We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Rectory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crostwick
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Super clean rooms”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

stayed one night after a wedding there. great staff good food and the room was super clean anfd the bed was huge. Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darren186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    61
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
50
76
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We recently stayed whilst visiting some relatives in the area and cannot reccommend it enough!
The staff were friendly and very helpful, asking if we would like to eat in the restaurant when we arrived, delivering the menu to our room promptly, and offering me lots of gluten free options (as I am a coeliac).
I often struggle to find meals, especially in smaller towns, but it was not a problem here, they even offered to make me a fresh batch of soup gluten free, even though we were the only other couple dining that evening.
Rooms were recently refurbished, comfy bed, and roomy room.
Nothing was too much trouble, from giving us directions to a florist, to leaving us a bucket of water and cloth when we spilt coffee in the car.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenrenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We only stayed the one (Saturday) night whist attending a supper for about 50 people in the larger dining room.
Couldn't fault the service, couldn't fault the room (though the plumbing was noisy) and couldn't fault the food.
Only downside was that I had ordered a pint of keg John Smiths before I saw the Woodforde Wherry in a barrel along the bar!

Room Tip: Rooms 7 and 8 are at the far end of the coridoor if you don't want people walking past your door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkRailFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2011

What a fantastic place "The Rectory" was to stay at.We had a long weekend away in Norfolk & found the Rectory & it's staff very polite & made our stay most welcome.The food was very nice & the service to match.Being very close to the City was a bonus & a 30min drive to the beach was the icing on the cake as the weather was fantastic for the time of year.We look forward to visiting again.Many thanks.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greasyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Lovely setting, but if you are NOT attending a wedding at the hotel - forget it! We stayed here to attend a wedding nearby, but we still expected their facilities available to ALL customers!

Advertised "lounge" which was out of commission due to a wedding taking place, and when it was "available" obviously being used to store excess furniture and a place for staff to eat! Bar was tiny area, unmanned, with a couple of bar stools.

Their Restaurant was closed to accommodate a wedding party on the Friday night, so our evening meal was taken in the conservatory, whilst management discussed wedding packages with potential clients at an adjoining table - no privacy whatsover!

Breakfast was in the restaurant on the Saturday morning, and was pleasant and hearty. On the Sunday breakfast was set up in the conservatory to accommodate the number of guests staying over from the wedding parties, this took place amidst the staff setting up for an anniversary luncheon, and amidst the residue of Saturday's wedding party!

This hotel is best used as a base, and comes across as a nightmare at weekends.

Sad, because the hotel has great potential, although the house featured is NOT the hotel, think Crossroads motel attached to the side (out of shot) and you have the hotel.

The food their chef produces is 5star cuisine - had that been rubbish we would have checked out. The rooms are dated, but spacious and clean, and comfortable. Staff lovely, but such a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank knightanddayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

From our first meeting, we found everything very relaxed and friendly but also efficient, nothing was too much trouble. Ian and Becky were faultless with their advice and recomendations. On the party night Becky was always on hand and made sure everything ran smoothly. Accomodation was very spacious and spotless. Breakfast was all freshly cooked. Would highly recomend this for any function or even just as a B&B. You would not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

After doing an extensive search on the internet to find rooms near Blickling Hall to attend Madness' concert, I rang this hotel to check availability and luckily we got some rooms for our family and friends. Becky answered my call with the most professional and helpful manner. I could not believe it! I think the service has gone downhill in so many places of the UK but heh, I found the perfect place to unwind and know where I will be looked after! Almost too good to be true. The level of service was beyond my expectations. The rooms were very clean, the beds were very comfortable (even the put up bed for our 13 year old daughter was of good quality with a proper mattress), the breakfast was of good quality too and we managed to make the most of the outdoor heated pool set in beautiful gardens. All of this at a very good price. We will definitely stay again. Thank you for a lovely stay. I wished I stayed an extra night to recharge the batteries!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FroggieHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crostwick
2.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.6 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
1,127 reviews
8.8 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,104 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
16.0 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Property: The Old Rectory Hotel
Address: Old Rectory Hotel North Walsham Road | Norfolk, Crostwick, Norwich NR12 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Crostwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crostwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory Hotel is ideally situated to enjoy the best that Norfolk has to offer. With easy access to the Norfolk Broads, Norwich City Centre, Tourist Attractions, Norwich International Airport and the North Norfolk Coastline. The Original Old Rectory dates back to the mid 18th Century and served nearby Crostwick Church (one of the oldest churches in Norfolk). Now privately owned the Solomon family have transformed the rectory into a beautiful Country House Hotel. Set within 3.5 acres of landscaped gardens We have 16 comfortable and well equipped en-suite rooms, bar, beautiful conservatory restaurant, 2 function rooms, cosy lounge, and outdoor heated pool. Just 4 miles north of Norwich our rural location ensures a tranquil setting away from the bustle of city life but still within easy reach of local amenities (0.5 miles) and transport routes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing