We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic atmosphere and traditional home cooked pub food!”
Review of The White Horse

The White Horse
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Crostwick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic atmosphere and traditional home cooked pub food!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Fantastic atmosphere and traditional home cooked pub food (e.g. pies, lasagne, but also good seafood options). We go to this place regularly and are never disappointed by whatever we order off the massive menu. There's a reason that it's been going strong for so long and is always packed at weekends :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyWaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    90
    36
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Dinner at White Horse”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I have just visited the White Horse at Crostwick and have thoroughly enjoyed their new season Cromer crab salad. An extremely suitable meal for such a hot day, we were very impressed by both quality of the meal and the prompt and efficient service. We do feel that this eating place deserves a little recognition.
I would add that we visit here for meals fairly regularly when in East Anglia and have always been highly satisfied with the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Popped in midweek for dinner with my husband. Haven't been for at least 8 years and nothing had changed! We both had starters which were amazing. The mains were also fab but so big it was impossible to eat it all. I had steak which was cooked perfectly (medium rare). Will definitely be coming back

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bfsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“if you dont care about food you'll like it”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This pub restaurant is for people who prefer free parking to good food.
How do you fancy:
xmas pudding on the menu in Spring?
a muddled menu and over 10 'specials' none of which are
a restaurant full of crap and clutter, with crammed in tables?
sauces in sachets, bread and butter with meals and iceberg lettuce salads?
mediocre food served at mid market prices (£10 - £16 for a main worth £5)
very little choice of local food, even though its in the countryside
Inattentive, infifferent service
Just awful!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sleepyheadNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Many thanks for posting a review, in nearly 26 years of trading, this has to be the most negative response we have had, pleased to find that you enjoyed the free parking , and that you managed to have time to try all of the 10 Specials, if you wish to speak directly to ourselves, you can call on 01603 737560, ask for Wayne, would be more than happy to discuss any issues you had with your visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very Good Evening”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We reserved a table for 6 persons in March over the Easter holiday and were lucky enough to get booked.When we arrived we were given our tables nos 30 & 31 in the conservetry but felt it to be quite cool so i spoke to the landlord who said that we could move tables shortly which he did for us. He was very polite and friendly.We ordered our meals and after a short wait recieved our meals. I had the steak and chicken special(not for the faint hearted) al i can say what a large meal and at a feasonable price. Unfortuanately one of our friends ordered the lamb shank which had to be retured to the chef as it was over cooked,again this was rectefied very promtly with no further complaints. The wating staff are very friendly as was the landlord,overall a good evening.Food prices at a reasonable price, would recomend this as a great place to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing