We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
153
79
26
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
153
79
26
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heated swimming pool round table norfolk broads family run hotel north walsham super king bed full english function room wedding venue sunday lunch lovely hotel good size pleasant stay rooms were very clean evening meal wedding reception small hotel
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 266 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2016

We had a truly perfect and magical wedding day at this wonderful venue. We want to give a massive thank you to Ian and his team for all the hard work they put in on our wedding day. Ian helped us to decorate the venue on the morning of our wedding and his team took the decorations down on the next day. The wedding day ran smoothly and nothing was too much trouble for the venue or the staff. The wedding breakfast tables were set up exactly as we asked. The staff were very friendly and helpful, always having smiles on their faces. Ian regularly checked in with us on the day, to check that everything was ok. The food was excellent and our guests rated it very highly. The gift we received from you was a lovely surprise and a special memento of our wedding day. Having the use of the deluxe room for free for the night with bed and breakfast was an added bonus. We highly recommend this venue to anyone getting married.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gemmafaith2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner88, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2016

Congratulations to you both. It was a pleasure to be part of such a fantastic day. From all at The Old Rectory Hotel we wish you all the best for the future and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2016

Poor food at dinner dismal restaurant,seems to be fine for function business.Finding staff seems to be a problem never anyone on reception,very busy with function business but not particularly welcoming to guests.Pub down the road goes the extra mile and the food and ambience is far better they also do B&B.ROOM WAS COMFORTABLE ENOUGH.
Grounds could be much improved with a little TLC.

Room Tip: ROOMS to the rear are quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigglesStrathaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner88, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2016

I am disheartened to read your review of how felt regarding your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our customer service and is frequently commented on. Had any issues been raised with us at the time i am certain we would do anything within our power to rectify. With regards to the grounds we invest a large amount of time and money and i cannot ever recall having negative feed back of them. Once again i am saddened we did meet your expectations, however we value your feed back and would be happy to discuss this further should you wish to contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel twice. First stay room was ok, basic but ok. Staff friendly. When we checked out all was fine, checked bank after leaving and found they had taken the payment three times from our account. Took over a week for the money to come back to us. Second stay, room was very basic. Shower wasn't clean and leaked all over bathroom floor. I probably wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
3  Thank haynesyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner88, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2016

Thank you for review and i am saddened to read that we did maintain the experience you had on your first stay. On review of the monies claimed to have been debited from your account by us, we only took one payment from you on departure. As you had made an online booking for the incorrect night then cancelled it and made another online booking for the correct night there is a automatic pre authorisation for both nights made via the online agent not us. Depending on the bank can take 5 to 10 days to remove these pending transactions. We have investigated the shower issue raised and i hope you can will come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2016

I am not quite certain whether we were put in a particularly poor part of the hotel ( judging by the reviews below ) but in all fairness the whole experience was very disappointing .
Lovely surroundings and sufficient parking but it all pretty much ended there fir us - very tired reception which doesn't appear to have been renovated since late 70s and sadly the room was pretty much the same - tired décor , old furniture , appalling shower ( shower doors wouldn't close ) , damp , cold air . All in all - was very disappointed - the heating wasn't working ( and it was desperately needed ) - thankfully the hotel managed to get a gentleman in to get it fixed but at night the radiator got overheated - sadly no windows in the room to open it ( only French doors and considering we were on the ground floor that wasn't an option )so had to turn off the heating all together .
Sleep quality is poor - constant noise from the carpark + we could hear EVERYTHING out neighbours in the adjacent room were doing - their conversations and bathroom pattern.
In the morning I was too tired to go to breakfast but my partner did - according to him - poor quality - no buffet option and meagre options !
Would not stay again - it was out last night in Norfolk and sadly put a big dampener on our East Anglia experience ( which overall was lovely )

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank juc574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner88, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2016

I am deeply saddened to read your review and sorry we did not meet your expectations. We take all comments on board and address where ever possible. The hotel was developed in 1990 and has undergone numerous renovations since, as has the cottage which was developed in 2000. The shower doors have been rectified they had jumped out of the runners which i am sorry had not been noticed prior to your check in. I am aware that we had a heater fail of which was replaced with in minutes, there are simple slider temperature controls to control heat output. Non of our bedrooms have french doors and all have operational windows. We will review sound insulation of the room. We do not offer buffet style cooked breakfast we have a breakfast menu where an order is taken and it is waitress served to the table. We source a large amount of local produce to enhance the breakfast. Once again I am sorry we did not meet you expectation but would be happy to discuss further should you wish to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2016

Myself and my husband stayed here from Wednesday until today (1st October). Although the hotel is situate on a main road we did not hear any noise whatsoever from our hotel room. The hotel is lovely set within its own grounds. The lady on reception was very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious and very well presented. The housekeeping staff also need to be thanked too. Breakfast was exceptional. Overall we loved this hotel and it was an ideal base for us sightseeing. We will definitely be coming back next year. Excellent value for money too.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner88, Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to seeing you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews