We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely room and wonderful food, excellent service.”
Review of Barnham Broom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barnham Broom
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely room and wonderful food, excellent service.”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

We really enjoyed out stay at this hotel and golf resort. The superior double room was spacious with a huge comfortable bed but a small wardrobe for more than a couple of nights. Breakfast were very generous and promptly served in the main restaurant overlooking the course. This was also a pleasant candlelit room for dinner. The menu was varied and adventurous, beautifully cooked and the service was excellent with several well priced wines to compliment dinner. My advice would be to play golf in the afternoons as mornings were very busy so we had to join up which wasn't really what we wanted on this occasion. Both courses are very enjoyable with in my view the valley being more difficult with stairs to climb on course so may not suit the less mobile. The only disappointing part of the stay was the swimming pool and Jacuzzi. the Jacuzzi is not separate but part of the main pool and it was quite chilly and full of children using it to do somersaults in. The pool was full of children having swimming lessons so the relaxation we had looked forward to after our golf did not transpire. We didn't use the spa but this looked very nice but it was fully booked so make sure you book before you go. On the whole a well priced package and would go again- make sure you pay for your drinks in cash at the bar to avoid the service charge.

Room Tip: You have to cross an open courtyard to get to the room and there are two short sets of stairs with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Thank you for such a lovely and kind review. We are very grateful you have published your recent experience at Barnham Broom and i am delighted to see such high praise of all the facilities and service you received.

Your feedback is so important to us so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    304
    109
    51
    30
See reviews for
116
371
18
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2014

The hotel has two golf courses, a leisure club and other sports facilities and is well targetted at the leisure market. The rooms are not large (I stayed in room 18) but are well equipped with efficient air conditioning. The staff are generally helpful and the breakfast team are particularly good with the food quality and service above standard for this type of hotel. The overall experience is pretty much what you expect, it will not overly excite but it will not disappoint those looking for a short break.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay at Barnham Broom. We always appreciate our guest’s positive comments and feedback so we can be assured that we are still working and maintaining the excellent service and comfort we strive for here at Barham Broom.

Your comments are very much appreciated so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Booked hotel for a business stay, did not use the spa, but room very comfortable, toiletries are excellent. The staff in the dining room very attentive, and food excellent both at dinner and breakfast.
All staff very professional and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judith e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thank you for such a kind review and for taking the time to tell others of your experience when staying at Barnham Broom. It was lovely to read that you felt the service was excellent and the all staff came across very proffesional. Making our guests feel very welcome and well cared for is what we strive for.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

I feel I should start by stating that my review is based in the fact that we booked our stay to enjoy a relaxing spa break (not with treatments; just for a pool, steam, sauna, jacuzzi etc)

Unfortunately, whilst the hotel rooms were large and comfortable, the facilities associated were poor. I will review both the room and leisure facilities.

Room- booked a double room and we received two singles pushed together. Whilst other rooms were open down the corridor, it seems as if this is the norm throughout the hotel. The room was large, with a big television and clean bathroom. Fridge was cold and had complimentary water inside. Nice biscuits provided with the tea and coffee!!

Now for my negative. The leisure facilities/ spa and rooms, are NOT connected, therefore you can't walk in your robe to and from it. This walk also includes going outside, and when it's raining it ruins your relaxing spa experience. When you have walked the 3/4 minute walk past reception, through a noisy bar, past the squash courts you need to get changed. The changing rooms are an attempt at upmarket facilities but are really reminiscent of public swimming pools with the inclusion of some dark wood changing lockers. The pool itself is small, with over half roped off for splashing and screaming children (floats are provided to really ensure that the kids stay quiet...).

The steam and sauna state 14 years and up but this is not monitored and we saw at least 2 groups of young kids (11 or 12) in there. The jacuzzi is just really a bubbly part of the pool and therefore (as it's not restricted to adults) you either have children splashing in the jacuzzi, or two feet away from it. The facilities are also open to public which means it doesn't stay quiet.

All in all, please don't waste your money if looking for a relaxing break. We paid 49 pounds for a one night stay, and honestly I wish I'd paid more and gone somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time time to review Barnham Broom. It was nice to read that you felt the room was spacious and you enjoyed the little touched that we put in for all of our guests.

I would like to begin by apologising that you felt Barnham Brooms facilities were not up to standard and was saddened to read that you felt that you have wasted your money staying at Barnham Broom with all the points you have raised. However, we take all guests feedeback very seriously and please be assured that i have passed on your comments to the relevant departments.

Your feedback is much appreciated so thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn
Level Contributor
140 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Excellent hotel...just like the internet pictures.
Food superb
Room lovely...water wouldn't drain from sink...little hot water in shower
Spa treatment relaxing
Gym exc although too many staff just working on their own bodies when at work?
Pool tired...
Sauna and steam small but holds three or four comfortably

The most awful smell if windows open or you venture outside.....had to be a factory or farm

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Barnham Broom. I am very pleased to read your lovely comments regarding your stay at the hotel and it was so nice that you rated us Excellent. We always appreciate our guest’s positive comments and feedback so we can be assured that we are still working and maintaining the excellent service we strive for here at Barham Broom.

Please allow us to apologise for the bad smell you experienced outside the HoteI. You're completely right this time of year the farmers around Barnham Broom are fertilizing the fields which may have been the smell you experienced.

Your feedback is very much appreciated so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed for two nights at the hotel and could not fault it from check in to check out. The hotel staff were both efficient and professional but also approachable and friendly. So many little gestures which made a huge difference and not often found in the large chain hotels. The rooms were clean, well equipped and extremely comfortable.
the Brasserie restaurant was excellent and the food of a very good standard. The service also was extremely attentive. We would have brought our friends there to join us but unfortunately the restaurant closes at 9.30 so we ate out on the second night. We also ordered room service for a quick snack and were delighted to find that the sandwiches were properly made rather than out off the shelf. Breakfast was also excellent.
Thank you to all the staff - a lovely team!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magpieok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
It is always lovely to read such a perfect review. I was thrilled to read you had such a positive experience while staying with us. I am very pleased that you chose to stay at Barnham Broom and enjoyed the hotel and our facilities.

I have passed on your glowing praise to all of our staff who thoroughly appreciate your kind words so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

I booked a junior suite at the Barnham Broom Hotel and I certainly wasnt disapointed! The room was beauatifully furnished and very clean. Staff were extremely attentive and made sure my vist was one of the best.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
We are so grateful you decided to share your experience at Barnham Broom Hotel with the community and are thrilled to read all of your positive feedback. We pride ourselves on offering the best service and facilities for our guests here at the Barnham Broom and appreciate that you felt your experience was fabulous.

Your feedback is much appreciated so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnham Broom
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
9.5 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
22.0 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
8.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnham Broom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnham Broom

Property: Barnham Broom
Address: Honingham Road, Barnham Broom, Norwich NR9 4DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Barnham Broom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnham Broom 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnham Broom offers a warm and welcoming ambience to all guests with its exceptional 4-star experience and first class facilities and amenities. The hotel overlooks 300 acres of beautiful Norfolk countryside with 46 refurbished hotel rooms offering comfortable, stylish and luxurious accommodation. Barnham Broom is best known for its two championship golf courses surrounding the River Yare Valley. The Spa at Barnham Broom, is also a wonderful place to relax and unwind. And The Edge Health & Fitness Club, with its state-of-the-art gym equipment, sauna, steam room, squash courts, tennis courts, fitness classes and heated indoor swimming pool is the perfect place to improve your health & well-being. There is a choice to eat dinner and Sunday lunch in the stylish Brasserie; Valley Bar Lounge for Afternoon Teas and cocktails; or something more informal from the all-day Sports Bar and Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Barnham Broom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf Hotel Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf And Spa
Classic Hotel Barnham Broom
Classic Hotel Norwich
Norwich Classic Hotel
Barnham Broom Norfolk, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing