We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely wonderful”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Crostwick, Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A_Reviewe...
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed December 7, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This place really is a hidden gem. A little hard to find in the dark but apart from that we really couldn't fault. Some lovely little touches when you arrive - milk in the fridge, all little essentials are available (tea, coffee, dishwasher tablets). The accommodation is wonderful - warm, generously sized and comfortable rooms, good showers...and the hot tub really is a treat - we couldn't get enough...!! The area is great as well and this cottage is an excellent base from which to explore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: Leaving for home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsShuttl...
Witham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous 30th!”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the lodge last week and I felt compelled to make time to write a review.

We travelled with our just turned two year old and our 10 week old baby and were very pleased to find that the lodge had almost everything we needed on arrival (toilet roll, milk, washing up liquid, kitchen towel etc) so we could settle the kids in a little without having to rush straight out to the shops. There is a Hoover, washing machine, airer, all of the things you would have at home and had I realised this I probably would have packed a little lighter.

A great deal of thought has gone into making this property a home from home, suitable for families with young children and it really does show.

The lodge itself is very spacious and open plan whilst still feeling homely, the photos really do not do this justice.

On arrival we were greeted by Mr Fox who was waiting for us in the hallway and this instantly made our Two year old feel very at home.

The property is about a 15 minute drive from BeWILDerwood (which we all loved) and is probably about the same distance from Norwich City Centre. There is a nice little Park and are various eateries and shops all within a few minutes drive.

The owners have compiled a very helpful information folder which tells you most of what you need to know about local amenities.

The hot tub is wonderful and fantastic to relax in after the children have gone to bed. It is serviced daily.

We tried to walk to local pubs via the common but found this impossible with the pram. A car is essential to stay here if you have young children.

There were very strong winds during our stay and this resulted in a power cut one evening. This just so happened to be the evening of my 30th birthday and as such we were forced to have a candle lit takeaway without the distractions of modern technology. We followed this with a log fire and a glass of bubbly. Whilst we probably wouldn't have chosen to do this it actually turned out to be the most wonderful evening (although sickeningly romantic)!!

The owners were very friendly, helpful and approachable!

My only criticisms would be;

Because the property is situated right on the common I found myself feeling a little vulnerable that someone walking their dog could just stumble upon us using the hot tub of an evening as it didn't feel very well fenced off. However I think that the owners have already considered this as there are young bushes that have been planted which in a year or two will have grown enough to provide some protection from the common. I must say my husband did not share my concerns and was insistent that I have watched too many strange films, that is until a dog came wondering by on our last evening and we could hear people calling out for it.

There was another minor thing but to be honest I've spent so long reminding myself of all the good qualities that the property has to offer that I can no longer remember what it was! Needless to say it wasn't anything serious.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripper_t...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Close to perfection”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We are just fresh back from this beautiful area and accommodation. Despite being open plan the lodge feels cosy and warm - the luxurious underfloor heating helps and it is decorated to a high standard but felt welcoming for our family with a dolls house and rabbits on the grounds our girls were immediately drawn to!

All of the bedrooms are superbly decorated with ample storage and two lovely bathrooms, one main bathroom downstairs and an en-suite upstairs. A small recommendation would be for the addition of a handheld shower-head upstairs, it's a bit tricky avoiding wet hair or showering young children and avoiding eyes in a rainfall shower.

The HOT TUB is bliss, and serviced daily, and the local area has a lot to offer both close to the amenities of Norwich but a short distance from the beach and broads.

We didn't meet the owners properly as they were on holiday themselves but we were welcomed with a bottle of wine which was a nice arrival gift.

Note to travellers with small children for the twin room, bring a pressure fit stair-gate as the door is at the top of the stairs across a small landing from the master.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub
Liked least: Shower
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing