We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family reunion”
Review of Barnham Broom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barnham Broom
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Seven family members stayed at the hotel and five stayed in the neighbouring Holiday Property Bond apartments, all gathered for a reunion dinner on the night of 6th August. The dinner itself was served to us in the Bickerston Suite which gave us the space and privacy ideal for a mixed age group family meal. The food was excellent and the service throughout our stay was friendly, efficient and courteous. Any queries were quickly attended to and any necessary help provided. The staff should be complimented on their care for their guests. The facilities were ideal - we played tennis, table tennis, racket ball and used the pool every day. We would all stay here again.

Room Tip: We did not use the spa so cannot comment. The rooms used by our party mainly overlooked the courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments after your recent stay at the Holiday property Bond at Barnham Broom. I am pleased to see that all your needs were met and you received exceptional level of service that we strive for.

Thank you again and we shall look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

733 - 739 of 905 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife & i stayed on 28th July to celebrate her birthday but we were very disappointed at several aspects of our stay. We checked in during the afternoon to find that every spa treatment was fully booked.Instead we decided to enjoy the sunny afternoon with a drink on the terrace overlooking the golf course which you can't see because of a very high hedge.All the tables despite being empty were strewn with empty glasses & plates. No table service was offered or provided so i went to The Sports Bar where there was one person serving whilst 4 of his colleagues were gathered around the coffee machine having a chat. We booked a table in The Brasserie for 1900 & went for a pre dinner drink at 1830 in The Cocktail Bar which was closed but full of golfers doing their prize giving. I had to go back to The Sports Bar for service. If a restaurant is opening at 1900 surely The Cocktail Bar should be open in advance for pre dinner drinks during which time you can peruse the menu & make your selections.

We wanted to play 9 holes of golf on the Monday morning only to be told that no 9 hole green fee rate was available so this would cost £20/each. As we only wanted to play 9 holes each i suggested we pay one green fee to cover 18 holes but we would play 9 each, sensible i thought especially as the course was virtually empty. The young chap thought this was a sensible compromise but said he would have to check with his boss. We gave our room number so that they could call but no call was ever received. Just not good enough.

On the bright side our Junior Suite was very comfortable. The Brasserie meal was very acceptable with reasonable service & breakfast was fine.

For what we spent on our stay coupled with the service we received i believe Barnham Broom does not offer it's guests value for money & i'm most unlikely to return or recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Have a junior suite as the standard rooms are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I was pleased to read that you found the Junior Suite very comfortable and your dinner in the Brasserie was very acceptable. I was however disappointed to read of your experience with all the points that you have raised and would like to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused.

You have my personal reassurance that your comments have been shared with the relevant departments. Making our guests feel welcome and well cared for is our highest priority and I’m sorry that you did not experience the level of service and attention that our guests have come to expect.

I would be most grateful if you could contact me personally to discuss the matter further by emailing sjones@barnham-broom.co.uk or telephoning 01603 759393.

Kind Regards

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My partner and I spent three nights here over the first may bank holiday and could not fault any aspect of our stay .

Our junior suite was beautiful along with Molton Brown toiletries and a good supply of tea and coffee making facilities.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful especially Lyndon who ran the restaurant superbly whilst retaining a great sense of humour the food and service were both fantastic and by far the best food I have eaten at what is primarily a golf resort .

There were several large groups which upset some of the more stuffy guests but these were moved to another area to keep everybody happy .

Georgie matt and James all served us well in the bar or restaurant and Georgie was a trainee who I hope will go far .

The golf was great and also ideally located close enough to visit Norwich ..we also used the pool and tennis court all round a great stay and we shall definitely return and have already recommended it to our friends ..

Thank you all for a great weekend ...

Room Tip: Main building junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemmah222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

It is lovely to read you had such a good experience at Barnham Broom as we strive to ensure all guests receive the highest level of comfort and hospitality while staying with us. We really appreciate all of our guest feedback and use this internally to ensure customer and hotel standards are being met.

Thank you for all your lovely comments and i will pass on your kind words to Linden, Georgie, Matt and James.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed two nights end July. Beds very comfortable and as it was so hot the air conditioning was a bonus. Nice setting. Staff very professional. The breakfast was a little disappointing for a 4 star hotel. They ran out of plain yoghurt by 8.30 am and my runny fried egg was hard and I had to send it back. They just need to concentrate on the breakfast quality otherwise a nice stay and I would return.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

It is lovely to read you had such a good experience at Barnham Broom as it is very important for us to ensure all guests receive the highest level of comfort and hospitality while staying with us. I am however disappointed to learn that at breakfast we had ran out of plain yogurt and that your egg was brought to you hard. Please be assured that I have brought your comments to our Executive chef attention and would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we will look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights for a wedding end July 2013. Lovely hotel. Rooms lovely but stuffy at night even with air con. Room looked over court yard which was main route for all guests, so not very private. Would choose a room overlooking tennis courts if stayed again. Food good drinks very expensive but slightly cheaper in the sports bar. Staff great very helpful and attentive. Watch service charges on your bill when checking out, we had two added to ours in error but were given full refund on them once pointed out to staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitbread61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

It is great to see our guests taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. Thank you for all your lovely comments following your recent stay with us. I am however sorry that you felt your room was not very private as this looks over the court yard. I will ensure your feedback regarding the service charge is passed onto our Brasserie Manager so this does not re-occur.

Thank you for you valuable feedback and we shall look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a lovely room, quiet spacious and clean. the hotel is conveniently located for Norwch if you don't want to stay in the centre. Alternative eats nearby are the excellent Kings Head in bawburgh and the Ugly Bug Inn Colton.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We have read your comments about Barnham Broom and we greatly appreciate that you took the time write them. It is great to read such positive reviews from our guests.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Top marks on all aspects: Rooms, staff, food, bar, golf courses. All excellent! From arrival to departure our stay was top notch. The staff were friendly and efficient, the hotel was clean and well laid out. the outside area was pleasant and had great views. The evening meals and breakfast were faultless, with good choices.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for choosing Barnham Broom for your recent stay. I have read your kind comments and we are so please to read that you had a fantastic stay and that the staff and facilities exceeded your expectations.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your lovely comments and we will look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnham Broom
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,166 reviews
9.5 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,729 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,199 reviews
22.0 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
759 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnham Broom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnham Broom

Address: Honingham Road, Barnham Broom, Norwich NR9 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Barnham Broom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Price Range: $124 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnham Broom 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnham Broom offers a warm and welcoming ambience to all guests with its exceptional 4-star experience and first class facilities and amenities. The hotel overlooks 300 acres of beautiful Norfolk countryside with 46 refurbished hotel rooms offering comfortable, stylish and luxurious accommodation. Barnham Broom is best known for its two championship golf courses surrounding the River Yare Valley. The Spa at Barnham Broom, is also a wonderful place to relax and unwind. And The Edge Health & Fitness Club, with its state-of-the-art gym equipment, sauna, steam room, squash courts, tennis courts, fitness classes and heated indoor swimming pool is the perfect place to improve your health & well-being. There is a choice to eat dinner and Sunday lunch in the stylish Brasserie; Valley Bar Lounge for Afternoon Teas and cocktails; or something more informal from the all-day Sports Bar and Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barnham Broom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf Hotel Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf And Spa
Classic Hotel Barnham Broom
Classic Hotel Norwich
Norwich Classic Hotel
Barnham Broom Norfolk, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing