We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly owner and nice view of lovina!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Lovina Beach
indonesia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Friendly owner and nice view of lovina!”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The hotel is located west of the main center, not to far from the town. The view of sunset is amazing great.. The owner is very friendly, he is very helpful. We just stayed for 1 night because we dont have much time in bali. :) this hotel has good wi fi.. Lovina is a bit quite specially in low seasson. For food, try warung near road, they has a good bakso and es campur.

Room Tip: Try room in front of ocean
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BrowniesManis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    40
    6
    11
    3
See reviews for
25
64
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
398 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

This is our sort of place! A small, unpretentious establishment, with great amenities and good value for money. Mr & Mrs Ghani have lavished care on their small hotel and are lovely, caring hosts - they both work hard to ensure your stay is enjoyable and hassle free. The beds are first class and the furnishings pleasantly local. The hotel is a little bit out of town, but there isn't much of a centre to Lovina anyway - we had a car so it didn't matter a bit. The dolphin trip is well worth the money, but the snorkelling isn't as good as elsewhere in Bali.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 are worth the bit extra for the view. They're also farthest away from the rather l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EHinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Tripadvisor reviews have raved about Mr and Mrs Ghani and their Cleopatra Beach Bungalows - hard to believe they could all be true. Having spent most of our time in Ubud, we wanted a quiet coastal retreat for the last few nights and what a treat Cleopatra's was! Mrs Ghani's hobby is gardening, so we're told. and she has done a fabulous job in creating a tranquil, stylish landscape which is a haven in itself. The rooms are spotless and well equipped- just a couple of steps from the beach where the dolphin boats leave of a morning. The food in the restaurant is fine, just give yourself plenty of time to enjoy the view over the beach and the pool while you wait. Mr Ghani is larger than life, both in stature and personality. My husband, nineteen year old daughter and I have stayed in many hotels all around the world and none of us have ever met a hotel owner who gives of himself so warmly and freely to his guests. Nothing was a problem for him and he went out of his way to ensure our stay was memorable from organising massages to a trip to the nearby natural springs to ensuring we had a safe boat to go out in search of dolphins. Most of all, his willingness to share real conversations with his guests marks Mahmoud Ghani as a host above most others. It seems his hotel is his love, not just his business. It was an absolute joy to stay at Cleopatras. The reviews were all true.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patarisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is a genuine review, i have just read the last review saying people have incentives to write what they did, this is absurd!! Please do not listen to this bad review, as we had an amazing time when we stayed and got to know the owner very well, we will ABSOLUTELY stay here when we return and i can be very picky about where i choose to stay!!

We stayed at the beginning of December for a few nights. We were picked up from the Bali Hyatt in Sanur, yes SANUR - it is 5 hours drive away. But the gentleman who owns and runs this B&B picked us up himself (a 10 hour round journey!!) because his taxi man was busy and he didnt want to send a cab which was charging almost double what he charges! it was about $30 if i remember correctly.
He was on time and such a happy pleasant man. He is swedish and married a balinese lady who he brought this place with, she is the main cook and is absolutely lovely.
On the journey he provided us with water and an insight into his life and how he ended up in Bali, he also showed us some sights along the way.
When we got to the hotel we had our bags taken to our room, and were amazed by how close to the beach we were, literally on top of it! Lovely fruit trees and gardens and a pool and jacuzzi overlooking the sea and beach. Our room was facing the sea, and we laid on our bed listening to the waves it was heaven. The bed was soooo comfortable!

The room was fairly basic, balinese style but lovely old furniture, similar to a few london hotels to be honest!! and very very clean!! A little small but cosy and we dont like sitting in our rooms all day anyway, we are in Bali!!

We were then asked what we would like to do that day, and given advice on how to get to the centre, where to eat etc. The centre is a little far, about 30 minutes walk in very high heat but you can get a taxi / the owner will happily take you himself if he is around.

The one thing i would say is that they will do absolutely ANYTHING for you! both him (i forgot his name, sorry!) and his wife. We had dinner outside, no bugs and a lovely view of a storm over the sea in the distance, beautiful food and lovely drinks. No money needed - everything went on the bill at the end, but very reasonable prices.

We arranged the dolphin tour in the morning, and was picked up at around 5.30am by a teeny tiny local boat and taken out privately (just me and my boyfriend) to spot dolphins. lots of other boats but we did go out very far, it didnt bother us, but may bother some. beautiful to look back at the land and see the sun rise, and we saw lots of dolphins which was amazing! we stayed around an hour then went to snorkle just along from the hotel, be careful as i cut my leg on the coral, it is very close to the top of the water so you have to lie flat!!! but lots of veyr pretty fish and some very big!! this whole experience was only £10 each!! we were amazed. Then when we got back we slept on the sunlounges while breakfast was cooked for us, we had the traditional english and it was lovely. the tea and coffee had what we think was powdered milk as it was a little strange but it was fine, and the juice was really good.
The pancakes were lovely too as we had them the next morning.

We also had a massage and i had a manicure and pedicure, full body massage was £6!! crazy, and mani and ped i think about £8.. a lady comes over but you dont pay her you put it all on the bill at the end,

On our final night we sat with the owner and his wife after we had eaten and they told us tales of bali which was amazing, we learnt a lot and had suhc a lovely evening, again watching the storms over the sea in the distance.
They told us that their next door neighbours did dump litter occassionally on the beach next to them, but that in bali they have to pay for thier rubbish to be collected and lots of people are too poor for this. however we witnesses it ourselves and the owner told them not to do it and wouldnt let them, they only do it when people arent there, and we didnt say any in our 3 days...
The man told us also that there are lots of people in bali unfortunately that will overcharge and try to rip you off. he refuses point blank to work with anyone who does this, so you are guarenteed the lowest price possible if you use him, for example to take us back to the airport he told his usual driver no because he was asking for more money, he told him i will not work with you anymore. the same with the boats and dolphin tours. he was outraged when people booked themselves and were paying up to $40!!!

Also they asked if we had any problems at all to please tell them as they cant do anything about it if you leave it until you get home and write about it on trip adviser. i honestly believe that any problem you had they would try to fix there and then or offer compensation .they were absolutely lovely and genuine decent people and would not be happy to hear of people leaving them unhappy.

I would like to say that we had no ants in our room at all. there were a lot around the sunbeds, but we saw them everywhere in Bali, and they were aware and trying to sort them.

I will absolutely go back here and recommend it to anyone and everyone!!!
please stay here its beautiful!!

Room Tip: executive suite was beautiful with sea views!! any room i am sure is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pink_Coffee_View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I am normally in alignment with most of the TA reviews but this one is COMPLETELY off base. Firstly, when i arrived we waited for about 10 minutes for anyone to show up to greet us. From there we went to a VERY outdated room with the bare minimum (ie. no towels or soap). Then we realized there was a lot of ants in the room (like dozens, not one or two), we tried to find someone to assist us. It took 4 people for me to explain that there was too many bugs in the room and there solution was to give us some raid. Then after sleeping in a cloud of raid- we got up and "tried" their breakfast: two hours to only receive raw pancakes. I sent them back once and didn't eat the second batch as they were just as much uncooked batter. I only stayed the second night as it was peak season and I literally couldn't find another place. On the second morning I tried to eat the toast and eggs... it was like stale wonder bread with some very salty eggs and a cup of coffee with lumpy milk. Couldn't make it through that meal either.

Wifi would continually turn off and on and couldn't be picked up in the room. It is about a 30-40 minute walk from town. Also for those who don't know, the beach is disgusting.... like garbage everywhere as they don't clean the beach, like the hotel next to them.

It was funny as when I was here I was talking with another family who said they too were very disappointed and tried to leave early. I would NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinandkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CleopatraLovina, Owner at Cleopatra Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Hello TripAdvisor readers and members .
A:We encourage our guests to inform us directly if any thing in their suite/room not working or what ever they need.
B:We encourage all guests to help us with any proposal for improvement.
C:We encourage all our guests to make comments on TripAdvisor.
Now to the comments above by a lady with young son.
One must keep to the truth.
1:When the lady arrived ,I my self greeted her welcome to the Cleopatra Beach Bungalows.
2:She arrived quite early,around 2 PM,and the previous guest checked out little late,around
1 PM.our staff have just cleaned the room and were on the way to put new towels when she
arrived ,therefor the lady put the towels and soap aside to help the lady with her luggage.
3:later in the evening she complained to me about lot of ants in her room.I thanked her for telling us and promised that we will take care of that immediately.
4:When our staff knocked her door ,she opened with a towel around her,and she said give me that bottle ,and I want to take care of that myself,for what ever the reason was,our staff accepted her request and handed over the bottle.
5:In the next morning I asked the lady about the ants,and if every thing was Ok now?,she replied
that the room must be cleaned from dead ants over all the room and the bed.
6:I instructed our staff that I want to see my self before they clean the room,they called me
and correctly there was 9 dead ants between the bed and the window.No ants on the bed or else where.
7:She claims that it took 4 people for her to explain the matter?,There were only 3 employees
that time there,and we were there ???.
8:She ordered extra pancakes to her son every morning,it seemed that he liked them.
9.It was definitely not a peek season,she booked 2 nights and could easily leave for other hotel,
2 days earlier,we were fully booked,and helped guest who wanted to stay longer ,find other
hotel.
10:She claim it is 30 minutes walk to center Lovina ,It is exactly 2km from our place to the center of Lovina,This is clearly shown on TripAdvisor,Profile of Cleopatra Beach Bungalows.
some can do it in 15 minutes others may need hours walking,there are Bemos dropping you happily for the cost of RP,3000/person(3 to 4 cent).
This is a tropic area with all plus and minus,depending on how different persons like or unlike
some characteristics of the tropic,Ants is part of it and we must accept their presence,but if guest keeps the door open in the evening to enjoy the tropical garden,then they will enter and usually hide some where and comes out during darkness.We try to keep them out ,but we can not and will not be able to guarantee that,thanks god for that .
An other lady for some time ago complained about lot of mosquitoes in her room,we told her
please keep the door close , specially time of sunset,she told us she kept the door open all night, enjoying hearing the ocean from her bed,and will continue to do so, in spite of mosquitoe
it is worth it..
We welcome any comment and very grateful for that as long as it is true,but please give us a chance to verify and take action to make your stay successful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Service was perfect , rooms clean, pool great. If you are in Lovina this is the only place to stay. Mahmood the owner is so friendly and kind!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjm1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Great friendly service, lovely pool area and very relaxing location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Ellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lovina Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#6 of 23 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#9 of 23 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#8 of 23 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pandawa Village Villas
Pandawa Village Villas
#5 of 23 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleopatra Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Beach Bungalows

Property: Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
Address: Jalan Seririt-Singaraja, 81151, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cleopatra Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleopatra Beach Bungalows is a small hotel with only 9 suites/rooms including one family apartment Bali style with 2 rooms and 2 bath rooms. Admired swimming pool, as well as the tropical garden with all flowers. All located directly by the beach, 2 km from the center of Lovina. Our guests feel like they're staying in private property here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cleopatra Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows Hotel Lovina Beach
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing