We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Bali beach house with extras....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lovina Beach Houses
Ranked #8 of 39 Lovina Beach B&B and Inns
Fitzroy, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A beautiful Bali beach house with extras....”
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the joglo house behind the beachfront terraces and our 2 days in these lovely surrounds made our short time in Lovina memorable. The house is as traditional as it gets, with wooden shutters,doors and a magnificently carved ceiling which is the centrepiece in the main bedroom. The outdoor area is where you can relax on the daybed and take in the stunning gardens that surround the house. The extras make this house special, a private pool with frangipannis as a canopy, beautiful outdoor bathroom (great bath) and a functional kitchen that looks out to a rice paddy so you get a glimpse of village life. The beach is less than 50 metres away but we found it hard to take those few extra steps with such a lovely pool to enjoy. Breakfast is cooked in the kitchen for you in the morning, not substantial but still a treat. Get a foot massage from katut by the pool....devine. The restaurants are accesible by walking around 500 metres on the beach. The house interior is quite dark but thats because it is made in the traditional way. This place will make your stay in Lovina a special one!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pipsbowtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    21
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

or very close to it. on the beach, our own pool, Ketut's incredible massages and Nofi's breakfasts. the staff were all super friendly, met Jill who was welcoming as well. a short walk to restaurant strip, need a torch at night for the short walk along the beach. No regrets about staying here- go for it!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maroon25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Great little place but we came at the worse possible time weather-wise. Hot, very hot and humid. I've been to Bali for more than a dozen times and it was by far the muggiest experience I've ever had. Because of this we weren't able to enjoy the room as much as we'd like.

The first negative was the local critters - woke up one night to find a mouse rummaging through a pile of our snack food which had to go in the bin. It also ate our soap. Quickly sorted by storing the food in the fridge although one night I forgot to throw a chocolate wrapper in the bin and had it sitting on the bed-side table. Woke up that night to a pair of eyes staring at me.

Second negative was the location - the biggest selling point is where it is located, but it is also a bad thing. Very, very quiet. There were no close-by restaurants or shops so there was a bit of a trek to the main Lovina strip. Wouldn't have been an issue if it were any other time of the year but as it was particularly horrid, it became a chore due to the heat.

Overall, I loved the place. The staff were very friendly and the location is extremely tranquil. Perfect if you simply want to get away from the hustle and bustle of life. If I were to change anything about the place, I'd improve the air-conditioning for those extra hot days, strike up a home-delivery deal with local restaurants to alleviate the need to leave the house at night and install WiFi for those who needed contact with the rest of the world.

Oh, and I'd figure out some better pest-control.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thatgrumguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed for 9 nights from 29th October 2011 and it was very relaxing and enjoyable.
Closer to the real Bali than when we were in Nusa Dua and Kuta previously.
Very quiet but still a wide variety of restaurants and shops within walking distance.
The staff were there when needed but otherwise unseen. Extremely helpful and even went to the shops for us to get washing done and fill the fridge with Bintang.
The locals were very friendly and not pushy at all.
I strongly recomend this if you are looking for a Bali experience that isn't all night clubs or large resorts. The two storey two bed/bath villa could easily handle two couples as one bed is upstairs and one down. We will be back.
Dave

Room Tip: Both bathroom are downstairs but separate so if you don't want to walk up and down stairs regula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I was in two minds to review Lovina Beach houses,If everyone knows how lovely it is here we wouldn't be able to get in again,but that wouldn't be fair .We Only stayed the one night to catch up with friends.It was one of the high lights of our holiday .A real Bali experience complete with chickens running about. A quiet location (apart from the chickens) away from it all but a short trot into the town if you want a meal and a beer.(taxi back)The staff were super couldn't do enough for their guests .Already got our names down for next year can't wait.
ps The drive there and back (about 3 hours each way give or take )was also a high light well worth the 450000 rupiah we paid

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lardybum6025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at the Lovina beach houses in Sept for 5 nights. We had the best time. I can not fault anything about our accomadation. Lovina is a lovely place it is a whole lot quieter than Seminyak and Ubud where we had come from. It reminds me of Bali of 25 years ago. The beach houses had the most awesome location, right on the beach. The service we received from all the staff was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble. I highly recommend anybody to stay
there. We travelled through Bali for a month and it was my favorite place, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathytailby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

My partner and I remainn divided as to whether we'd return to and/or recommend Lovina Beach Houses....he wouldn't (unless a few things changed) and I would (but also agree there could be some improvements).
We booked the Joglo directly with Jill (owner) through the website..I made a point of checking via that there was cable TV and Internet access (Internet access is especially important to us as we have business concerns that require our attention and, given that it was "Footy Finals Season" when we visited, it was also important to my partner that we could check up on results). Jill assured us that there was WIFI (free), plus TV and a DVD player in the rooms. At 850,000 rupiah a night, including a fresh-cooked breakfast, this sounded reasonable value, if a bit more expensive than other options. I fell in love with the place immediately...amazing gardens, immaculately clean private pool, huge, beautifully tastefully decorated "house," consisting of a very large bedroom, an enormous indoor/outdoor bathroom, a big, very functional kitchen area, plus a great covered dining/all-purpose deck area. However, there was no "Welcome Package," as advertised (although Jill hereself was very welcoming), and we soon discovered that there was no working connection to the TV, no DVD player and the WIFI connection was not working. Noffi, the very sweet cook-come-cleaner, was very accommodating in organising to have the TV/DVD Player issue fixed by the time we returned to the room on the first evening...we then discovered that there were no English-speaking cable channels...and still no WIFI connection! Other issues (although minor) included that the lighting is very poor in the room, the very stylish stone bath does not hold water and there are no powerpoints on the deck (or an extension cord) into which you can plug the free-standing fan supplied (we bought our own extension cord and plug-board from the Angsoka Mini-Mart down the road for about AUD$3.00). Jill, who left to go back to Australia on our third day in Lovina did eventually organise for the WIFI connection to be fixed for day four of our six day stay, but we had to spend a lot of time in Internet Cafes prior to this, which was not exactly what we'd planned.
PLUSES: Location...the front houses are right on the beautiful beach and it's an easy (if sometimes sweaty) walk to markets, shops, restaurants. Staff...particularly Noffi (always smiling, great poached eggs and sourced some Mahi Mahi so we could cook) and Ketut (always smiling, great massages at 70,000 rupiah). Peace and privacy....no need to leave if you've got supplies and like to cook (and we did!!); DVD Player and a range of DVDs available (but, unlike in the south, nowhere to buy/rent others);
MINUSES: Dodgy WIFI access, no English-speaking channels on the TV (and Indovision packages are pretty cheap here - we checked); some minor maintanance issues...and the rat from the rice-fields that we saw a few times taking scraps from the bin and running under our feet....the cat who ate the fish-food and knocked over the bin in the middle of the night and the very noisy ghecko were not issues. Being ripped off by "family" of one of the workers on the beach (see "Tips").
WOULD WE GO BACK AGAIN??? Only if English channels on TV and reliable WIFI available...and would try to stay at one of the front houses that overlook the beach.
WOULD WE RECOMMEND? Yes, if WIFI, TV and lighting are NOT important to you; No, if they are.
TIPS:
1. The Angsoka Minimart has just about anything you need at reasonable prices, except for fresh produce...get up early and go to the wet market across the road for those;
2. Eat at least once at Warung Apple...just up from the beach...great food; great service, great prices;
3. Check prices of sarongs and shell pendants before agreeing to see/buy from wife and "uncle" of staff members who sell on the beach near the front of Lovina Beach Houses. I, stupidly, believed their "hardship" stories and paid way more than I should have...and, yes, I knew I was being conned...just not by how much!!! DO NOT PAY MORE THAN 40,000 rupiah for a sarong or 10,000 for a "special" shell pendant!!! You can get identical items, same (or better) quality at shops downtown, e.g; next to Warung Apple.
4. Shop around for transport to other places, such as Ubud before booking with the hotel. A good car with a good English-speaking driver from downtown will take you to Ubud for around 300,000 rupiah...we didn't check and organised to pay 450,000.

Room Tip: If you can affgord it, book one of the two-bedroom houses that front on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gandke54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lovina Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#6 of 23 in Lovina Beach
529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort
1.2 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lovina Beach
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
786 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
#12 of 23 in Lovina Beach
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 23 in Lovina Beach
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovina Beach Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovina Beach Houses

Property: Lovina Beach Houses
Address: Jalan Kartika | Kalibukbuk, 81101, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovina Beach Houses offers 5 unique houses and villas. Two absolute beachfront houses are made from recycled teak in the traditional Indonesian style. The property also consists of a traditional joglo house and two more modern villas have been built recently. All situated less than 800m walk to central Lovina. Lovina Beach Houses are surrounded by lush tropical gardens and are ideal for honeymooners or a great place to bring the family for a truly unique Bali holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lovina Beach Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovina Beach Houses Hotel Lovina Beach
Lovina Beach Houses Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing