We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and great golf”
Review of Barnham Broom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barnham Broom
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay and great golf”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were offered a very good deal through YourGolfTravel for two rounds of golf, bed, breakfast and evening meal for £105/person and it was great value. Recommend to all. The hotel was lovely, the rooms were very good, the evening meal and breakfast were excellent. The golf was excellent as well, the Valley course being the highlight and very picturesque - the semi rough was a killer though. I scored 99 off 20. The Hill course was more open and friendlier to wayward shots. I scored 93 off 20. Greens were very good. Great time all round, hope to go again.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the car park s rooms onto the courtyard would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    304
    111
    52
    30
See reviews for
116
374
18
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We chose Barnham Broom Hotel to hold my birthday lunch. Debbie was such a great help and her planning and organisation ensured that it was a lovely and relaxing afternoon. The staff were so polite and nothing was too much trouble. Amy and the young lad, Harry who served the food, did a great job. I must also mention Oli who looked after us so well throughout the afternoon. The food was excellent, i'm still receiving compliments about it! So I must send a BIG thank you to James and the team in the kitchen for all their hard work. I will certainly be recommending Barnham Broom to friends and family in the future, you even managed to make the sun shine for us!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for all your excellent comments following your recent birthday lunch at Barnham Broom. It was so lovely to read that all your need were met and you received the exceptional level of service that we love to give our guests. Please be assured that i will pass on your kind word to Debbie, Oli, Harry, Amy, James and all the team in the Kitchen.

Thank you so much and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just back from an overnight stay, lovely hotel, position and staff. Dont hesitate just book it. Really perfect break and not far from Norwich if you want to venture out. Circular walk is lovely but take some water with you if its warm/hot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50yearold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
I was extremely pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay at Barnham Broom. We truly value the opinions of our customers and it was great to read that you had such a good experience with us.

We really appreciate your feedback so thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have to visit Norfolk regularly to see family, and often struggle to find anywhere either reasonably priced or above-average (or preferably, both!) Most places are rather depressing and over-priced B&B's.... so I was delighted to get a really good offer for Barnham Broom via a special deals website. For what we paid, we thought BB was fantastic! Although it's primarily a "golf resort", the hotel side is by no means an afterthought; we are not golfers, but found the hotel lounges, bars and rooms really smart and our Premier Room was quite luxurious. It was spacious, clean, well equipped, and had touches which we appreciated such as 2 bath mats (one for the bath, another for the shower cubicle... why don't more hotels think of that?), and proper ground coffee on the tray. Breakfast and afternoon tea really generous and delicious. Would definitely stay here again on an offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hampshire_grrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We really appreciate all of our guests feedback and use this internally to ensure customers and Hotel standards are being met. Providing our guests with the best hospitality and service has always been our passion so thank you ones again for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

If you are looking for relaxation, quiet and good facilties this is the place to go. Food is excellent if it is slightly overpriced. Room has everything you need, nice touch with a teapot and cafetiere. Nothing is too much trouble for all the staff excellent service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollybedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
It is great to see our guests taking the time to leave a review. It is lovely to read you had such a good experience at Barnham Broom it really does give us the confidence that we are achieving the level of service and quality we strive for everyday.

Thank you very much and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Seven family members stayed at the hotel and five stayed in the neighbouring Holiday Property Bond apartments, all gathered for a reunion dinner on the night of 6th August. The dinner itself was served to us in the Bickerston Suite which gave us the space and privacy ideal for a mixed age group family meal. The food was excellent and the service throughout our stay was friendly, efficient and courteous. Any queries were quickly attended to and any necessary help provided. The staff should be complimented on their care for their guests. The facilities were ideal - we played tennis, table tennis, racket ball and used the pool every day. We would all stay here again.

Room Tip: We did not use the spa so cannot comment. The rooms used by our party mainly overlooked the courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments after your recent stay at the Holiday property Bond at Barnham Broom. I am pleased to see that all your needs were met and you received exceptional level of service that we strive for.

Thank you again and we shall look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Beeding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife & i stayed on 28th July to celebrate her birthday but we were very disappointed at several aspects of our stay. We checked in during the afternoon to find that every spa treatment was fully booked.Instead we decided to enjoy the sunny afternoon with a drink on the terrace overlooking the golf course which you can't see because of a very high hedge.All the tables despite being empty were strewn with empty glasses & plates. No table service was offered or provided so i went to The Sports Bar where there was one person serving whilst 4 of his colleagues were gathered around the coffee machine having a chat. We booked a table in The Brasserie for 1900 & went for a pre dinner drink at 1830 in The Cocktail Bar which was closed but full of golfers doing their prize giving. I had to go back to The Sports Bar for service. If a restaurant is opening at 1900 surely The Cocktail Bar should be open in advance for pre dinner drinks during which time you can peruse the menu & make your selections.

We wanted to play 9 holes of golf on the Monday morning only to be told that no 9 hole green fee rate was available so this would cost £20/each. As we only wanted to play 9 holes each i suggested we pay one green fee to cover 18 holes but we would play 9 each, sensible i thought especially as the course was virtually empty. The young chap thought this was a sensible compromise but said he would have to check with his boss. We gave our room number so that they could call but no call was ever received. Just not good enough.

On the bright side our Junior Suite was very comfortable. The Brasserie meal was very acceptable with reasonable service & breakfast was fine.

For what we spent on our stay coupled with the service we received i believe Barnham Broom does not offer it's guests value for money & i'm most unlikely to return or recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Have a junior suite as the standard rooms are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I was pleased to read that you found the Junior Suite very comfortable and your dinner in the Brasserie was very acceptable. I was however disappointed to read of your experience with all the points that you have raised and would like to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused.

You have my personal reassurance that your comments have been shared with the relevant departments. Making our guests feel welcome and well cared for is our highest priority and I’m sorry that you did not experience the level of service and attention that our guests have come to expect.

I would be most grateful if you could contact me personally to discuss the matter further by emailing sjones@barnham-broom.co.uk or telephoning 01603 759393.

Kind Regards

Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnham Broom
9.5 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,526 reviews
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,102 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
865 reviews
8.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
1,124 reviews
25.0 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnham Broom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnham Broom

Property: Barnham Broom
Address: Honingham Road, Barnham Broom, Norwich NR9 4DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Barnham Broom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnham Broom 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnham Broom offers a warm and welcoming ambience to all guests with its exceptional 4-star experience and first class facilities and amenities. The hotel overlooks 300 acres of beautiful Norfolk countryside with 46 refurbished hotel rooms offering comfortable, stylish and luxurious accommodation. Barnham Broom is best known for its two championship golf courses surrounding the River Yare Valley. The Spa at Barnham Broom, is also a wonderful place to relax and unwind. And The Edge Health & Fitness Club, with its state-of-the-art gym equipment, sauna, steam room, squash courts, tennis courts, fitness classes and heated indoor swimming pool is the perfect place to improve your health & well-being. There is a choice to eat dinner and Sunday lunch in the stylish Brasserie; Valley Bar Lounge for Afternoon Teas and cocktails; or something more informal from the all-day Sports Bar and Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Barnham Broom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf Hotel Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf And Spa
Classic Hotel Barnham Broom
Classic Hotel Norwich
Norwich Classic Hotel
Barnham Broom Norfolk, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing