We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Short Break”
Review of Barnham Broom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barnham Broom
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Pleasant Short Break”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We had a friendly and efficient welcome and our room was across a beautifully kept courtyard.
And the modern room had all the comforts you would expect from a 4 star plus a few extra such as a king size bed, cafetiere coffee and bath robes. The toiletries were nice Molton Brown ones.
My husband did a twilifgt half round at a reasonable rate, then we both enjoyed a swim and sauna. For longer visits there was also a functional gym and beauty spa. Breakfast was delicious and table served. I would have rated excellent except for the evening meal (see separate review)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We are very grateful you have taken the time to leave us your feedback after your recent stay. It is important for us to uphold the high standards of service we set ourselves here at Barnham Broom. We always appreciate our guest’s positive comments and feedback so we can be assured that we are still working and maintaining excellent service and comfort that we strive for here at Barnham Broom.

Your feedback is much appreciated and we shall look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    304
    109
    51
    30
See reviews for
116
371
18
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Had a lovely week at Barnham Broom. Stayed in Carlton 2 apartment. No fault there.However, we were nearly hit 3 times by golf balls when sitting on our patio. If the golfers teeing off on the 18th get the angle slightly wrong, the ball ends up a great speed in the holiday makers grassed area.
It is very dangerous.
Being anxious about being hit by a stray golf ball does not make for a relaxing time.

On the whole though the complex is great, and the staff very friendly.

Barnham Broom Management if you read this please do something about it before a serious accident happens.

Room Tip: Do not book carlton
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay at the HPB Apartments at Barnham Broom. It was lovely to read that you had a lovely week in your Apartment.

Regarding the 18th Tee on the valley Course, you have my personal reassurance that your comments have been shared with the Management team here at Barnham Broom as we take Health & Safety very seriously and would like to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused.

Your feedback is very much appreciated so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed here for two nights this weekend and we are not golfers. The location is superb and was very handy for us to visit our daughter at UEA. We were very pleased with the room and the facilities. The restaurant was very good with a great menu and excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarnPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell others of your experience at Barnham Broom. We really do appreciate our guests feedback so it shows us that we are still maintaining our high standards we strive for everyday.

Your feedback is very much appreciated so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The room was excellent and the food was also very good.

The only downside was that we booked inclusive of dinner - only to find that there were a lot of inevitable extra costs - for vegetables and potatoes, and... and... Which doesn't feel good. Much better to have made sure all the costs were clear up front.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick9004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Clean comfortable rooms with large beds and ample space. The corridors were infused with the smell of complimentary Molton Brown toiletries which obviously most people were using.
Relaxing to sit on the terrace over looking the golf course with a tea/coffee or beverage. We had afternoon tea on two occasions which was nice and beautifully presented by attentive staff. For me this hotel was more golf than spa. The pool area was nothing special and a bit cluttered with things lying about ( swimming aids, ropes and cleaning products).
Bar food was greasy and not good. Restaurant food was beautifully presented and ok but not what I expected from AA standard. Staff were very friendly and helpful at all times, a credit to the establishment.
Both my daughter's final bill for a junior suite and ours were incorrect at checkout. This was rectified immediately without fuss.

Room Tip: Inform staff if you have a disability as even some ground floor rooms have a few steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrannyMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you of telling others about your experience at Barnham Broom. It was lovely to read that you had a very relaxing stay and you enjoyed our wonderful views out on the terrace. Our Chef very much appreciates your Kind words regarding your afternoon Tea and evening meal in our Brasserie.

I am sorry to read that you felt the Sports Bar food was very greasy and please be assured that i have made the Chef aware of your comments so thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2014

My first experience was wow!!!!!!! Location excellent!! views brilliant!! staff very friendly and polite!!!! We loved it so much we would return tomorrow !!!!! We couldn't stop talking about it to our friends. Especially the the staff in the restaurant .

Room Tip: Room on south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you so much for such a fantastic review. It was lovely to read that you had such a wonderful experience when staying at Barnham Broom. It makes us very proud to read that you had a lovely stay and you experienced high quality food and exceptional service.

I am so pleased you had a lovely stay at Barnham Broom and thank you for taking the time to tell others.

We shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We had a warm welcome from staff. The room was perfect from decor & furnishings, to cleanliness. The customer service was excellent, the hotel setting beautiful and the food delicious.

We will definitely be staying again it was so relaxing.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharmani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful and kind review. It is lovely to read all of your wonderful comments on all aspects of the hotel. We strive for customer satisfaction and really appreciate it when it pays off when we read reviews like yours.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we shall look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnham Broom
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
9.5 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
22.0 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
8.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnham Broom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnham Broom

Property: Barnham Broom
Address: Honingham Road, Barnham Broom, Norwich NR9 4DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Barnham Broom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnham Broom 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnham Broom offers a warm and welcoming ambience to all guests with its exceptional 4-star experience and first class facilities and amenities. The hotel overlooks 300 acres of beautiful Norfolk countryside with 46 refurbished hotel rooms offering comfortable, stylish and luxurious accommodation. Barnham Broom is best known for its two championship golf courses surrounding the River Yare Valley. The Spa at Barnham Broom, is also a wonderful place to relax and unwind. And The Edge Health & Fitness Club, with its state-of-the-art gym equipment, sauna, steam room, squash courts, tennis courts, fitness classes and heated indoor swimming pool is the perfect place to improve your health & well-being. There is a choice to eat dinner and Sunday lunch in the stylish Brasserie; Valley Bar Lounge for Afternoon Teas and cocktails; or something more informal from the all-day Sports Bar and Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Barnham Broom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf Hotel Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf And Spa
Classic Hotel Barnham Broom
Classic Hotel Norwich
Norwich Classic Hotel
Barnham Broom Norfolk, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing