

Not only was it great to find a vegetarian restaurant in Lovina, but this place had the best food. We went back everyday for a week. The smoothies and ice cream were great too and we ate almost everything on the menu. AND bonus free wifi, what more could you want!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

This food was stunning, fresh and full of flavour we enjoyed several lunches here. They offer free Wifi which is handy when your travelling. The restaurant is very little and looks out over a small stream.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KathPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AKAR Cafe Lovina also viewed

 
Kaliasem, Lovina Beach
 

Been to AKAR Cafe Lovina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing